LJ and Ernest
Member Since 2011
Hi All,
Ernest is on 2U lantus twice daily and has been on insulin for less than a month, although he was diagnosed in April. We brought him down into the 200s with food, but on Memorial Day he went Ketoacidosis and since then, even with 2u twice a day has hovered around 300 at the AMPS and PMPS. Yesterday AMP he was at 483 which was the highest I had seen since he was in ICU. I tested him at +6 and he was at 323 bg. Then he dropped to 164 at the PMPS. I did not give him his shot last night, but took 3 more samples, all in the same range (I use relion, and I think I read somewhere that it has =/-20 BG accuracy). This morning, he is at 384, which seems reasonable considering he had no shot last night.
So the question is, what happened yesterday? Is this the Lantus Shed? Mainly I want to know if I need to change what I am doing. I will be testing him again in an hour for his +6.
Ernest is on 2U lantus twice daily and has been on insulin for less than a month, although he was diagnosed in April. We brought him down into the 200s with food, but on Memorial Day he went Ketoacidosis and since then, even with 2u twice a day has hovered around 300 at the AMPS and PMPS. Yesterday AMP he was at 483 which was the highest I had seen since he was in ICU. I tested him at +6 and he was at 323 bg. Then he dropped to 164 at the PMPS. I did not give him his shot last night, but took 3 more samples, all in the same range (I use relion, and I think I read somewhere that it has =/-20 BG accuracy). This morning, he is at 384, which seems reasonable considering he had no shot last night.
So the question is, what happened yesterday? Is this the Lantus Shed? Mainly I want to know if I need to change what I am doing. I will be testing him again in an hour for his +6.