6/22 Jessi PMPS 216 +2 172 +4 88

Stefania S

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-201-2-176-4-5-101-8-137.278773/#post-3082449

Hi all, I overslept today and was late by about a half hour with the shot. How much if any impact can this have on the levels today and afterwards? It happened to me a couple of days ago too.

Also, can I get some opinions on how important it is to include quarter hour differences in BG times? If the BG is 174 at +1.75 should I round up to the next hour? same goes with 1.25, should I round down to the previous hour?

I have gotten different opinions on this from senior members so I thought I would check again. I have been including these every time, but maybe it only makes it harder to read the numbers at a glance.

thanks for your support as always!:)
 
We're getting some low numbers today, figuring in the Libre wonkiness, of course, and also the possibility that compression was a factor. I changed the bandage around her neck and it was quite tight until I removed it a couple of hours later. I learned recently from a Facebook Libre for Cats group that ongoing compression can cause false low numbers. So maybe that was it. Or there is always the possibility that the sensor is starting to come off. Hope not!

In any case the overall numbers are lower than they have been in the last few days even if they are a bit bouncy ball.

upload_2023-6-22_14-2-54.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-22_14-2-54.png
    upload_2023-6-22_14-2-54.png
    78.6 KB · Views: 126
Here you can see the bopping numbers

upload_2023-6-22_14-5-13.png


Proud of myself, I stayed pretty calm, fed more LC but not overdoing it. :cat: I will keep checking numbers until they go up a little more and stay steady.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-22_14-5-13.png
    upload_2023-6-22_14-5-13.png
    128.5 KB · Views: 127
Hi all, I overslept today and was late by about a half hour with the shot. How much if any impact can this have on the levels today and afterwards?
A 30 min advance or delay in shot time should not make a difference. However there is an ECID element here as well. Some cats are sensitive to time changes in the shot.


Also, can I get some opinions on how important it is to include quarter hour differences in BG times? If the BG is 174 at +1.75 should I round up to the next hour? same goes with 1.25, should I round down to the previous hour?
I personally don't think it matters whether you round it off or not.

Proud of myself, I stayed pretty calm, fed more LC but not overdoing it. :cat: I will keep checking numbers until they go up a little more and stay steady
Amazing! Good job. You deserve to feel proud :cool: Soon you will be shooting green preshots without blinking!
 
Thanks so much Bhooma! It's nice to have someone celebrate the good moments with me! :)

Some tough news is that I found out today that Jessi has a malignant tumor, squamous cell carcinoma. It's what I had a feeling it was, but it's no less shocking. I cried a lot, will probably cry some more again...

They want to do more tests to see if it is operable. I will consider surgery, but I don't want to subject her to chemo or other harsh treatments.

And to think we were just starting to get see some real improvements in her health and behavior. More energy, more doing things she couldn't do for months, even just lying in sphinx position last night for the first time in ages, or sitting upright like a normal kitty, exploring the backyard while I stand and watch, getting up on the bed without me coaxing her. And she was trusting me again, letting me do the shots, change the bandage, brush and comb her a little (ok, that one not as much but still).

Now it has to get all turned upside down again. They want me to bring her in tomorrow morning for tests, which means no food after midnight and no AM insulin, which will of course, throw everything off, just like my fur shots do, just like every forced outing does. It has been like this for months, as soon as we start to get a nice rhythm going, both of us feeling better, insulin shots going well, BG levels improving, Jessi clearly feeling so much better, bam, another trip to a clinic, vet, hospital for something else, or the sensor stops working...

I just wanted a few more days for us to breathe and be at this calmer, steady pace. It's funny how suddenly the Vets are pushing me to get it done fast, when the tumor has been there visibly on her skin all along and they just kept putting the sensor bandage right over it.

I feel guilty and terribly sad.

But I will get over it and I will find the strength to get it straight in my mind that we will face this also and we will come out of it better, stronger and healthier than ever! That is my intention. I hope it will be Jessi's too.
 
