6-22 Pepper, AMPS/290, +4/145, +10/202, PMPS/288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb and Pepper

Member Since 2011
Morning all.

I sure liked all that green last night but not the yellow this morning. :-D :sad:

Pepper was so playful last night. I got a TON of love bites (my hand looks like a road map), he was talking to me constantly (not meowing for food), and he reached through the banister and tapped me on the head as I went down the stairs to get his shot. All things he hasn't done in probably 6 months. :-D :-D :-D I am ashamed of myself for not noticing that all this had stopped and he was getting sick. :oops:

He has now added something to our testing procedure. He refuses to leave the bathroom until I brush him with his de-shedding brush. :lol: I started using it last week, thinking "while I'm down here on the floor"...and now he refuses to leave until I do it! He actually growls at me if I try to get him out without a brushing. ohmygod_smile

It's wonderful getting my old kitty back!
 
Re: 6-22 Pepper +3/42, +4/61, +5/82, +6/105, +8/207, AMPS/29

It's always wonderful to hear about how behaviors that you thought were gone have returned (and some new ones are added).

Given that Pepper is a newly diagnosed diabetic and numbers dropped below 50, he has earned a dose reduction. According to the dosing protocol, you would reduce his dose by 0.25u to 0.75u. Please monitor carefully this cycle since Pepper's shed is a little too full given that you didn't reduce his dose this morning.
 
Re: 6-22 Pepper +3/42, +4/61, +5/82, +6/105, +8/207, AMPS/29

I think I am mostly to blame for his wonky numbers the last few days. I added some notes to his SS about it.
 
Re: 6-22 Pepper +4/61, +5/82, +6/105, +8/207, AMPS/290, +4/1

Not sure I should reduce yet. Since I messed him up I want to wait till PMPS to determine if it was just me and the puke that made his numbers wonky or if it is truly time to reduce.
 
Re: 6-22 Pepper +4/61, +5/82, +6/105, +8/207, AMPS/290, +4/1

Generally, if you don't take the reduction when it's earned (or within one cycle), you will need to wait until the next earned reduction. You can't "save" the dose reduction. It's your call.
 
Re: 6-22 Pepper +4/61, +5/82, +6/105, +8/207, AMPS/290, +4/1

Not going against what your saying. I hope his numbers are low (at least in the blue) at PMPS. It's just I don't want to reduce it today and then increase it again in 2 days since he's been doing so good at this dose. He's been coming down nicely since I got the food scale and I don't want to set him back if this was my screw up and not an earned reduction. I just think the PMPS will tell better if he did earn one. If it's blue I'll reduce.
 
Re: 6-22 Pepper +5/82, +6/105, +8/207, AMPS/290, +4/145, +10

Looks like Pepper's BG is going to be in the yellow again for PMPS. If he keeps true to his recent pattern he should be around 245 by then and need the extra .25 to keep on track. Not looking too good for the reduction at this point...maybe in a week or so. :YMSIGH:

Good news, I just bought 2 more duel alarm clocks. Now I can set them (all 6 alarms) and not miss any of his shots or feedings... :lol: :lol: :lol: Dang...should have bought another for me. :roll:
 
Wow! He went up a lot more than I thought he would. So much for a reduction today. I think this Sophisticat Gourmet Chicken Dinner isn't agreeing with Pepper. I just found another puke spot. Did anyone else have problems with it?
 
actually this is just the bounce off of the low numbers last night. It is normal for numbers to go high for a few cycles (up to 72 hours) in response to a low. The body dumps extra glucose into the system to try to protect him from dropping too low. I encourage you to take dose reductions when they are earned. To not do so can put Pepper into a dangerous situation and can even result in the numbers going higher. Then you can end up needing more and more insulin to get back to a breakthrough.

For a new diabetic, hitting low 40s is a very clear signal that he needs a reduction. Some cats do have trouble holding onto dose reductions, but you have no history to show that is the case with Pepper.

It looks like you have already shot tonight, but I strongly encourage you to reduce his dose to 0.75 in the morning. You really need to be on the lower dose before the bounce clears.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top