6/22 Max AMPS 389 +2 ~358 PMPS 382 +2 ~398 +3.5 ~382

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
Moved Max up to 1.5 this morning, as it was suggested since he's had a high flat curve, the protocol allows for an increase after 48 hrs. Is this OK?

I'll be getting some keto strips tonight. Also, he's still on the dry food until at least this weekend, as I don't want to switch him over on a day I'm not around to monitor, especially since I have NO idea how much food they'll need. Every source says something different. How much to you guys feed your cats?

I'll be able to get in a +2 this morning before I go to work; it's my late day.

Thanks!
Holly & Sean
 
Re: 6/22 Max AMPS 389

Hi Holly

welcome to LL! I see you got the go-ahead from Jill last nite.

Jill last nite:

hi holly. glad you'll be picking up some new ketostix. i'm not sure you can rely on expired strips.
when you're seeing high flat numbers, the tight regulation protocol does allow increases after 24-48 hours. personally, i would go ahead and take the dose up to 1.5u bid tomorrow... unless you see a lot of movement tonight.

Just adding your link for yesterday so its easy to backtrack to see what happened previously, you'll want to get into the habit of doing this daily, if u forget someone will do it for you, ok?

Max yesterday
just copy and paste the url from the previous day and add it to your first post of the new day.

We recommend main meals, breakfast and dinner at shot times, of course, and a few small snacks thru the day - feeding/having food available around +9 hour in both cycles helps the preshot number, but dont give food in the two hour time frame before shots or you may get a higher than usual preshot test....

when you're home to monitor and you get lower numbers, you'll want to post to get feedback, food helps keep numbers steady - I agree switch over when you're around, you dont want to do it cold turkey, as his numbers may drop.

Someone mentioned yesterday that we've had several Max kitties here, and funny enough they've gone OTJ - Max must be a lucky name! Glad you're here!


Have a good day!
 
Re: 6/22 Max AMPS 389

Hi Holly!

I have two kitties, Max is around 12lbs and Truman is around 10/11lbs. I only feed two meals a day (Max sent OTJ before I got around to looking into timed feeders), and they get 1 plus 1/3 of a 5.5oz can (total between the two cats) of Friskies at each meal. Both boys are of healthy weight--not too heavy (which Max is prone to) or too thin (which is important because usually Max noses Truman out of the bowl until he's had his fill). While Max was on insulin I was feeding 1.5 cans at each meal--one of the calculators I used was too high, but he also had some weight to gain back. I started cutting back as the insulin dose got lower and as I could tell he was gaining.

Good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 6/22 Max AMPS 389

Thanks for the tips Ronnie! Everyone has been so helpful getting us used to the boards & how it all works.-

Mindy- thanks for the food info- that's less than I imagined! Do you also freeze some for grazing during the day?

We're going to have to keep the boys on the feeder until Friday too, when we can monitor Max's eating, but it's good to know his scarfing might be elevating his pre-shot.

BTW, has anyone ever used/heard of 'by nature' canned food? Picked some up, and it looks good, plus it comes in a big 6.5 oz can.

Ingredients: Chicken, Chicken Broth, Chicken Liver, Guar Gum, Cassia Gum, Carrageenan, Minerals (Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Cobalt Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Potassium Iodide), Inulin, Vitamins (Vitamin E, A, D3, B12 Supplements, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin Supplement, Folic Acid, Biotin), Choline Chloride, Flaxseed Oil, Salt, Taurine.

Crude Fiber (max)1.50%
Ash (max)3.00%
Crude Fat (min)6.00%
Moisture (max)78.00%

Max will only eat pate- chunks just get licked clean & scooped out of the bowl on to the floor.

See ya in an hour!

Holly
 
Re: 6/22 Max AMPS 389 +2 ~358

Nice to see him out of the red so far today. Gotta run, but Sean should be by with Max's PMPS tonight @ 8pm pacific. (I start late on Tuesdays, so he comes home early)

Holly
 
Re: 6/22 Max AMPS 389 +2 ~358

No Holly, I don't freeze for snacking. Probably should, but haven't gotten that worked into the "routine." :? I know I'm the oddball around here that only feeds twice a day. My Max is a scarfer and an overeater, and I don't know that the food being frozen would stop him. Really tho, when Max was diagnosed I was pretty much at my wits end already with my kids (my son is still not sleeping through the night, and now my daughter is going through a problematic sleeping phase, so I'm kind of a zombie most of the time!), and I honestly thought I'd have to give Max up so he could get better. My children have killed more of my brain cells than I'd like to admit and I just didn't think I could handle watching his treatment and shot schedule, let alone adding in multiple feedings during the day and all that. I just didn't get around to figuring out how to handle feeding more than twice a day, and by the time I starting considering it, he was doing fine flatening out his curves by himself without me needing to change up the food schedule. And then when he went OTJ without changing the food schedule I kinda figured it didn't need to be monkeyed with. My Max was also a steroid-induced diabetic, so that may have helped in not needing to change the feeding schedule--I really don't know.

And LOL about "that's less food than I imagined". :lol: I figured out that I go through 80 cans of cat food a month between both boys, which seems like an awful lot to me, but then again, we never fed canned before the diagnosis. My boys only got dry because I'd always been told the canned was just to "spoil them." ohmygod_smile

The ingredients on the By Nature food sound fine to me, but I know there are plenty around here that are more food-expert than I am--post that question on the main health board for sure. I'm sure I make lots of people cringe because I only feed Friskies, but at the moment it's the best we can afford. I'd like to feed raw, but I've finally gotten honest with myself that I just don't have the time and don't want to bother right now with making it. My kids don't even get to eat that well half the time (my daughter has eaten more hot dogs than I think most 2 year olds should), so at this point in time I'm just not going to get around to the raw for the cats. Oh, and the "easy" way to do raw with a premix and commercially ground meat will cost me 3 times more a month than the 80 cans of Friskies...so I just can't do it.
 
Re: 6/22 Max AMPS 389 +2 ~358 PMPS 382 +2 ~398

Here are the evening updates- see subject line. He's still scarfing quite a bit, but he's in a good mood.

Mindy thanks for your tips & your honesty. I'm finding its really easy to make myself feel guilty, but it really does boil down to doing the best you can with what you've got. I can't imagine doing all this, and work & kids too! You must be a wonder-woman, but I think most Moms are, and have to be.

I'll try to get in a +4 reading tonight.

Holly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top