Kathy & Moe
Member Since 2011
Hello everyone,
I'm sort of a newbie but I've been checking out the Lantus forum for some time but not sure how to get involved. Moe was diagnosed on 5/10 and started Lantus on 5/23 of 1 unit, twice a day. His numbers are finally dropping now that he is on canned food. 6/20 PMPS was 160 and 6/21 AMPS was 169. Gave him 1 unit each time. See my lovely spreadsheet. I was using the Lantus Solarstar pen and needles and learned this doesn't give the most accurate dosage so I found Relion syringes yesterday with 1/2 unit markings and used it last night and this morning. Okay, now that you've got the scoop, here's my questions. When should I lower his dose and by how much? Also, I once found info about a fat, skinny, etc dosage and now I can't find the link again. Can anyone help with this. I was going to give him a skinny 1 unit dosage this morning but not sure if that's what I actually gave him. Plus, he might be getting more now that I've switch to the syringe instead of the lantus pen needles. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Kathy
I'm sort of a newbie but I've been checking out the Lantus forum for some time but not sure how to get involved. Moe was diagnosed on 5/10 and started Lantus on 5/23 of 1 unit, twice a day. His numbers are finally dropping now that he is on canned food. 6/20 PMPS was 160 and 6/21 AMPS was 169. Gave him 1 unit each time. See my lovely spreadsheet. I was using the Lantus Solarstar pen and needles and learned this doesn't give the most accurate dosage so I found Relion syringes yesterday with 1/2 unit markings and used it last night and this morning. Okay, now that you've got the scoop, here's my questions. When should I lower his dose and by how much? Also, I once found info about a fat, skinny, etc dosage and now I can't find the link again. Can anyone help with this. I was going to give him a skinny 1 unit dosage this morning but not sure if that's what I actually gave him. Plus, he might be getting more now that I've switch to the syringe instead of the lantus pen needles. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Kathy