6/22 Loudogg AMPS 422 PMPS 59 (Up to 90 after 45m) +1 75 +2 120 +3 129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
June 21, 2018 Condo

Good morning all!
Talk about excitement short-lived. Lou's PMPS last night was 135! Very exciting that he broke that bounce so quickly, but it was definitely short-lived as he went right into another bounce. Obviously I have no idea how low he actually went, but considering he didn't reach the 400s after going down to 52, the red preshot really surprises the heck out of me. I hope he can break this one quickly as well because it makes me cringe seeing those reds (I've gotten used to the pinks enough that they only cause me to twitch, haha).

Things have been going well enough that I could at least start figuring out how he is responding to glargine, but obviously he's thrown that all out the window. *Sigh* Oh buddy Lou, I wish you'd just even out. The name of the game is regulation you rascally rascal. :facepalm::p:rolleyes:

I hope you all have a wonderful Friday (Tuesday for me, haha)!
 
Hey all! I'm at work currently and my husband just tested Lou for his preshot, and he's at 59!! That explains the red preshot this morning I guess! He already gave Lou some food so he couldn't stall (this is his first time going solo). I told him to just not give insulin, but should we actually give him something?? A token dose?
 
Hey all! I'm at work currently and my husband just tested Lou for his preshot, and he's at 59!! That explains the red preshot this morning I guess! He already gave Lou some food so he couldn't stall (this is his first time going solo). I told him to just not give insulin, but should we actually give him something?? A token dose?
Luci has been in the lagoon all day - her PMPS tonight was 80 - I'm a nervous wreck - but I went ahead and shot tonight - the saying someone told me once was 'shoot low to stay low' - Luci has been so reluctant to go to the lagoon for so long - maybe this is her time? Her dose? DH will be helping me watch her tonight as I'm having a bad reaction to a Pneumonia vaccine I took yesterday :( - feeling awful myself and now Luci is where she needs to be watched! Oh boy...no convenient time to do this is there?

I hope you'll get some good advice soon - did you tag any of the experts? @Mandy & Rex or @Jill & Alex (GA) - several others who are much more experienced than I at giving dose suggestions/advice. Watch closely - feed appropriate HC as needed; get your karo syrup ready just in case...ride it out...that's what we're preparing for tonight...best to you and Loudogg tonight!
 
Eeep!! Caleb just emailed and said he's up to 90 now, but that is with food. I'm really tempted to give him 3u. My only hesitation is I work this weekend, so I can't call in tomorrow after staying up all night. Hmmm. ..
 
Eeep!! Caleb just emailed and said he's up to 90 now, but that is with food. I'm really tempted to give him 3u. My only hesitation is I work this weekend, so I can't call in tomorrow after staying up all night. Hmmm. ..
Maybe he's headed back up now - do you know what the rest of his numbers were today? I didn't see any on the SS.. If he's turned the corner he'll need his insulin...Luci often bounces after a day like today -- tonight she could start climbing and end up way up in a tree (400)...or she could bobble around in the lagoon for another few hours...but she's never gone all night in the lagoon...I suppose you have to go with your gut on this one...

For me, I'm trying to get her 'there' ... and keep hoping that the more time she spends under 100, the better...as long as I can keep her away from the sharks (under 40 for this girl)...she's a tricky one and likes to go too deep, too fast. What's his track record like as far as Loudogg speeding once he gets his insulin?
 
Maybe he's headed back up now - do you know what the rest of his numbers were today? I didn't see any on the SS.. If he's turned the corner he'll need his insulin...Luci often bounces after a day like today -- tonight she could start climbing and end up way up in a tree (400)...or she could bobble around in the lagoon for another few hours...but she's never gone all night in the lagoon...I suppose you have to go with your gut on this one...

For me, I'm trying to get her 'there' ... and keep hoping that the more time she spends under 100, the better...as long as I can keep her away from the sharks (under 40 for this girl)...she's a tricky one and likes to go too deep, too fast. What's his track record like as far as Loudogg speeding once he gets his insulin?
He generally increases until +3 (maybe starts dropping around +2.5 or so). So I know he'll be higher before the insulin kicks in. I am positive he'll need something, but I just keep struggling as to what. We're now 45 minutes post shot time.... I imagine he'll probably shoot up, but he's been surprising me with surfing a while lately before the bounce hits. I think I'm going to have Caleb give insulin. I'm just not sure if I should adjust the amount since it's past his shot time?
 
Maybe he's headed back up now - do you know what the rest of his numbers were today? I didn't see any on the SS.. If he's turned the corner he'll need his insulin...Luci often bounces after a day like today -- tonight she could start climbing and end up way up in a tree (400)...or she could bobble around in the lagoon for another few hours...but she's never gone all night in the lagoon...I suppose you have to go with your gut on this one...

For me, I'm trying to get her 'there' ... and keep hoping that the more time she spends under 100, the better...as long as I can keep her away from the sharks (under 40 for this girl)...she's a tricky one and likes to go too deep, too fast. What's his track record like as far as Loudogg speeding once he gets his insulin?
Well we're going to be right there with you Sue! :nailbiting::nailbiting: I told Caleb to give Lou 3u and we'll see how it goes. I didn't realize originally that Caleb had given him 1/4 can of HC FF (15%) after the 59 test, so that helped the jump. He's going to give him the rest of his dinner (another 1/4 can), but I told him to give regular LC (I think - I'm getting muddled since I'm not there on the scene as it were). Here's hoping we all have a good and safe night!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
HC FF (15%)
Amanda, you may want to look for some FF with gravy and Cheddar Cheese - it's 21%. That's my go-to when Luci starts down to the deep end of the lagoon - the high carbs are usually 17-21% - MC are in the 12-16% range - at least that's what I was told. LC are usually single digits...:D

