6/21 Jubalee AMPS 274, 286/+4...STARTING OVER

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Hello again,

So I need advice.
I've decided to start new or fresh with my diabetic kitty Jubalee.

I just can't get her controlled, and it's all my fault.
I don't understand this right regulation protocol thing, no matter how hard I've tried.

Juba probably most likely has glucose toxicity, causing her to be completely unregulated, her diabetes completely out of control, and her to be starving basically all of the time, even after meals.

It's been 2 years, and nothing has changed, except the kind of insulin I'm giving her.

I don't know what to do. I feel like a terrible pet parent, and I don't even have human kids (I would make a terrible mother!) and I can't even take care of my kitties.

Staring from STEP 1 again...I want to try and wrap my head around this whole controlling the glucose numbers ordeal.

Advice on what dose to try next please????
 
Have you ever tried giving her higher carb food? By which I mean something closer to 10% carbs. Some cats do better with slightly higher carbs. Veronica's Babu-chiri was almost as bouncy, or worse even. He got sick at one point and would only eat A/D which is 12%. The extra carbs allowed Veronica to raise the dose and flattened him out. Sorry I don't have his SS in front of me, but you can find it if you search for his OTJ post.

Best of luck. Neko also bounced badly for a many years. I just had to try to keep her at a dose that maximized the safe amount of green. I know how frustrating that can be. Try food manipulation to try to prevent those low dives.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top