6/21 Moe AMPS 169 Newbie-Sorta Dosage Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy & Moe

Member Since 2011
Hello everyone,
I'm sort of a newbie but I've been checking out the Lantus forum for some time but not sure how to get involved. Moe was diagnosed on 5/10 and started Lantus on 5/23 of 1 unit, twice a day. His numbers are finally dropping now that he is on canned food. 6/20 PMPS was 160 and 6/21 AMPS was 169. Gave him 1 unit each time. See my lovely spreadsheet. I was using the Lantus Solarstar pen and needles and learned this doesn't give the most accurate dosage so I found Relion syringes yesterday with 1/2 unit markings and used it last night and this morning. Okay, now that you've got the scoop, here's my questions. When should I lower his dose and by how much? Also, I once found info about a fat, skinny, etc dosage and now I can't find the link again. Can anyone help with this. I was going to give him a skinny 1 unit dosage this morning but not sure if that's what I actually gave him. Plus, he might be getting more now that I've switch to the syringe instead of the lantus pen needles. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Kathy
 
Hi Kathy....great job on the spreadsheet...they are so helpful to be able to look at! Also, good job on hometesting Moe....you are learning quick. :mrgreen:

I don't think Moe is ready for a decrease in his dose, yet. He hasn't earned a dose reduction yet....here is a link to the Lantus protocol: Lantus/Levemir Tight Regulation His numbers are looking better....much better than those pinks and reds!

Keep up the good work and hang out here in LL....let us get to know you and Moe!
 
Hi there!

Like Sherry said, it's a bit early to consider a dose reduction... Moe may even need an increase before he gets
into the "blues and greens" and stays there. Wise choice I think switching to syringes.

Great to see those numbers coming down, great job! :-D

Bruce
 
Hi Kathy!! I'm sure you've been relieved those numbers are finally out of the stratosphere!! I also use the ReliOn syringes. You definitely DO NOT want to use the needles that come with the pen because most increases and decreases will be in 0.25u increments which is impossible with the Solostar needles. You definitely need to keep Moe at 1u. As a matter of fact, you'll most likely be increasing him before he'll be able to earn a reduction. To earn a reduction, his numbers have to fall below 50 for a newly diagnosed kitty. Champ got all the way to 3.75u b.i.d. before earning three reductions in six days. That's how fast it can happen sometime. Unfortunately, his last reduction failed so I took him back up to 3.25u. Make sure you read through the protocol very carefully so you understand the "rules" of when to increase, etc. If you have any questions, there are a lot of people here who will be more than happy to help you out!!

Hope you have a fantastic day!!! :-D
 
My husband happens to be on vacation this week so I had him test at +3 and Moe is at 203. I was afraid he might be dropping. I was scared when he was in the 500's and praying his numbers would drop and now that they are, I'm scared of hypo. What a rollercoaster of emotions.
 
Oh, Kathy....it sure is a roller coaster of emotions. It does get better, really. You are doing a great job with Moe....I remember how overwhelming it is when you are just starting out with FD...you are doing just fine!

Keep up the good work! :mrgreen:
 
Sienne, who is one of our experts here, just posted this in someone else's condo and I love what it says:

Just so you don't get too panicked, we don't consider low numbers a "hypo" unless the cat has symptoms of hypoglycemia. If you take a look at Garfunkle's condo (thread), you'll see that Phil hasn't given insulin in 36 hours and Garfunkle's numbers are in the 30s. I would never suggest that a cat that's getting insulin spend more than a short time in the 30s, but low numbers are something you can control. You're doing a great job testing and you are learning how to steer the cycle with HC (high carb) food. As long as you have a meter, strips, and a source of HC, you are in control.

So as long as you have your hypo kit ready, you won't have any problems. Have you read the stickies at the top of our forum? There's info in there about what's needed in your hypo kit.

Also, Sienne had posted this link in another condo and it would be a good thing for you to read over also:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40073

You'll do great, I'm sure!!! :-D
 
I have my hypo kit ready. FF with gravy, temptation treats, and karo. I always leave for work 20 minutes after giving him his AM shot and don't get home until a hour before his PM shot. I've been able to go home at +6 to check his levels on ocassion but can't do it on a regular basis. I did his first curve on 6/18 and Moe decided to eat the food the dog didn't from the night before so it messed with his numbers. He likes to go outside whenever he can and I didn't pick up the dog's food dish. I'm going to try and do another curve this weekend. How often should I be doing the curve checks? Thanks for all your help. :smile:
 
I know the experts here have said that curves don't take the place of spot checks throughout each cycle, but some people, such as you, aren't in a position to get many spot checks!!. I would test whenever you can when you're home, or when you can get home, and do a curve every weekend just so you have a reference point. It can't hurt and it might help!! When you do curves, as you know there are a lot of pokes. I know I have to bride my cat with a treat for each test. If you have to test frequently, make sure you have no carb to low carb treats, such as freeze-dried chicken breast, freeze-dried salmon, or boiled chicken breast. That way you aren't artificially spiking the numbers.
 
I agree with what Patty said - do spot checks as often as you can when home and curve on the weekends. Of course, have lots of treats on hand for you andfor Moe!!!!!
 
You'll also need to get a daily nadir (6 hours after either the AM or PM) test in there. I work all day, so I used to set an alarm and get up at 1am to get Bandit's +6. This number is very important in determining dose. Then I did a curve once a week on the weekend when I was home.
 
Nadirs aren't always at +6, though. Champ has never had a +6 nadir. That's why you need to do spot checks at different times, so you can determine what their nadir is. And then, of course, there's the fact that nadirs like to move around at will. Whenever you think you have this figured out, it changes!! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top