6/22 Khloe AMPS 465, +6 264, PMPS 421, +2 445, +4 380

Sara & Khloe

Member Since 2026
Previous Post

Well as I expected, she bounced this morning. I knew I couldn’t trust that yellow PS last night 🙄
Oh well.. looks like a relaxing slow day is today’s plan.

May all the kitties who are bouncing return to earth and safe surfing! 💜

(Also, Christie if you see this, thank you for last night and everything you’ve done for us! You’re so easy to trust and I wish there was more I could do to thank you for your kindness!)
 
That’s a very thoughtful thing to say, thank you, Sara 🥰. Like I mentioned, it always makes me feel good to help, like my way of giving back here. More explanation of my thinking last night, since I only dropped a few one liners 😁. The +2 last night was just a little lower than preshot, less than 20% variance, so the +4 or even a +3 can give you an idea you whether she is going down faster, slower, or maybe flatten out into nadir. Or if she wants to be a cheeky kitty, she may turn around and go back up after +4 lol. My bet is that she probably came down a little more after the +4 into nadir, since the +4 was a bit more than 20% variance from the +2.
 
That’s a very thoughtful thing to say, thank you, Sara 🥰. Like I mentioned, it always makes me feel good to help, like my way of giving back here. More explanation of my thinking last night, since I only dropped a few one liners 😁. The +2 last night was just a little lower than preshot, less than 20% variance, so the +4 or even a +3 can give you an idea you whether she is going down faster, slower, or maybe flatten out into nadir. Or if she wants to be a cheeky kitty, she may turn around and go back up after +4 lol. My bet is that she probably came down a little more after the +4 into nadir, since the +4 was a bit more than 20% variance from the +2.
So for the future, I should stay up and get a few more test for nights like last night? I still have trouble figuring out onsets & nadir times. I'm pretty sure her onset is +2 and her nadirs are anywhere between +4 and +8, is that right?
I also saw Marje mention something about using food to slow the drops so they don't bounce as hard (She was talking about Mister when she said this). Would Khloe benefit from different snacks times at all? Right now she gets food at PS & +3s but I've been doing that since Vetsulin because the drops were so fast and scary.
 
So for the future, I should stay up and get a few more test for nights like last night? I still have trouble figuring out onsets & nadir times. I'm pretty sure her onset is +2 and her nadirs are anywhere between +4 and +8, is that right?
I also saw Marje mention something about using food to slow the drops so they don't bounce as hard (She was talking about Mister when she said this). Would Khloe benefit from different snacks times at all? Right now she gets food at PS & +3s but I've been doing that since Vetsulin because the drops were so fast and scary.
Great questions! I meant to get back to you yesterday evening. You are probably currently seeing nadirs between +4 and +6 although not all cycles will have a discernible nadir when they are in the midst of a bounce. I might have been inclined on pm cycle June 20th to catch a +6 and see how that was, i.e. flat or rising, vs. continuing to drop, since that cycle she really showed some downward movement from +3 to +5. Maybe too pm cycle of June 21st a +5 again, just to gauge if she still had some movement down and how much duration she is getting.

Possibly taking a little out of, or splitting the +3 snack and feeding it at +2 when the insulin onsets might be something to think about. Usually cats who have steep drops into onset then bounce can benefit from experimenting with breaking up snacks earlier in the cycle. Right now though, I don’t see her doing major dives into +2 since she is mostly giving you just around or a bit more than 20% variance.

Let’s see if last night she was going high before a break. Come on down today, Khloe!
 
Great questions! I meant to get back to you yesterday evening. You are probably currently seeing nadirs between +4 and +6 although not all cycles will have a discernible nadir when they are in the midst of a bounce. I might have been inclined on pm cycle June 20th to catch a +6 and see how that was, i.e. flat or rising, vs. continuing to drop, since that cycle she really showed some downward movement from +3 to +5. Maybe too pm cycle of June 21st a +5 again, just to gauge if she still had some movement down and how much duration she is getting.

Possibly taking a little out of, or splitting the +3 snack and feeding it at +2 when the insulin onsets might be something to think about. Usually cats who have steep drops into onset then bounce can benefit from experimenting with breaking up snacks earlier in the cycle. Right now though, I don’t see her doing major dives into +2 since she is mostly giving you just around or a bit more than 20% variance.

Let’s see if last night she was going high before a break. Come on down today, Khloe!
Sorry to bump this condo again!

This was super helpful!! I think I’m starting to see what you see. That +8 nadir on 6/17 was throwing me off but now it makes sense because it was a bounce. I’m going to make alittle formula somewhere on my SS that tells me the variance between the most recent numbers to try to help me know when to test more (because I definitely can’t do the math in my head lol) it’s exciting to know that she may be going lower and I just haven’t caught it at the right time tho!

Since you don’t see any major dives, I think I’ll leave the meal times alone for now. At least until another increase so I don’t change a variable and we can see how 2.25 does with no other changes. I assume she is getting another increase on 6/25 anyways.

These high numbers have unfortunately brought back large, frequent urine puddles so hopefully she can come back soon!!

Thanks again Christie!! You’re the best!
 
Sorry to bump this condo again!
That’s okay, I started it :p

Since you don’t see any major dives, I think I’ll leave the meal times alone for now. At least until another increase so I don’t change a variable and we can see how 2.25 does with no other changes. I assume she is getting another increase on 6/25 anyways.

These high numbers have unfortunately brought back large, frequent urine puddles so hopefully she can come back soon!!

Thanks again Christie!! You’re the best!
Good plan, I think that’s a good way to approach it. I’m sorry about the extra pees, I assume that’s outside the litter box again? :facepalm:

Nice AMPS by the way, it looks like she came down all night into it, so if she is inclined to bring some shenanigans, she could be angling for some today. Let’s see how the next few cycles play out.
 
Back
Top