6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
yesterday [urlhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73597[/url]

The traveling vet just left. Daphne is in hiding, probably won't come out for days!! :lol: I can't imagine her BG, I'm almost afraid to test. It wasn't that the vet was bad, it was because she shaved her, she was so matted, and I knew Daphne would have to be shaved or combed out, by the traveling groomer, and that was going to be the next thing, BUT, YAY, its all done! The vet did it. My kitchen looks like a wool factory! Daphne has long fine hair and she doesn't let us comb her. After a bit, Daphne just started getting more and more worked up, but it had to be done sooner or later, so if the vet offered, why not. Problem was she didn't have her shaver, but my son did, :lol: DS was not happy to let that thing be use on "a cat", but after a little promising we wouldn't hurt it, and it would be clean as new, he gave it. :lol:

So blood work will be back tomorrow. Then the vet will call the Adequan in to Foster&Smith. I copied and pasted all the info I collected from FDMB and gave it to her. She is very impressed with all the work we do on this site. I like that about her, most other vets I went to, didn't even want to hear about what we do here. Oh, and she even did a little chiropractic on her too! I'm very pleased with her, and her prices are, I think, very good too. It was only $60.00 to shave her and it took over an hour. The groomer charges $165.00!

Big relief off my back today, now I just hope her blood work comes back OK.

I'll be back to visit later, I think I need to vacuum :lol: (it's a no no for my back, but its pretty bad here)

Sending healing vines to all the kitties and beans who need them today.
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81 Vetty appt. and shave!

Poor Daphne, but so nice to have it done! Your vet does house calls, understands FDMB and did the grooming? Wow, what a keeper!
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81 Vetty appt. and shave!

Hi Barb, I second what Ann said about your Vet being a keeper, and she's open to hearing about the FDMB and protocol we're using. I bet Daphne feels so good without all the hair! That's a nice +7 for being stressed. :-D Have a nice day, and don't overdo and careful with the back.
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

Hi Ann and Ann, yes I think I'll keep her. We are so lucky to find her. It was always so stressful in the car for all my kitties, but Daphne was the worst. I just wish I knew about her when I had 4 at a time, all the lugging, really was hard on my back.

Yes, Sienne, I gave Daphne whatever she wanted, at least LC of course. I ditched the diet for the day, she really was a trooper through all that shaving. cat_pet_icon

Ann, actually the 81 was before the vet arived, and I was too chichen to test right after, I know I would be too upset to see a yellow or pink, so I waited and tested at PMPS, and to my surprise :o it was only 65. I guess her BG isn't too effected by stress.

I'm very proud of my little girl, so brave… and if her day wasn't hard enough, now it's going to storm.
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

Boy, what a day you had, Daphne cat_pet_icon
I hope the blood work all comes back fine.
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

Hi Barb,

I can only agree with everyone else about your vet. Wonderful find! I wish I had one like that! Driving is the worst with Racci. That's a great price for the shaving also! I paid $95 at my vet last haircut. I bet Daphne feels good now. She might let you start brushing her again with a soft brush. I've been able to brush Racci in spots she hasn't let me touch for months!

Don't overdo with the vacuum cleaner! It isn't worth it. Our storms just ended. Racci was in the closet for at least a couple of hours but it's quiet now.

TTYL. Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

Yes, Daphne sure had a day. The poor thing was resting so nicely and then the clap of thunder sent her back into hiding.

Yes, Dyana, I should get a call tomorrow they said. Thats faster then human blood work! I bet your happy, the heat wave is over after our storm. :-D

Melanie, sorry poor Racci had to take shelter in the closet. Daphne just came out and now it sounds like we aren't done yet. The line of storms are most of east coast, but I won't complain, we needed some rain, and it will cool things off, thank goodness!

I may need to get off the computer, my sciatica is bad. I guess washing the kitchen floor didn't help and swiffing the rest of the floors… there really was a lot of hair, oh brother, when will I learn. :roll:
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

Do you think the vet would do a little vacuuming too? ;-) She IS a keeper, better not press your luck. When I read "shave" in the subject line, I thought it applied to Dahne's dose. :lol: :lol: Wow on that PMPS! :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

Hi Barb. How wonderful that your vet will come and shave Daphne. Mine goes to homes for 'end of life' visits, but I don't think they do routine stuff. I took the shaver to my long haired civvie, and he's kind of choppy underneath. I wish I could get him professionally groomed.

