6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,PMPS 217,+4~187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Member Since 2009
Morning LL!! Happy 1st day of summer!!
Moonie is doing well this am, eating, all P's, etc..
As I said last nite, I'm making some plans to be away a bit this summer--Need to go to Flor. to see my DA, who will be 80(3 day weekend-DH will be home & DPS will be shooting ) , one night away for DH and I, and a couple of pm shots for one or 2 nites we will be out late over the summer!!
Havent seen my Aunt in 3 yrs...

OMG OMG I am so Fearful to leave her for 3 days even though DH will be here!!! He could never care for her beyond feeding maybe, and watching over her actions--Man is incapable of comprehending much..Cant concentrate on anything w/o being told 600 times( and maybe even not then).
Yet he is a darling sweet man, very caring & considerate--But he could never ever shoot Moonie--She even with neuropathy, is 1000 times faster than she is, and look how long it took ME to do this & I'm very quick!!
And testing her :lol: Forget it! I dont think the DPS or DH will be able to do that--You know how fractious Moonie was for 11 months, I couldnt even test her---
Hmmm, maybe I'll do urine testing that weekend?
This has always been my worst fear, to have to leave her in someone else's care for any length of time-
You know I havent been away since her dx in Feb 2008, except for one nite...
Please help!! You know I rarely ask for any, but now..... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
Thanks Dearest LL!! I know you are there..Have a good day!
yesterday's condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17722
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 help

Hi Roni, nice numbers for Moonie this AM. Sorry, no help w/ the travel problems. Does anyone else live near you?
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 help

I would be the same way if I was leaving Do Lou my DH had to have notes on everything and it all spelled out very plainly or it just will not get done. I mean a food dish can be empty but if you do not tell him to feed he will not even if a dish is empty for fear he will do something wrong. Hope your trip goes well Roni and you do not worry too much if thats possible and great numbers for Moonie today :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 help

Roni....first I think you should change your subject to say "advice" and not help so as not to confuse anyone.
Second your petsitter is a vet tech. I am sure she has handled many difficult animals in her day to day job. I think she needs to learn to test. You have plenty of time between now and when you go away. I paid a vet tech to come several times before I went away so she could comfortably test and it was worth every cent for peace of mind. Putty was very difficult for me to test at first and as you know it does become much easier. I would never let anyone shoot Putty more than one shot without getting a bg first even with a reduced dose.

They will be fine....it is hard to leave them but sometimes you need to have a life. dancing_cat
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 advice

Good afternoon, Roni! I think Miriam has a good idea. Get that Pet Sitter over and get the training started! It is high time you make some time for you to go visiting, and in order to do that, you need to go feeling confident that all will be well :-D

Moonie is looking very nice today, nice blues going on there...possibly she will be wearing green for the Solstice party tonight. Spot is so excited about the party and is really looking forward to seeing Ms. Moonie there. He has a special dance all ready to show her!

Hope you have a great day, Roni!!
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 advice

Hi Roni....I know how you feel...I will be facing the same dilemma in October...
(I am so excited while looking at her SS....just LOOK at her wonderful numbers!!!)

It would be great if you could teach them BOTH how to test.... :lol:
It seems that when her PS is <160 she goes into the greens. But you have managed her so beautifully when she goes lower. Feeding the drop and whatever. And the HC food or temptations get out of her system soon enough, right?
Having them learn to do the testing is a good idea. Moonie is used to it now. Maybe that's the best thing to think about.
Some people lower the dose when they will be away....but I don't know if that's the way to go with Moonie.
I will be checking back to see what others say....
I do know that it will be okay though...you will have a talk with Moonie and she will understand...
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 advice

Hi Roni,
I also understand your worry with Moonie. She is doing beautifully today, good numbers. I will have the same worry in July when I leave for a few days, but fortunately I found someone who knows how to test and give shots, but still...big worry. I'm sure everything will be fine, and DH will be there, so Moonie should feel at home. You can call as many times as necessary to check on her, too. It will be fine.
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 advice

Hi Roni, I know how you feel. We are going away in January for 10 days and I've already started worrying. I agree with Miriam & others that said to get your pet sitter to test. Last year when we were gone for a week, I taught our pet sitter to test. And since then I've taught a neighbor (that may be our next DPS) to test. Now I understand that Moonie may not be as easy as Blackie, but a vet tech should be able to handle it. And tell her that it will look great on her resume/references.

