I'm a bit confused. You noted that you're following TR. That being the case, you need to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. If there is one blue number within that time, it doesn't mean to hold the dose longer. With the current dose, you should have increased on 6/19. That being the case, you can increase unless you want to see if the bounce is going to clear.
I'd encourage you to review the guidelines on the TR stickey.
3.0 units is not a "lot" of insulin. My Neko got to 8.75 units and we have cats here with more. He needs however much insulin he needs. And you've held this dose for 15 cycles. Per TR, we hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles, he needs an increase.
Sorry you've been getting conflicting suggestions to hold the dose. It's not too late, you can increase next cycle.
For your question on resetting back down to 0.25u, I will say I'm very passionate about this topic, as it comes up now and again, since there are some Facebook pages that push this idea, wrong as it may be. My answer, absolutely not, it is very bad advice, and could end up resulting in glucose toxicity to where you need to continue to increase, often beyond your current dose before you did the reset. You are seeing good results on the current dose, and going back down to 0.25u would be unwise, to put it mildly. Just my 2 cents for what they are worth.
Yes. Feel free to ask questions.do you know how to work with tr protocol?
Yes. Feel free to ask questions.
great. ill do it tomorrow.Since you are following TR and seeing some numbers under 100, you increase by 0.25 units, at this point in time.
I'm thinking to increase the dose tomorrow morning to 3.50 since he got over nadir was 300 today or should i give him 3.25?
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
- Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
When deciding about increases, you look at the last 6 cycles (at least). Just because he had a nadir over 300 today doesn't count. He's had nadir's in the 200's over the last 6 cycles (and the 2 cycles immediately before that, he got into green and blue.)
Learning to read spreadsheets and understand what they're telling you takes time and usually a lot of explanations. I posted daily when I was new, drove these poor people crazy with questions, but every time somebody explained something to me, a little more would sink in, or somebody would explain it in a different way that I all the sudden understood. It was still a good 5-6 months before I started to understand my own cat and start to make my own dosing decisions (but I'd still double check with people here!) and it was a LOT longer before I felt like I understood spreadsheets enough to help others.
I know trying to read and understand the TR protocol can be overwhelming, so for now, think about this part:
If at any time, he drops below 50 (on a human meter), that's when you'd reduce by .25 but we'll go over that when you get there.
Hang in there. Nothing about this is easy and we understand that. The one thing this disease will teach you is patience...whether you like it or not.