Merlin’sMama
Member Since 2022
Good morning
Yes. It was two drops in the .1 and one drop in the drop shot. He surprised us yesterday at +7 by dropping to 63 and we had to feed him a little higher carb to get him back up. He is still unpredictable unfortunately, and we have to keep an eye on him. I didnt think it was possible to drop again that late. And that is why he was still low by pmps. As it turns out, it was lucky we didnt shoot him with the .1 because he would only eat half of his supper and refused any snacks until +4. This would have been a disaster for having to keep him from dropping to something like the 52 he had on Thursday at +3, after shooting low. I just dont know what to do, Bron. Late drops, early dramatic drops, not eating. We are supposedly steering this, but his body does what it does without warning.That was a lovely cycle Merlin went on to have after I went to bed last night.
Did you do the little test to see how many drops the 0.1 gave you?
We know about the honey, but you have to then wait two hours to make sure it has cleared his system and his numbers are all his own, right?He is still early in the FD journey and his body is still getting used to the insulin….remember it’s a hormone.
Lots of people have kitties that stay in high numbers for ages, so you are lucky he is responding to the insulin.
If you ever get into the position where he is dropping and he won’t eat, you can always rub honey on his gums. I have had several kitties where they won’t eat and we were able to keep them safe by rubbing honey on the gums.
That is good to know that the 0.1 you draw up is 2 drops.
Just keep doing what you are doing and try and shoot lower preshots (a bit lower each time) and you will get there.
That is the same for any higher carb food. I found honey wore off around +1.5 hours later.We know about the honey, but you have to then wait two hours to make sure it has cleared his system and his numbers are all his own, right?
So yesterday I fed and steered him so he only dropped around 50 an hour. (Well, it seemed like I was controlling that?…) to try to keep him from bouncing from dropping too fast. He didnt drop fast, but he kept dropping, and, at +7, a bit too low. There is no way of knowing, since he is new at this, if he would have then kept dropping down. I would like to go out to a doctor’s appointment I cancelled last week for fear of this happening, which would mean no one would be here at +5 to +7.5ish. I guess I need to cancel this again, because of yesterday?That is the same for any higher carb food. I found honey wore off around +1.5 hours later.
But don’t let that stop you giving higher carb food or honey if it is needed.
I would have to leave the house at 2:30 (+5) and may not get back til +6.5 or +7, depending on the wait time.When is the appointment? Today?
It’s a bit hard to say at this point. What is the latest you can cancel?I would have to leave the house at 2:30 (+5) and may not get back til +6.5 or +7, depending on the wait time.
Try and make a day when someone else will be at home to take over if you canIt doesnt make sense, after yesterday. I am going to just reschedule it again.
I wish I felt that way. His ways change. He used to drop early and that was that. Now I dont know when he drops. I dont know what carbs to feed when anymore. I dont know how fast is too fast. I was feeling good about this last Thursday, and then the near hypo happened after shooting low. The reduction to the drop-dose changed the game and didnt work at all. Now going back to what we did before doesnt really work because its different now. I appreciate the greens, I do. I would love to feel we are making progress together. If he drops again at +7, do I need to expect that? At pmps also? It’s super hard to pin him down. I also have to leave the house sometimes, and sleep at night.You are getting to know his ways and this is what it is all about.
He won’t do the same every cycle.so expect the unexpected at the moment.
Preshots are “normally” at 8:45. I like the idea of not testing so much when he is bouncing, but it is really unclear whether something is a bounce or it is just Merlin making his own schedule of how to react to insulin. Sometimes its like he’s reacting the same but on a higher BG level. Or I think its a bounce, and then he drops. I can never assume its a bounce, sadly. I know that no one has a crystal ball. But thank you for your help, Bron.I wish I had a crystal ball and could tell you all the answers but I can’t.
Remember as long as you are testing you are in control.
On the days he is bouncing, you don’t need to test as often, so take that time to get out.
What time are your preshots now?
In theory, that would help. But getting to bed earlier doesnt matter, if the length of the time I have to pay close attention to the cycle at night is the same. Just have to get up earlier and still have the same small amount of sleep. I keep pondering that idea. It would be nice to have some free afternoon time, but, as I am now, I would probably just have to spend a lot of that time catching up on lost sleep.Would it help if you brought the preshots to an earlier time so that you could have the afternoons free if he is in the way up by then, and also get to bed earlier.?
Since we shifted to 10pm last night, and 930am this morning, can we then switch to 9pm tonight and 830 tomorrow morning? Or is that too much shifting? I cant get my head around if you consider the night before when you are shifting 15 minutes either side or half an hour one side.I think trying to get to an earlier preshot time would help.
I used to shoot at 7:7 or 8:8 and I know a lot of people do 6:6
It’s either 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour once a day.Since we shifted to 10pm last night, and 930am this morning, can we then switch to 9pm tonight and 830 tomorrow morning? Or is that too much shifting? I cant get my head around if you consider the night before when you are shifting 15 minutes either side or half an hour one side.
So no need to consider the night before? We can keep 9:00am tomorrow but switch to 830 tomorrow evening, assuming we get a 9:00pm start tonight, even though it was 9:30 start this morning? Each day is separate to consider?It’s either 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour once a day.
I am heading to bed Jill. I hope the rest of the cycle goes wellFinally in blue. Dropped only 54 in an hour. We will see what happens next hour. Not feeding I guess.
Thanks, Bron. Good night.I am heading to bed Jill. I hope the rest of the cycle goes well