Re: 6/22 Boo AMPS 201, +1 202, +2 176, +3 262
Hi Carla!!
A big LL HUG to you!! My better half, Mike, posted on your condo last night. He was so concerned for your Boo. She is a beautiful girl.
You did have a very scary night but the good thing is now you know how to handle low numbers!! Looks like Boo might be going up either from the accumulation of carbs from the dry food or she could possibly be "bouncing". Unfortunately, we don't know which is driving the car today!!
I'm sure someone has explained that when the liver senses low numbers that is not used to the body having, it releases counterregulatory hormones and glycogen to offset those low numbers. That, in turn, causes the BGs to rise. There are several "bouncy" kitties in LL.
BJM gave you great advice in taking care of you today and especially breathing. I know it is difficult when you are in stressful situation (like not knowing what to shoot) and you get different answers from our members.
We're a learning forum....we try to give you the tools and education so you can get comfy with the protocol and make decisions you and Boo can live with; you can always get input from others in LL and we do highly encourage your questions. Usually, beans are able to have some time to learn this before their baby gives them a low number but Boo had other plans for you.
Safety of the kitty is a number one priority here. What makes it a wonderful place is people make suggestions and you, as the bean, holder of the syringe, and the one who knows your kitty, makes the decision. While it may seem like you are getting "advice", I like to think of it as suggestions or ideas for you to consider. No one will ever be upset if you don't do what they suggest (unless of course you are putting your kitty in danger which you wouldn't do)....that's not how it works here. Like today, you considered the different suggestions of giving 2u or skipping and considering your own situation, decided to stay home and give 1u. Great job!! Everyone supports you and your decision...you are already learning the process!
There is a core group of extremely experienced people who you will come to know; I think most of us leave the dosing suggestions to them because they are able to see things on spreadsheets that we cannot. But there are also lots of other experienced folks to give you ideas, answer your questions, help you with low numbers and preshots, and give you moral and emotional support. Please take advantage of that as well as reading the stickys.
There have been times when Mike and I just wanted someone to tell us what to do because, considering the options, we weren't sure. We've come to realize it is not their responsibility to tell us...only to educate us on what the acceptable, safe possibilities are and then we need to make the decision. We've learned so much. And you will, too. Soon you will be helping other newbies through low numbers, etc.
You did a great job last night and we hope you stick with us. This group handles more FD kitties in probably six months than most vets handle their entire careers. The number of cats they have gotten off the juice is remarkable. And there is usually someone here 24/7....the west coasters are up late, the east coasters are up early and we usually have some overlap. But that is where the stickys come in just in case we don't.
So welcome!!!! Hope you get some rest today....you and Boo earned it.