6/22. kit relion. +10 212, PMPS 169, 178, +1 207, +2 205,+3 182, +5 238

JOJI and Kit

Member Since 2019
yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-272-6-240-9-219-pmps-210-2-239-4-249.231275/

day 16 in kit's switch to lantus/relion from prozinc/alphatrak2

it's curve day and the final cycle to filling the depot.
according to the protocol we follow (SLGS) it looks like kit is heading for an increase of 0.25U to 4.5U
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
we plan to increase in the next AM cycle when we are better able to monitor.

the question:
our vet expressed concerns about the size of the dose wrt kit's weight saying that we shouldn't really go above 4U. here, we read that weight can be a factor when starting insulin as it's used to come up with a first dose (TR method). but we haven't (yet) found other guidance that speaks to dose and weight.

should we be concerned about 4.5U or other potential future increases wrt kit's weight?
she is currently 10.2lbs

your inputs appreciated.​

have a great day everybody,
^jw
 
We have had small cats on large doses, and large cats on small doses. And dose needs can change over time. My girl’s “good dose” ranged from 8.75 units, down to 0.75 units, back up to 7 units after a few years, then finally down to 0.25 units. Her weight did not change correspondingly. :p There were other factors at play.

Kit still needs that increase.
 
PMPS 169
since this will be our lowest shoot so far
and she was 212 @10
we are stalling to make sure she’s heading up

feel free to chime in

thx ^jw
 
thought questions:

based on the previous 6 cycles, kit is due for an increase of 0.25U to 4.5U which we had planned for tomorrow AM cycle.

if she happens to go <90 this PM cycle,
then
does the reduction cancel out the intended increase i.e. AM shot would be 4.25U ?​
or
does the reduction trump an intended increase, i.e. AM shot would be 4.0U ?
thanks for your thoughts, ^jw
 
Trumps the increase.

Great job shooting blue! It was scary for me too, and I about had a heart attack when I first shot green. Once you get used to it....you understand why the saying is "shoot low to stay low" I hope Kit's numbers improve for you! :cool:
 
If she goes below 90, that's a reduction. If she goes below 150, you hold the dose. If she stays above 150, you increase.

ok, so i'm over thinking. (surprise, not)
just read the protocol and do that.

although, i remember you saying to us at one point that it's (better?) to see more than one time
below 150,
to make sure it's real?
or maybe i'm mis-remembering ...

thanks
 
So far she's only gone under 150 once, and that was barely. The ideal numbers to hold the dose are nadirs (plural) between 90 and 149. Kit is barely showing blues on this dose, so needs an increase. Unless of course the dose increase threat causes her to prove otherwise tonight.
 
So far she's only gone under 150 once, and that was barely. The ideal numbers to hold the dose are nadirs (plural) between 90 and 149. Kit is barely showing blues on this dose, so needs an increase. Unless of course the dose increase threat causes her to prove otherwise tonight.

got it. thanks for your patience. ^jw
 
Back
Top