One other way - I've heard that some people lower the dose while they are gone to ensure that there is no chance for hypo. I don't want to do that myself, but I think I would in a pinch.

I hope this helps. And Happy Summer Solstice!
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 advice

Hi Roni,

I also agree with Miriam and .... I also have learned that training a DPS is better than trying to train DH.
Moonie is going very well!
I hope this helps.
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,+2~139,+3.5~102 advice

Roni-

I know how nerve-wracking it can be to leave them. I have only left Buzz once since dx, and the only reason I was able to do that is because she was OTJ when we went away. So I don't know how you're feeling exactly, but I can definitely imagine.

I think what others have said is really good advice. Get DPS to start learning now. Maybe it won't work, but you've got nothing to lose by trying. I know that having someone who can test will give you such peace of mind, far moreso than having someone shoot blind, even a reduced dose. It could be that since Moonie is more used to testing now, she won't be as difficult as she was in the beginning for you.

You are so fortunate to have a vet tech as a DPS! I know that doesn't mean she automatically knows how to test, but her demeanor will be calm no matter what Moonie does, and she must be used to animals having a bit of a freak-out.

You do need to be able to have a life, and in order for you to do that, Moonie will need to get used to things being a little different in her world sometimes. With your patient, loving example, I bet she will be fine and you will be able to enjoy a mostly worry-free trip. :-D
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,PMPS 217

The Princess is cleaning herself--I have just tested, shot and fed her...
Like 45 min. before this, we were having dinner & DH dropped a hunk of steak--UH OH__Guess who got it??????? And Ran???
Right, Moonie, so maybe this high bg is from that? I'm not worried bout it, just know she could have bounced from a green this afternoon too..
AH the mystery that is Moonie..... confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

Thank you for all the good advice--DPS will be calling me for dates she will be coming, so I will ask her to come over to show her how to test...
She now does cat scans, echos, & that type of thing with a traveling vet..
I'm sure you are all right--I'm just a scaredy cat! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
Hope she coms down some tonite--Again Thanks for the advice!!
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,PMPS 217

The mystery is right - sometimes the unexplained bounces drive me nuts.

Hugs to you on the trip situation - Moonie will be fine but I know exactly how you feel! When I left Salem with Kim (who is his real owner and quite experienced with testing and shooting him!) I was on the phone with her at least twice a day, every day.
 
Re: 6/21 Moonie AMPS 121,PMPS 217

Hi Roni, Sorry to be so late in replying to your call for "advice"!! I agree with the general consensus that you should teach your DPS how to test Moonie. It will be OK, I'm sure. Your DH will be there, so Moonie won't think that everyone has abandoned her. And Copper will be there, too!
We are lucky that we haven't had to go anywhere in recent years that we can't take Stu along. But in the years when we traveled often to Europe to do research, I know that I would have worried about him. In those years we could simply get one of DH's graduate students to house-sit for us and take care of Alice (GA), who was a civvie.
You have to lead your life, too. And it's important to visit with relatives who are up in years (my brother and sisters are all in their 80s and I try to see the 2 who live in Texas at least once every 2 years). So make your plans and don't worry!!

Our kitties are having a ball at the solstice party. Just think, it's still daylight there in CA! See you tomorrow.

Ella
 
Thanks all--Yep Moonie is having fun at the Summer Solstice party ith all her pals--
Guess that's why her bg is up!! Or was it that steak?? :? :? :cool:
She just stopped by the food plate for a nosh--Poor thing, never gets any food :roll: :roll: :roll:

Well, everyone gave me food for thought, and I think it's time for DH to at least see me test her!!
She always ran away when we were over her in the bedroom, as when we take her to vet, we corral her in there to get her in cage!!!
So, you can understand that part...HMMM We'll see tomorrow :lol: :lol: :lol:
Off tomorrow to buy jewelry in New Rochelle at a special sale from my Fav. company, who will be at a hotel selling to the trade only..
DH took off work, as we have like 3 shows coming up, our biggest in July!
Stocking up now(easy with the spending)-
Sleepus tight dear ones, joyous dreams & good health to all lantusians--And Hugs from US!! NI NI :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top