6/21 Topper PMPS 259 +4.75 83 Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan

You are testing plenty enough to do TR. The difference here would be that you would leave his dose because it's looking great on him! The dose reduction number would be 50. I'm thinking that is what worries you, right? Having him go down to 50 at night? I can understand that.

I think you have two choices:
1. leave him at this dose and see if he can hold those nadirs where they are ...he might! He just dipped his toes in green last night. You could leave him and see what he does and at any time you feel his nadirs are getting lower than you want, reduce him.

2. shave just a little off the 3.25u. You were shooting a f3u ...maybe just take one drop off this 3.25u and call it a sk3.25u?

I'd love to see what he can do on this dose but I do understand that the lower numbers concern you especially at night. You do need to rest and I see you were up late. Although...it seems like he tends to nadir early?

Hope you are well. BIG HUGS! You are doing spectacular with him. How's he feeling?
 
Thank you Marje! I just sent you a PM but you can disregard it!!

You're correct, I'm not comfortable with him dropping into lower numbers because I really can't stay up with him. Sadly. I think if I could do TR we might see some very good things.

I do not see 83 as low and would also like to see what he continues to do on this dose. So I'll hold it and see. If I start feeling uncomfortable I'll reduce it just a bit.

He's feeling pretty good!!
 
Jan

I think that is a wise decision. Decide what nadir you are comfortable dealing with and let that be your cutoff for a reduction. Is it TR? No. Is it SLGS? No (I'd probably take that out of your signature block and perhaps put "custom dosing"). But you have to take care of you as well.

There is nothing wrong with deciding what nadir you are comfortable with and what BG you feel you can comfortably shoot and then just adjusting his dose based on that. Sometimes we need to be flexible about all of this especially when our own health is involved.

Having said that, you do need to be aware that at any time on a good dose like this, he "could" drop below the nadir you are comfortable with. That's why SLGS uses 90. But even with SLGS, on a dose that gets him to 90, even if you reduce, the depot might take a bit of time to drain and you could still see a lower number the next cycle.

Remember...you can reduce at any time you think you need to. The protocol and the SLGS are just guidelines. Make it work for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top