6/21 Zach AMPS 349, +4 218, + 6 284, +9 250, PMPS 527

Lamanda

Member Since 2024
This is my first time seeing a >500 and I am in shambles. I'm so discouraged with all of this. I thought that diabetes was supposed to be manageable. I know that my glucose testing isn't consistent and sometimes isn't every day, but its very stressful for me to do on my own and financially it is a burden because the test strips are so expensive. I am not willing to give up my cat to someone who can financially afford to test him multiple times a day every day. I'm doing the best I can to get him healthy. I realize my testing is inconsistent but I'm trying the best I can with other external life things going on.

I'm just so stressed....I don't understand why he would have good numbers all day and then spike so significantly at the end of the cycle.This is scary and frustrating for me. And I'm mentally tired. I don't want to see numbers in the black. I'm tired of constantly worrying
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Managing a feline diabetic can be challenging until you get the routine down and enough data to know what to expect. Those bounce are also very discouraging.

Have you tried looking at eBay for test strips? Some people find good deals there. I'd like to see what we can do to help you get more tests. You should always be testing before giving a shot. Neko several times gave me numbers in the 40's at shot time. Needless to say, that was not safe to shoot. And with following SLGS, you do need to do weekly curves in addition to at least the preshots. Spot tests at night before bed and during the day when you can (weekends?) can also be really helpful.

I expect what happened is that Zach went lower sometime, possibly last night (?) and is doing a wicked bounce. Neko was a frequent visitor to the black zone the first part of the year she was diabetic, so I know how that makes you feel.:bighug:

The other factor that could be confusing things is that you are giving different doses in the AM and the PM. With our dosing methods we find that can result in wonky numbers.

Here's the link to your last post here for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...356-4-356-6-347-7-338-10-319-pmps-185.290406/
 
Thank you so much for the ebay tip. With the bounces, does that indicate the dose is causing them to go too low and then bounce, and that therefore dose should be reduced? His AMPS today is 520 so I guess he is still bouncing overnight.
Thank you for your support, tough few days here
 
Bounces just mean he's going lower than he's used to or dropping quickly. A cat in really high numbers can even bounce from yellow numbers. Do not reduce. Rather, try to get him safely to a dose where he sees more normal numbers and gets used to them. That does mean more testing though.

He did do a pretty big drop to his +2 last night. That can be an indication of a more active cycle. And a good time to leave a little extra food out if you can't get a later test.
 
Thank you for your expertise, I will not reduce. But following your comment regarding different am and pm dose, I was planning to try to do 2.25u Am and PM (leaving overall dose the same) as best as I can measure without the quarter markings.. Would you agree that's best course of action?
 
Back
Top