6/21 James PMPS 83, +1 91, +2 90, +3 83, +4 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

kateliz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Today:
AMPS 95

Good morning, LL!
Last night was quite the adventure. I guess it's worth it to see all those greens, but boy am I sleep deprived this morning.

Having tested him last night so much, I felt comfortable that his numbers were picking up on his own and I went ahead and shot 1U. It might have been a small 1U because I tried to use my old syringes with 1U increments, and they really just are not as nice as the Monojects I had been using.

I'll grab some numbers early (in between my naps, haha) to make sure we don't need a test-fest on our hands today like we had all night.

Hope everyone has a beautiful first full day of summer!
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95

Yay for the dosecrease! What a beautiful night James had. He earned his reduction so prettily. As to why it is in the middle of the night? I don't know. Basil always did that. He's a very sweet kitty, but I think he secretly enjoyed sleeping while he knew we had to be up.
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95

Great job last night!

We encourage your getting a +1 and a +2 whenever you shoot a low number. (Sorry -- I know you need sleep.)
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95

+1: 112

Hi, Melissa and Lydia! It's funny because James is a big fan of sleep also, so we were both struggling last night! Like I said yesterday, I made him be at the vet all day during his usual sleep time, so he made sure I wasn't going to get mine. Now that we're both a little better rested, we're both feeling better.

Sienne: I got the +1, but slept through the +2 (and went back to sleep without posting the +1). Will add this to my list of tips/tricks as it seems to be happening more frequently!
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +1 112, +3 80

Hi guys .. congrats on the dose reduction! Looks like james has the hang of this whole FD thing! Green is definitely his color .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +1 112, +3 80, +5 64

Devon: Yes, James definitely seems to love the greens. I was expecting a bounce today after last night's low numbers so obviously he showed me who's in charge of this whole situation...

So far today:
+3: 80
+4: 78
+5: 64

You would think James would be feeling good with all these pretty numbers, but instead he's squished himself as far back under my bed as he will go. I think the poor guy is exhausted from a day at the vet plus a long night of pokes. He's so new to the greens, I feel like I need to test frequently to have a good idea of where he's going. On the one hand, I wish his numbers were high so I could give him a break from all the poking and prodding of the last few days, but on the other, I'm glad he's made it to these nice numbers and I want to keep him there!
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +1 112, +3 80, +5 64

Congrats on the dosecrease and getting the pretty blues and greens so quickly! Poor James :sad: Mr. Kink hides under the bed after the vet, too - actually, he hides as soon as we pull out the crate. Haha. Hopefully he'll get to feeling better soon! You're doing GREAT!
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +1 112, +3 80, +5 64

Today's numbers, continued:
+6: 69
+7: 71
+8: 92 (food influenced?)
+9: 76
+10: 87
+11: 81

James is surfing into his PM shot time. :mrgreen: It looks like this will be the lowest PS number I've ever shot, so I might be in for another long night. :roll:

Hope all the kitties (and beans) stayed cool today!
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +12 74 - Shoot or not?

Hi all,

James' bg is at 74 at +12, and it looks like it's been falling slightly since I took his food away after +9. (Though if you consider the uncertainty, it's really the same the whole time).

I hate to lose all this progress by not shooting enough, but these low numbers are making me nervous!
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +12 74 - Shoot or not?

Kate

Let me look at his SS. This isn't a dropping number...it is likely a second dip. Don't feed, ok? BRB.
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +12 74 - Shoot or not?

You have some options. First...do you have PLENTY of test strips, HC food/gravy, karo?

James is surfing and if you shoot on time with the full dose, then you can feed and his numbers will hopefully come up before he onsets.

If you are worried and can afford to stall, then do not feed, test every 20 minutes, and as soon as he starts to rise, shoot. However, he is at a safe number for shooting and we like you to get used to shooting safe numbers that may be lower than what you've shot before. Safe numbers are above 50. If you stall, shoot the full dose as stalling acts like a dose reduction. But you will still need to stay on top of the testing due to the cumulative nature of lantus.

Of course, there is shooting a BCS dose or skipping. But keep in mind that even if you shoot a BCS dose, you still have to monitor because of the shed. ....you would likely not see any effects until later cycles.

Questions?
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +12 74 - Shoot or not?

I have probably 8 cans of HC gravy food left over from our pre-FD days, lots of strips and honey. I could make a simple syrup, if that would be better to have on hand than honey. We went through a long night of testing last night, so I'm all set up to deal with low numbers if they happen.

I'm a little late for his normal dose, so I'll stall the first 20 and see how his numbers move. I"m still getting used to >50 being a safe number, but I'll go ahead and shoot his full dose (since it's still the very beginning of his reduction) and since he surfed so nicely after I shot at 95 this morning.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I'll get a +1 and +2 and will expect to post regularly tonight.
 
Re: 6/21 James AMPS 95, +12 74

You beat me to the punch :lol: :lol: :lol:

I was going to tell you to be sure and get a +1 and +2. And there is nothing to keep you from getting an earlier test (+.5) if that makes you more comfortable but if he's on the rise, you should be fine with the +1 and +2.

I'll be on tonight and will check on you, ok?
 
Re: 6/21 James PMPS 83, +1 91, +2 90

+2: 90

I hope this holds out! I'd love to get a good night of sleep! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/21 James PMPS 83, +1 91, +2 90, +3 83

+3: 83

Definitely going to stay up for a +4, and maybe get one in the middle of the cycle, but I'm getting excited about this dose! :mrgreen:

I usually feed at +4 and +8 (auto feeder). I didn't last night cause I wanted to keep his appetite up while I was considering higher carb food, but is there any reason I should or shouldn't feed tonight?
 
Re: 6/21 James PMPS 83, +1 91, +2 90, +3 83

It's ECID....whatever works best for him. However, feeding after nadir can slow the effects of the insulin.
 
That's good to keep in mind. I do try to give the "higher" low carb foods (5-8%) before nadir and only those <5% after.

+4: 85 :mrgreen:

These have been a great few days of numbers. I'll grab a +7 or so just to be safe tonight and maybe +10 and +11 in case I'm shooting another green number in the morning.


Goodnight everyone, and thank you again Marjorie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top