6/22 Kuro AMPS 267 +5 106 +7 132 PMPS1 176 PMPS2 150 (AT3) +2 172

Kuro

Member
6/21

Woke up to find another soft stool and some vomit from overnight, continuing the indigestion trend from yesterday. Appetite still fine and her most recent BM was firming back up so I think we're on the tail end of this upset tummy situation.

The question though: I measured a PMPS of 176 which is a touch lower than I'm comfortable dosing right now, so we did the 30m stall game. After that stall she'd fallen to 150 which is (1) much lower than I'm okay dosing and (2) not the direction I expect her to be heading at this hour! We have to skip this dose, right? Even a token 0.1U (her standard dose right now is 0.25U) feels unwise if she's on her way down. It's been 6 days since our last skip and I was hoping to continue the streak, but...

Just gave her her dinner. She usually gets another snack or two in the evenings so there's certainly food I could give with a later dose if that's the thing to do. But I don't want to throw the schedule off... we'll be in single working parent territory next week with Nia traveling and I won't have the flexibility to give her AM doses much later than normal.
 
The problem with stalling is that sometimes kitty's numbers will come down without food. The other thing that could have been happening is what we call a Lantus double dip. That is where the numbers come down a bit at the end of the cycle, but not as low as that 105 she saw earlier today. A Lantus double dip is fine to shoot.

I'd get a test at +1 to gather data to see what her numbers have done after food. Remember, you are really shooting the number she is at onset, which is typically a couple hours after the shot. The +1 would be the same regardless of whether or not you had shot - so is a good data point.
 
Thanks. +2ish (~80m after the second PMPS, about 2h after planned PM shot) 172. I guess she's hit the nadir of that second dip, but 172 is still lower than I'd want to full-dose for.
 
But maybe the 0.1 unit dose? Over time, and with more data, you can lower the "no shoot" dose. Lantus works great at keeping lower preshots low and flat. They don't dive down like they do from higher preshots.
 
yes fair. Okay! If this is what I see again I'll think more seriously about the token dose option. I think it's late in the game to dose tonight, but this is good insight for the future.
 
Back
Top