I'm so sorry to hear about Jessi's diagnosis :( I've been following your journey and you've come such a long way in less than a month, despite the speed bumps along the way.
I do hope the tumor is operable but I totally get wanting to avoid invasive surgeries in favor of hospice care. Cancer truly sucks.

I think I read in a condo yesterday that one of @Suzanne & Darcy 's cats had radiation treatment for squamous cell carcinoma. Maybe she might have some inputs for you later, once you have more details.

I do want to say that it's not your fault and you shouldn't feel guilty but it's easier said than done. The 'what ifs' at such times are endless. I wish there was a way to know about all these things ahead of time. In hindsight, everything seems obvious and avoidable.

I hope Jessi's visit to the vet tomorrow goes well. Do keep updating, I'm sure the members here will have helpful information to offer, even if it's unrelated to FD :)

And in the middle of all this, don't forget to take care of yourself too :)

Paws crossed for you and Jessi! :bighug:
 
Thanks so much Nimi, your support and encouragement are so heartening. I will definitely check out the linked thread you shared.

Yes, taking care of myself is definitely not going as well as it should. I need to find more balance with taking care of Jessi. And yeah, I can make myself crazy thinking of every mistake I made and how this could have been avoided or at least mitigated if I had acted differently or in different timing. At some point, I have to let it go for my sake and hers. My stress is her stress. She is already acting funny this evening. I'm sure she senses my agitation.

How I don't want to put her through another vet visit right now, but at the moment it seems like the only next step.

I will definitely keep you posted.

Let's hope we don't see too many greens tonight. Sleep would be good! Or will it be a bounce? :eek:
 
OH my gosh. Where does she have the SCC. My cat (who is also white and used to live outside before I rescued him) had it on his nose and yes, he had the Strontium 90 radiation treatment done at University of Georgia. There are a few facilities in the US that do this. Where are you? Where is the cancer. I am going to go look for your thread now -- is there one for today?
 
I don't see a new thread. Contact me and I will try to help. I would like to know where the SCC is located? Was a biopsy done of the area? I had a biopsy to confirm the SCC. It's not the worst cancer your kitty can have, but you want to jump on it because it can spread -- but if you catch it early you should be fine. The only two successful treatments I have found are the Strontium 90 radiation therapy, which is done with a hand-held instrument and is at controlled depth and so spares surrounding tissue and you don't have systemic effects. And there is another treatment called electro-chemotherapy that is also successful.
 
Hi Suzanne, thanks for popping by. Stefania hasn't posted a new thread for this yet, so meanwhile I'm sharing some information she had shared in her previous threads.

Where does she have the SCC.
From the info section on her profile page - "Jessi has one quite large skin anomaly, still undiagnosed, which could be benign or malign skin tumor and a second smaller one near it, and another even smaller one on her chest. These appeared about 2 years ago and the one on her neck/shoulder gradually got bigger."

My cat (who is also white and used to live outside before I rescued him) had it on his nose and yes, he had the Strontium 90 radiation treatment done at University of Georgia. There are a few facilities in the US that do this. Where are you? Where is the cancer. I am going to go look for your thread now -- is there one for today?
She lives in Bologna, Italy.
This is a VERY small city, more like a big town, and the Veterinary community is miniscule.

I don't see a new thread. Contact me and I will try to help.
This is a thread (5 Jun) she had posted specifically for the skin ulcer. And another update about the skin ulcer in this thread (8 Jun).

I would like to know where the SCC is located? Was a biopsy done of the area? I had a biopsy to confirm the SCC.
ETA: A biopsy was done last week, and the vets wanted to do more tests (yesterday) to see if the SCC is operable. Yesterday they did some x rays and an ultrasound as well as checking for bladder infections.

ETA: Link to new thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...85-question-about-off-topic-questions.278860/
 
Last edited:
Back
Top