6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 free feeding PMPS 283 +3 359

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 ??

Hi Julie

You are doing a GREAT job grabbing those spot checks. I also read PurrCee's profile and really enjoyed the info you put on there about him and his housemates. I'm sorry that he hasn't adapted to testing yet. Perhaps my post on Testing and Shooting Tips might help?

I think PurrCee is adjusting normally to the lantus. He pretty much looks like most cats when they start out. He is "bouncing". I'm not sure if it's been explained so please forgive me if this is redundant.

When PurrCee was dx with diabetes, his BG was probably up there for a bit before you noticed the symptoms. That is normal. The liver has then become accustomed to those higher numbers. When the insulin is started and numbers start to come down, any number lower than what the liver is used to....or any fast drop in numbers...causes the liver to release counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the BG back up to what it perceives is a "safe" number. Which is the high one. So it takes time for the liver to get used to normal numbers. We call this "liver training school" or LTS. Some cats bounce only a short time, some cats bounce for much longer. Basically, they bounce until they don't. Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear. PurrCee is likely bouncing from that 149 yesterday.

I do think you should increase the dose to 1.25u tonight as long as you can continue to test as you have been.

Also, any time you get a preshot number that is lower than you have shot before, please do not feed him but post and ask for help. We will help you learn to shoot lower and lower, safely and gradually. We "shoot low to stay low" here but you can't do it in one big step.

FD will teach you patience. It's a tough lesson especially for someone like me that just wanted Gracie better RIGHT NOW! Even though the numbers are still not where you like, I promise you he is better and healthier for getting the insulin and the care you are giving him. Hang in there...he will find his dose!

Good luck with the increase.
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 ??

Marje thanks so much for your reply.
Just a couple of questions.
Tomorrow I won't be available for mid cycle tests in the morning/afternoon, so should I still increase to 1.25??
I'm a little confused on this part:

Also, any time you get a preshot number that is lower than you have shot before, please do not feed him but post and ask for help.

Looking at Purrcee's SS the lowest preshot was 241 (once I started Lantus regularly). So are you saying if I get a AM or PM reading of lower than 241 I should still give him his insulin but don't feed him and then post? Or is there a certain value (like below 200) I should hit before I post?
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 ??

Julie

Very sorry....I forgot to add "at or below 150". Anything above 150, shoot. If you get 150 or below, don't feed, post and ask for help. My apologies.

It "normally" takes a cycle or two to see a response to a dose increase but since we don't have alot of data on PurrCee, it's hard to say. On what we do have, he hasn't responded really fast to an increase.

If you could get a +2 and an out the door test tomorrow, would that make you feel more comfortable? If it really worries you, you can increase tomorrow night instead.
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 ??

Question on shoot site...I shoot below the scruff. Is that a problem?

Thanks for the clarification. I copied and printed the first response and will add this response to it so it is one document. This is the statement I will add...I'm a little paranoid so is it correct:
Also, any time you get a preshot number that is at or below 150 don’t shoot and don't feed, post and ask for help. Anything above 150, feed and shoot.

I'm also reading your Testing and Shooting Tips and will copy and print that for easy reference.

Tomorrow I leave around 10 and will try to get at least a +2 which is an also out the door reading. My sister and I run a nonprofit for cats (Sisters Animal Sanctuary www.sistersanimalsanctuary.com) and we actually work on site all day on Sundays to give our caretaker a day off! Other days we are just constantly on the go taking care of our mini sanctuaries in our homes and doing business for Sisters.
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 ??

Julie

That is correct for the time being. As you learn to shoot lower, then there will come a time when you will know exactly what to do and you won't need to post for help. But for now, let that be your guide. The post on How to Deal with Low Preshots is also helpful. You could follow the same scenario for 150 or less if you were not able to post.

I'm not sure what you mean by "below the scruff"? As in behind the front paws or just lower on the back?

Typically, if you shoot more in the scruff or back area, you will get slower absorption. If you shoot more the chest, side of belly, flank, you'll get faster absorption. I keep track of where I shoot and haven't noticed a huge difference. You mainly want to be in that nice, loose skin area so you can get into the subq layer and not hit muscle. So if you are shooting lower on the back along the spine, you might not be getting as good absorption and I would be a little more concerned about shooting into muscle.

That's wonderful....your shelter. Bless you for what you and your sister do for these kitties.
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 ??

Yes I'm shooting lower on the spine/back area so I may need to change that. for some reason he has skin I can grab a little easier there.

Gracie is adorable and she is so lucky to have you and your husband as parents. All of her roomies are just adorable too!
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 ?? on free feeding

Since I free feed due to many cats in the household, when should I pull the food before testing? If I test around 6:30 when is the last time Purrcee can eat? I always feed after pretests as well. So i test, feed, shoot but I"m not clear on how long between meal and test? A lot of times he is hungry around 5:30 and I don't know how to handle that.

Thanks.
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 ?? on free feeding

Hi Julie and PurrCee,
I haven't visited your condo yet and wanted to welcome you to Lantus Land. I greatly admire what you and your sister are doing with your cat sanctuary.
Generally speaking you shouldn't allow any food 2 hours before AMPS or PMPS. This is so your PS number is not affected by food (if food is on board your number will be higher than it actually is, and once the food is out of the system, the blood glucose number might drop too steeply). Rusty free feeds and I am not particularly diligent at picking up any food that he hasn't finished (he is a grazer). But most of the beans here are scrupulous. As you get further along in the "sugar dance", you will see how PurrCee reacts to when and what he eats and hopefully will be able to interpret his numbers better and "bend" the "rules" if and when you must. For now, though, follow the 2-hour rule. PurrCee will adjust to being a little hungry at +11. A multiple cat household that free feeds could be a challenge. You may have to "deprive" all of the kitties for a while.

Best of luck. You are doing a fine job with PurrCee. And you will see that it will all get easier as you get established in your routine.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 ?? on free feeding

The general guideline is not to feed after +10. We give Zener some freeze dried chicken around then, which has zero carbs. We think it's better if he doesn't have a completely empty stomach when he gets his first dinner. Your sanctuary is wonderful. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 ?? on free feeding

Hi, Julie, I don't think I've visited you and PurrCee yet.
You are doing GREAT.
PurrCee and all of your other furkiddos are so lucky to have found you. :-D
I hope you guys have a great evening!

PS: I just noticed that we are practically neighbors! :-D
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 ?? on free feeding PMPS 2

A little nervous to increase to 1.25 so will wait until tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 free feeding PMPS 283 +3

Given the +3 test probably should have increased insulin.
I shot on the side but Purrcee felt it so maybe I hit muscle.
Very frustrating to see high number.
 
Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 +5.5 204 free feeding PMPS 283 +3

This is the hard part...the patience until you find his fitting dose. I I ow how hard it is to not let the numbers get you down. But he will get better and his numbers will, too.

Thanks...about Gracie. She has quite the personality and more expressions than you can imagine for a kitty.

Have a great night....take advantage of these numbers to sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top