Those are great numbers for Daphne today, even with all the stress. WooHoo :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

OH, no Liz, I didn't even think of that when I put "shave", I better take that off, don't want to confuse LL, we are all so overworked and stressed over the regular stuff everyday… I do know lots of people have issues with our long hair kitties…

Barb, :lol: I failed to mention, Daphne is a bit choppy too, she was getting more and more upset, so the vet just said, "well, we got the bad stuff", and stopped. I won't take any pictures of her, I'm sure she won't want anyone to see her like this :lol:
 
Re: 6/22 Daphne AMPS 138, +7 81, PMPS 65 Vetty appt. and sh

Awesome numbers ESPECIALLY with a vet visit and shave! Every day, I'm so impressed by the numbers I see on this forum. Sure gives me hope for Hershey!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Hi Daphne, don't worry about your beautiful fur: it will grow back even more beautiful without those uncomfortable mats.
Your friend,
Rusty


Hi Barb, What a day for you and Daphne! Your vet sounds terrific. I hope that this evening you are putting up your feet and relaxing your back. I hate "cleaning back"! (must be the reason I don't spend too much time cleaning :smile: ).

Glad to hear that you got some rain. We are still waiting, although it has cooled off nicely.

Have a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hmmm...I may have to call this vet to shave down two of my civvies who are just knot machines! All I have to do is look at them, and there's a new knot. I swear, I could spend 4 hours a day brushing them, and it wouldn't make a difference...they need a staff :lol: !

From those numbers, it looks like Daphne wa very, very brave today, between the vet and the endless rumbles of thunder!

I hope you guys are able to relax this evening!!
 
Hi Barb - wow, nice numbers for Daphne, considering the vetty visit and all. She did good! nice on the shave for the matts. I may need to get Mannie in at least to get the "butt shave" done. These long Haired cats!

And I like your vet - what a wonderful find.

I hope you guys have a great evening.
 
Daphne#5 said:
Thanks again for all your help with the Adequan, I know your tired, but just wanted you to know it went well today, and I gave her your info on the dose you use.

Any time. And I'm glad all went well today...if my current vet wasn't so familiar with Mario's issues, I'd switch to yours in a heartbeat. I may do that for the other kitties...
 
Nice to meet you Doug N Libby, I still feel new here, I don't get around the board as much as I would like, I also have a lot of medical problems and one is memory, so if I already met you, sorry, I didn't remember. :roll:

Michelle, :lol: yup its pretty much a butt shave, and a little on the side. I guess its more like a mohawk look! :lol:

Ella, yes
hope that this evening you are putting up your feet and relaxing your back.
in about 5 min. Glad it cooled off a bit for you.

Amy, thanks again! And yes, Daphne was very brave, she definitely didn't need those extra scary thunder storms. I already gave my DS the vets # and she is closer to her then we are. She comes from Burlington, Paws N Claws.

OH, one more thing, and then I'm on the floor for the rest of the night.
The vet called and said Daphne's (Bin or I'm not sure, maybe it was Bun) I know someone will see this and figure it out. But its good news, she said Daphne's Bin or Bun is 28, and her last blood test was 60. She said thats really good. I asked her how she knew so fast, and she said, she does most of the blood work herself. Not sure if thats a good thing or not… :?

Good night LL
Hope everyone has a great start to the weekend!
 
Looking great despite all the intrusions today and the shaving. Poor Daphne!!! She's still doing really well, Barb.

Big hugs to you and I hope this weekend finds you feeling better and more rested.
 
No worries on the confusion over "shave". I was trying to figure out how you shaved a drop. I bet Marje could figure something out. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Daphne#5 said:
Nice to meet you Doug N Libby, I still feel new here, I don't get around the board as much as I would like, I also have a lot of medical problems and one is memory, so if I already met you, sorry, I didn't remember. :roll:

Good night LL
Hope everyone has a great start to the weekend!

We haven't met. We just started Levemir 6/13 and have only been on the TR forum a few days. Trying to get to know everybody, but there's been so much action at my house lately that I haven't gotten far. Nice meeting you and I hope you have a wonderful weekend -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top