6/21 Juju AMPS 325 +2 225 +3 261 +4 296 +5 313 +6 350 +7 340 +8 384

Marisol Trejos

Member Since 2022
Greetings to all!

I want to start by saying thank you to all of you for this wonderful website full of amazing information. My Julius aka Juju was able to go into remission the first time (back in April 2023) thanks to your guidance, as I followed closely, and followed the TR method with Lantus and using a CGM (Freestyle Libre 3). However, he recently relapsed, after a WHOLE YEAR! So here I am again, but this time will definitely need of your close guidance. I recently restarted Juju on Lantus again, and have been able to keep a CGM on for a good period of time. I have attached his Sheet, and as you see he will start getting good numbers then have a huge bounce to really high numbers. I wonder what I’m missing, or is he becoming more resistant? Am I being to impatient? Lol since he responded so good the first time and got him into remission in 1 month. I know it’s really hard for him to go back into remission, but would wish I could control his glucose more! At least less than 250! But it has been so difficult and would love to hear from all of you!
 
I can’t access your ss. You need to give us permission.

Sorry you are back. People have have had go into remission 2 and 3 times so fingers and paws crossed. Have you been to the vet to check Juju’s teeth? It’s the number one reason to fall out of remission next to using a steroid sometimes without knowing especially in an ear ointment. How long has he been back on insulin?
 
I can’t access your ss. You need to give us permission.

Sorry you are back. People have have had go into remission 2 and 3 times so fingers and paws crossed. Have you been to the vet to check Juju’s teeth? It’s the number one reason to fall out of remission next to using a steroid sometimes without knowing especially in an ear ointment. How long has he been back on insulin?


Fixed! You can access now. Yes, he went to the vet on May 23, 2024, and they did a full work up! His overall health was good, but now that you mention his teeth, I don’t recall them saying anything negative. Hmm , I will revisit that soon then. And no recent use of medications or any steroids ever. I restarted insulin that same May 23rd.
 
There are some cat on SLGS that go into remission, but it can be harder for them. With a cat coming back out of remission, following TR would be ideal, but it requires feeding an all low carb wet or raw diet. Any chance he'd eat all wet or some freeze dried raw for crunch? This restriction is there for safety as TR is more aggressive and the original study for TR did not include dry.

Following SLGS does mean holding doses for a week, unless they go under 90, in which case you reduce.
 
There are some cat on SLGS that go into remission, but it can be harder for them. With a cat coming back out of remission, following TR would be ideal, but it requires feeding an all low carb wet or raw diet. Any chance he'd eat all wet or some freeze dried raw for crunch? This restriction is there for safety as TR is more aggressive and the original study for TR did not include dry.

Following SLGS does mean holding doses for a week, unless they go under 90, in which case you reduce.

oh ok! Well, he’s such a picky eater, and when I tell you I have spent $1000s on try all kinds, shapes, and forms of pure protein/wet food, I’m not exaggerating :joyful: .. this brat has made me age considerably lol

Interesting about the SLGS, I followed the TR with the YA dry food 1 year ago and that’s when he went into remission :nailbiting: Lol. But of course I’ll follow your advice and hold the dose. He had really weird numbers yesterday. I changed the sensor tonight, and it’s showing BG 150s. I wonder if the Libre 3 is affected when the phone is away from the sensor for 2 long. I’ve noticed this on 2 occasions where I leave for the day, and then when I get back I have ridiculous high numbers (a few reported on his sheet). Because for example his high numbers yesterday didn’t make sense when he got a good period of BG <200s.

thank you so much everyone!! I greatly appreciate all this help. The Vets here have no clue about Feline Diabetes. What you all do here is amazing! :bighug:
 
Back
Top