6/21 Merlin PMPS 283, 297@+1, 180@+2, 131@+3,94 @+4,155@+5

That was a lovely cycle Merlin went on to have after I went to bed last night.
Did you do the little test to see how many drops the 0.1 gave you?
 
That was a lovely cycle Merlin went on to have after I went to bed last night.
Did you do the little test to see how many drops the 0.1 gave you?
Yes. It was two drops in the .1 and one drop in the drop shot. He surprised us yesterday at +7 by dropping to 63 and we had to feed him a little higher carb to get him back up. He is still unpredictable unfortunately, and we have to keep an eye on him. I didnt think it was possible to drop again that late. And that is why he was still low by pmps. As it turns out, it was lucky we didnt shoot him with the .1 because he would only eat half of his supper and refused any snacks until +4. This would have been a disaster for having to keep him from dropping to something like the 52 he had on Thursday at +3, after shooting low. I just dont know what to do, Bron. Late drops, early dramatic drops, not eating. We are supposedly steering this, but his body does what it does without warning.
 
He is still early in the FD journey and his body is still getting used to the insulin….remember it’s a hormone.
Lots of people have kitties that stay in high numbers for ages, so you are lucky he is responding to the insulin.
If you ever get into the position where he is dropping and he won’t eat, you can always rub honey on his gums. I have had several kitties where they won’t eat and we were able to keep them safe by rubbing honey on the gums.

That is good to know that the 0.1 you draw up is 2 drops.
Just keep doing what you are doing and try and shoot lower preshots (a bit lower each time) and you will get there.
 
He is still early in the FD journey and his body is still getting used to the insulin….remember it’s a hormone.
Lots of people have kitties that stay in high numbers for ages, so you are lucky he is responding to the insulin.
If you ever get into the position where he is dropping and he won’t eat, you can always rub honey on his gums. I have had several kitties where they won’t eat and we were able to keep them safe by rubbing honey on the gums.

That is good to know that the 0.1 you draw up is 2 drops.
Just keep doing what you are doing and try and shoot lower preshots (a bit lower each time) and you will get there.
We know about the honey, but you have to then wait two hours to make sure it has cleared his system and his numbers are all his own, right?
 
That is the same for any higher carb food. I found honey wore off around +1.5 hours later.
But don’t let that stop you giving higher carb food or honey if it is needed.
So yesterday I fed and steered him so he only dropped around 50 an hour. (Well, it seemed like I was controlling that?…) to try to keep him from bouncing from dropping too fast. He didnt drop fast, but he kept dropping, and, at +7, a bit too low. There is no way of knowing, since he is new at this, if he would have then kept dropping down. I would like to go out to a doctor’s appointment I cancelled last week for fear of this happening, which would mean no one would be here at +5 to +7.5ish. I guess I need to cancel this again, because of yesterday?
 
He came down only 29 in half an hour, but 95 in an hour. We fed him right after +1. Im inclined to not feed til after testing at +3. What do you think?
 
He didnt have a food bump today, like yesterday(?), so its a different deal today. I fed him too much yesterday to keep him slow and steady and it turned out that he dropped again later. And also he had eaten too much by supper time. But I cant control that food bump. I dont know how much I really have to do with this process except saving him from hypo. Maybe I should just go back to the +1 and +4 scheduled feeds? But sometimes that means he drops too fast. I thought I had a handle on this, but I am so confused now.
 
You are getting to know his ways and this is what it is all about.
He won’t do the same every cycle.so expect the unexpected at the moment.
 
You are getting to know his ways and this is what it is all about.
He won’t do the same every cycle.so expect the unexpected at the moment.
I wish I felt that way. His ways change. He used to drop early and that was that. Now I dont know when he drops. I dont know what carbs to feed when anymore. I dont know how fast is too fast. I was feeling good about this last Thursday, and then the near hypo happened after shooting low. The reduction to the drop-dose changed the game and didnt work at all. Now going back to what we did before doesnt really work because its different now. I appreciate the greens, I do. I would love to feel we are making progress together. If he drops again at +7, do I need to expect that? At pmps also? It’s super hard to pin him down. I also have to leave the house sometimes, and sleep at night.
 
I wish I had a crystal ball and could tell you all the answers but I can’t.
Remember as long as you are testing you are in control.
On the days he is bouncing, you don’t need to test as often, so take that time to get out.
What time are your preshots now?
 
I wish I had a crystal ball and could tell you all the answers but I can’t.
Remember as long as you are testing you are in control.
On the days he is bouncing, you don’t need to test as often, so take that time to get out.
What time are your preshots now?
Preshots are “normally” at 8:45. I like the idea of not testing so much when he is bouncing, but it is really unclear whether something is a bounce or it is just Merlin making his own schedule of how to react to insulin. Sometimes its like he’s reacting the same but on a higher BG level. Or I think its a bounce, and then he drops. I can never assume its a bounce, sadly. I know that no one has a crystal ball. But thank you for your help, Bron.
 
Would it help if you brought the preshots to an earlier time so that you could have the afternoons free if he is in the way up by then, and also get to bed earlier.?
In theory, that would help. But getting to bed earlier doesnt matter, if the length of the time I have to pay close attention to the cycle at night is the same. Just have to get up earlier and still have the same small amount of sleep. I keep pondering that idea. It would be nice to have some free afternoon time, but, as I am now, I would probably just have to spend a lot of that time catching up on lost sleep.
 
Also, stalling keeps adding time as Im sure it will do more as we get more green. All going well, and wishfully thinking, though, we could try for 9:00 tonight and 8:30 tomorrow morning…
 
I think trying to get to an earlier preshot time would help.
I used to shoot at 7:7 or 8:8 and I know a lot of people do 6:6
Since we shifted to 10pm last night, and 930am this morning, can we then switch to 9pm tonight and 830 tomorrow morning? Or is that too much shifting? I cant get my head around if you consider the night before when you are shifting 15 minutes either side or half an hour one side.
 
He’s moving really slowly today. I guess he’s saving it up for a big dramatic moment. No need to feed again yet. Will feed at scheduled +4. Hope it wont be a shocking number.
 
Since we shifted to 10pm last night, and 930am this morning, can we then switch to 9pm tonight and 830 tomorrow morning? Or is that too much shifting? I cant get my head around if you consider the night before when you are shifting 15 minutes either side or half an hour one side.
It’s either 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour once a day.
 
It’s either 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour once a day.
So no need to consider the night before? We can keep 9:00am tomorrow but switch to 830 tomorrow evening, assuming we get a 9:00pm start tonight, even though it was 9:30 start this morning? Each day is separate to consider?
 
Last edited:
Still really slow, but need to feed +4. Carb amount in question. I guess 5.9? Since the drop is coming, but hasn’t yet??? Feeding 10g
 
Really stretching it out today. Flummoxed about feeding. Fed too much yesterday and he wouldn’t eat supper or snacks. Wonder if big drop will happen?…Will feed something at +7
 
Last edited:
Back
Top