6/22 Chase AMPS 231, PMPS:117, +1:151, +2:136, +3:133

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
I was a horrible mom, today. I slept through my alarm and when I opened my eyes it was already 2.5 hours past the time Chase was scheduled for him morning insulin. In the past when I couldn't give his his insulin on time, I was told to skip it. Now... I don't know if that's just because Chase was doing so well, or if that's a hard and fast rule. I had 30 minutes to BE at work, nevermind washing my face, brushing my teeth and getting on clothes and a little make up before the 15 minute drive. And that's why I didn't have time to even ask anyone... do I shoot, or not. So I didn't. Was that a bad call since his number was so high? I'm just about to test/feed/shoot to be on the 700 schedule, like we were.

I feel so horrible. :( However... this showed me that Chase cannot be off of insulin. I don't get much feedback here, anymore. I guess that's because when Chase went OTJ, I quit coming here after a while. I work all day and am looking at 2 computer screens for 9 hours. And before Chase went OTJ, I was on here a LOT. So it was a welcome break for me. Then Chase had to go back on insulin and so... of course... here I am.... again. Only this time I don't get too much feedback.

I'm sorry if anyone was disappointed in me. But Chase didn't do anything wrong. And you guys are the one's I trust the most. I'm so sorry.
 
Sandi, no one is disappointed in you. You're doing your best to take care of Chase and have a life. Under the circumstances it was probably a safe thing to do to skip this morning since you were so far off schedule. It would be hard to work Chase's shot time back. Chase will get back on track. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sandi, no one is disappointed in you. You're doing your best to take care of Chase and have a life. Under the circumstances it was probably a safe thing to do to skip this morning since you were so far off schedule. It would be hard to work Chase's shot time back. Chase will get back on track. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much. You have said more to me than any other person. Gill replies to some of my stuff, but she is in the opposite time zone.

And Marje. Marje has been awesome. :)


So what does Chase's lower number say....after the skipped dose? I don't understand his numbers, sometimes.
 
Last edited:
Hey Sandi:bighug::bighug::bighug:

No one is disappointed in you, you've gone above and beyond for your boy.

With the constipation he's been experiencing that may have influenced his numbers over the last couple of days, if he's been uncomfy, @Bobbie And Bubba found that bubba's numbers rise when he gets backed up, I think she's used miralax in the past, and pumpkin too, to keep BOB regular.

Don't worry about the missed shot, (can't see that in your ss) I completely forgot to shoot George once only realised sing when I found the full syringe when it was his next shot time, :oops:. Just think of it as a fur shot, it wasn't worth getting off schedule for.:bighug::bighug:

Has he pooped yet? That might see his numbers come down a bit.
 
Hey Sandi:bighug::bighug::bighug:

No one is disappointed in you, you've gone above and beyond for your boy.

With the constipation he's been experiencing that may have influenced his numbers over the last couple of days, if he's been uncomfy, @Bobbie And Bubba found that bubba's numbers rise when he gets backed up, I think she's used miralax in the past, and pumpkin too, to keep BOB regular.

Don't worry about the missed shot, (can't see that in your ss) I completely forgot to shoot George once only realised sing when I found the full syringe when it was his next shot time, :oops:. Just think of it as a fur shot, it wasn't worth getting off schedule for.:bighug::bighug:

Has he pooped yet? That might see his numbers come down a bit.

Thank you, so much for your encouragement. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Well he does have BMs but they are mostly very small and not much at all. And sometimes VERY dark. It seems as though the smaller they are, the darker they are. He hasn't had a regular one in quite a while. :(
 
The depot could have influenced his numbers. Sometimes they are hard to figure out. Numbers can be influenced by what they eat and when they eat and how much they eat. Hang in there. :bighug::bighug:
Yeah... I don't quite get "the depot". o_O

I give him his food at certain times, and certain amounts. When I'm not here I use the feeder. However, I did introduce a new FF flavor. Don't know if that could have done something weird. Chase is VERY sensitive to what goes into his body. I've seen a different food (FF Classic of a different flavor) make his BG go up more. But I thought this one recently didn't do that before. Now I'm thinking it was this very one. :( Not to mention... he is allergic to beef and tuna. So I don't give him any fish product.
 
Hey Sandi, yes Bubba's numbers would rise dramatically when he was constipated. Even now if he is backed up his OTJ numbers are higher. I did use miralax daily for a very long time. I started off with 1/8 tsp mixed into his food twice a day and eventually had to raise it to 1/4 tsp twice a day. I did stop the miralax and instead are using a natural supplement called Natural Moves that I mix into his food, 1/4 capsule twice a day every other day and that seems to be keeping him going. I do also give a tsp of pumpkin in two of his meals a day.

Look at Bubba's 2016 SS on around 3.19 and see what happens to his numbers when he is constipated. He jumped up from double digit greens to mid yellows.
 
Hey Sandi, yes Bubba's numbers would rise dramatically when he was constipated. Even now if he is backed up his OTJ numbers are higher. I did use miralax daily for a very long time. I started off with 1/8 tsp mixed into his food twice a day and eventually had to raise it to 1/4 tsp twice a day. I did stop the miralax and instead are using a natural supplement called Natural Moves that I mix into his food, 1/4 capsule twice a day every other day and that seems to be keeping him going. I do also give a tsp of pumpkin in two of his meals a day.

Look at Bubba's 2016 SS on around 3.19 and see what happens to his numbers when he is constipated. He jumped up from double digit greens to mid yellows.
Wow. Yeah... Chase has come out of remission BIG time. You can see his AMPS numbers creeping up mostly all the way. I have to wonder if that "dead tooth" as the vet called it, has something stirring. The problem is... I can't afford dental for Chase right now. There's just no way. I'm getting ready to move and just that alone is going to have me pretty much penniless. I did start the Miralax last night and it looks it has started to work already. Of course... that just may be my wishful thinking. LOL. He's acting extremely hungry right now. I have to put his food through a Nutri Bullet to get him to eat his with Miralax in it. I'm using 1/8 tsp twice a day. How long did you wait until you increased it. And where do you get your pumpkin. I'm hearing good things about it. When Bubba came out of remission both times, how bad were his numbers?
 
The pumpkin is just Pure Pumpkin you would get in a can at the grocery store. Just make sure it is not Pie Mix Pumpkin which would mean there are spices and sugar in it. In the ingredients: Pumpkin. Period.

I probably gave the 1/8 of tsp a good week or so before I increased to 1/4 tsp twice a day. I started tracking on the SS when he pooped so I could see the correlation of higher numbers to no poop and see them come down again when he did poop.

Look into Care Credit. You can apply online and it is a credit card you can use for medical and dental, vets and human and it is 6 months as good as cash. So, if you pay off the bill in 6 months, NO interest. I applied before Bubba's eye removal and have a balance almost all the time BUT I have NEVER paid interest on anything. The online application tells you immediately if you are approved and you would need to call the vet and see if they participate with Care Credit. I believe most do since vets want cash and carry.

When Bubba came out of remission both times, I believe his numbers jumped up into mid blues to start ( that's when I discovered it ) and went as high as mid yellows. ( going from memory but you can look on his SS and you will see when he came out of remission both times).

We are coming up to another dental cleaning in September. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top