6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarensPoe

Member Since 2013
Yellow....lets see how he works this extra juice

Yesterday

AMPS 265 +2 335 +5 329 +11 289
PMPS 284 +2 368 +5 293

Safe surfing to all Kittys and Happy Saturday to everyone :-D
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

We surfed a bit in the blues today, and now his PMPS is 139. I don't know if Poe's threshold is still 200 being fairly new.

This will start the 4th cycle of 1.25 dose. I am always leary of hypos, so am wondering if I should give him the full dose, skip, or do the chicken one. Waiting is sort of an option, but my Mon- Fri schedule won't allow me the opportunities to test like I have been if I delay too much.
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

I would give him his shot, if you are going to be home and have all the supplies you need.
Who knows, maybe he'll earn a dosecrease.. if not, at least you'll get some experience with shooting lower numbers to see how he does.
I was going to say (before I read your condo) that at least Poe stays fairly flat and doesn't go and and down as much as J.D. does.

How do you feel about shooting the full dose?
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

A bit concerned about the whole 1.25, he was flat alot during the 1.0, and I have the hypo supplies, but sure don't want to have to use them.
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

You hold the syringe, and it's up to you and your comfort level.
He is coming down nice and slowly, but he should come up some once he gets his dinner (you haven't fed yet, right?), and the dose of Lantus won't have it's onset for a couple of hours. To me, the weekends, are for checking out the current dose. During the week, when I am at work, I always wonder how the dose is doing, and on the weekends is my time to find out. I would go with it just for the data you can gather while you're at home, but again, it's up to you.
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

He's eaten, and I just gave him the dose. He ate really well, too. New food, got him the FF Chuncky Chicken and he loved it.

He will continue to graze also, so I'll test in an hour, see where he is, then my usual +2.

Will post numbers once I have them.

How forgiving is Lantus if your schedule extends by about 10-15 minutes? I was a bit later in giving this dose while checking the board and looking at his spread sheet, reading around, etc, deciding what to do.

Thanks
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

I shoot 10 to 15 minutes early or late all the time. It's fine.

J.D. loves the FF Chunky Turkey best. The FF Chunky flavors are a little higher in carbs, but I need J.D. to eat and an eating J.D. makes me happy. They are still considered LC, just closer to 5% to 7% if I remember right.

Good job shooting. :-D
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

Poe is supposedly at around his "ideal" weight, but he seems to skinny to me compared to how he was even before the diabetic weight gain.

I'm just very grateful that he eats without issue. I did pick up the FF Chunky Turkey, along with the FF kitten food for extra protein. I found an asian grocer and got bonita flakes too...even though I have no feeding issues, if he can have it, and he likes it, he's gonna get it :-D

So, like this evening it was about 5:45 pm when I dosed him, and if I got back to closer to 5:30 am in the morning, it will be ok, right?
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

Yeah, no problem. If you need to change your shot schedule, they say moving in 15 minute increments per shot (or 30 minutes per day) has the least affect on their depot or BGs. I get home from work late a lot, and just shoot as soon as I can, and often then shoot a little earlier in the mornings. If you shoot at 5:35am tomorrow morning, I figure that's only 10 minutes early, and it's basically the same thing as 5:30am. That's how I usually do it, and my way of thinking.
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

That makes sense...and I wonder too, about testing...if you do the pre-shot at say 5:30 and then the +2 at 7:20...is there as much forgiveness in the testing too?
 
Re: 6/22 Poe AMPS 290 +2 265 +6 171 + 8.5 169 +11 142 PMPS 1

That's fine. I try to round to the nearest quarter hour when posting to my SS, but sometimes, especially in the middle of the night, I just do the best I can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top