Luci surprised me just now - at .5+ she's up to 101 - most likely from the HC (21% I fed her at PMPS)...I was so nervous shooting 2 u at 80...I'll be checking her again at 1+ and then going back to bed to warm up - I sure hope this reaction (to the Pneumonia vaccine) is short lived! I've got a diabetic kitty to take care of! No time for being sick!!:mad:

See if you can get Caleb to test as often as he will until you get home - hope that Loudogg's numbers will improve with food - and like I said - get that honey or karo ready - just in case things get dicey and DH just can't handle it any longer.:arghh: A dab of Karo on the paw will get Loudogg licking and BG will soar...then maybe you can talk him down when you're not working...takes time, but better than having to go to the animal ER with a hypo cat - you would be tired tomorrow then!:bighug::bighug: Take care this evening... :) We'll be watching :)
 
Amanda, you may want to look for some FF with gravy and Cheddar Cheese - it's 21%. That's my go-to when Luci starts down to the deep end of the lagoon - the high carbs are usually 17-21% - MC are in the 12-16% range - at least that's what I was told. LC are usually single digits...:D

Luci surprised me just now - at .5+ she's up to 101 - most likely from the HC (21% I fed her at PMPS)...I was so nervous shooting 2 u at 80...I'll be checking her again at 1+ and then going back to bed to warm up - I sure hope this reaction (to the Pneumonia vaccine) is short lived! I've got a diabetic kitty to take care of! No time for being sick!!:mad:

See if you can get Caleb to test as often as he will until you get home - hope that Loudogg's numbers will improve with food - and like I said - get that honey or karo ready - just in case things get dicey and DH just can't handle it any longer.:arghh: A dab of Karo on the paw will get Loudogg licking and BG will soar...then maybe you can talk him down when you're not working...takes time, but better than having to go to the animal ER with a hypo cat - you would be tired tomorrow then!:bighug::bighug: Take care this evening... :) We'll be watching :)
Oh that's not a bad idea. I had the thought of MC (around 15%) to use to steer and a higher carb (I also have one that's 20%) in cases where I really need to move. I naively thought I wouldn't really need them (I never had them when he was on Vetsulin). So I'm still learning how to use them effectively. I'm glad to know there's some higher carb yet. That would definitely be great to have in my arsenal. Thankfully we are ready to rumble tonight if we have to: Karo and maple syrup and high carb food at the ready. The walk-in closes at 8 tonight (in 10 minutes), and I'm hopeful I'll be out of here by 8:30. Thankful again that Caleb doesn't have to go it alone for long!

I hear you! They always do things at the most inopportune times, haha. I hope Luci surfs safely for you and maybe lets you get a bit of sleep in tonight! :bighug:
 
They always do things at the most inopportune times, haha. I hope Luci surfs safely for you and maybe lets you get a bit of sleep in tonight! :bighug:
I swear they have a sense of us being distressed (I was stressed out before our drive back from Florida in May - and sure enough she dives! The very day or two before we were leaving - and I was being encouraged to increase her dosage - oh no...not a good time for an increase!)...she did okay for the trip home - thankfully! Testing in the car just wasn't a good option - I was too freaked out! And it seems every time I'm sick or in pain - well there she goes - into the green lagoon! And today - how does she know I'm not feeling well? I don't say anything out loud...but she knows!

I hope you get some sleep tonight too! I'm forever searching for different kinds of FF wet foods - Luci gets bored quickly with the same foods and when she goes into the lagoon, she thinks it's a regular buffet!:cat::D:cat: Because I start out with MC and then she gets HC - which is never on the regular menu! She's loving it:cat::cat::cat: - and I'm wringing my hands! :nailbiting:

She's wobbling now - a quick step on the beach at 101...and now back in the lagoon...most likely food influenced..at 101...and now the insulin is starting to take hold...and she'll go down to the lagoon again...and will need steering to keep her up on her surfboard...I still think she's a beginner at surfing and for whatever reason just can't seem to get her balance...needs her water wings and her safety net (MC and HC foods)...and mamma bean hovering on the beach pulling out her blue hair!!:bighug::bighug:
 
I swear they have a sense of us being distressed (I was stressed out before our drive back from Florida in May - and sure enough she dives! The very day or two before we were leaving - and I was being encouraged to increase her dosage - oh no...not a good time for an increase!)...she did okay for the trip home - thankfully! Testing in the car just wasn't a good option - I was too freaked out! And it seems every time I'm sick or in pain - well there she goes - into the green lagoon! And today - how does she know I'm not feeling well? I don't say anything out loud...but she knows!

I hope you get some sleep tonight too! I'm forever searching for different kinds of FF wet foods - Luci gets bored quickly with the same foods and when she goes into the lagoon, she thinks it's a regular buffet!:cat::D:cat: Because I start out with MC and then she gets HC - which is never on the regular menu! She's loving it:cat::cat::cat: - and I'm wringing my hands! :nailbiting:

She's wobbling now - a quick step on the beach at 101...and now back in the lagoon...most likely food influenced..at 101...and now the insulin is starting to take hold...and she'll go down to the lagoon again...and will need steering to keep her up on her surfboard...I still think she's a beginner at surfing and for whatever reason just can't seem to get her balance...needs her water wings and her safety net (MC and HC foods)...and mamma bean hovering on the beach pulling out her blue hair!!:bighug::bighug:
Yes!! I was just talking with Caleb about how there's guidelines, and we have to use those to make our own Loudogg manual... Unfortunately, he keeps ripping up pages and making us rewrite passages.

Tested at +1 and he's back down to 75. This will definitely be interesting!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top