? 6/21 King AMPS 80, +1 52, +3 48

Yesterday we made a reduction to 0.1units.. today King had hypoglycemia again
 
Happy to help :)

Btw, in the photo you shared, it looks more like 0.25U than 0.10U - I can't see it too clearly so I could be mistaken. A tiny dose like 0.10U is indeed difficulta to measure.
it's less than 0.25.. the photo is not good but I couldn't focus better
 
Last edited:
What I mean is to turn the plunger and counts how many drops of water come out with both doses. Lines on syringes can be off a lot.
 
I think you can try a drop dose. You hold the plunger all the way in and insert into the insulin pen or vial. Then release the plunger and it will draw up a single drop. When you inject the drop hold the plunger in for about 10 seconds before releasing it.
 
Today's 48 was only the second cycle of the 0.1 unit dose. What you saw today could have been influenced by the depot of the 0.25 unit dose and even possibly the last of the 0.75 unit dose. Larger doses can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. We typically don't take back to back reductions when following TR. Which would mean shooting 0.1 units tonight.
 
I think you can try a drop dose. You hold the plunger all the way in and insert into the insulin pen or vial. Then release the plunger and it will draw up a single drop. When you inject the drop hold the plunger in for about 10 seconds before releasing it.
Ok ty ❤
 
Today's 48 was only the second cycle of the 0.1 unit dose. What you saw today could have been influenced by the depot of the 0.25 unit dose and even possibly the last of the 0.75 unit dose. Larger doses can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. We typically don't take back to back reductions when following TR. Which would mean shooting 0.1 units tonight.

not to try drops yet? to remain 0.1 units;
 
I'd be interested in the results of the drop test Elise mentioned above. Practice with an old syringe by filling it with coloured liquid. Twist the plunger to get a drop out. Keep practising until you can get consistent size drops out. Then load 0.1 units and count the number of drops you get until the syringe is empty.
 
This is food influenced (HC at +11) and not much of a bump at that. I think you can just skip the shot for tonight. Let's see how he does and where he is at AMPS tomorrow to take a call on the dose.
 
This is food influenced (HC at +11) and not much of a bump at that. I think you can just skip the shot for tonight. Let's see how he does and where he is at AMPS tomorrow to take a call on the dose.

when we skip, it can't cause hypoglycemia, right? I hope the skip doesn't affect his condition negatively, but yes I wouldn't want to inject him tonight either because he has no appetite at all
 
when we skip, it can't cause hypoglycemia, right? I hope the skip doesn't affect his condition negatively, but yes I wouldn't want to inject him tonight either because he has no appetite at all
Since Lantus is a depot insulin, the depot could continue to affect the first part of the cycle even after a skipped shot. So do get a test before bed. Can you get a +2?

I will not be around but I'll tag @tiffmaxee and @Angela & Cleo to watch out for you.
 
at 0.1 it is 5 drops
in the drop there is 1 drop :)
That's a large number of drops for a 0.1 unit dose. Either that or you were making really tiny drops. I wonder if you could make a consistently smaller dose in between. If you draw 0.1 units, then squeeze out two drops leaving 3, that would be a dose in the middle.
 
That's a large number of drops for a 0.1 unit dose. Either that or you were making really tiny drops. I wonder if you could make a consistently smaller dose in between. If you draw 0.1 units, then squeeze out two drops leaving 3, that would be a dose in the middle.


My problem is that tonight I skipped because King has low sugar numbers. in the morning dose, I don't know if I should do 0.1 units per drop :-(

if I do 0.1 I will try to make it smaller
 
Back
Top