6/21 Hoot PMPS 229, +4/118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
6/20 Condo

AMPM - 209
+2 - 154
+4 - 112
PMPS - 241 - Didn't see that coming :roll:
+3 - 74
+4 - 53
+5 - 54
+6 - 88

Good Morning LL ~O) Well he did it again :mrgreen: I couldn't have asked for better #'s last night :-D So now I will hold this dose again for a few days to see what happens. I had changed syringes at PMPS lastnight, so maybe that had something to do with it?? I don't know confused_cat It's all good, just amazes me how "EVERYTIME" I go to dosecrease he drops down to great #'s for a day, then slowly starts the creep back up. But if you look at his SS it is gradually coming down :-D :-D But I know with coming out of remission you want to get them down and back in remission as fast and as you safely can. I sure could use some thoughts on this :dizcat So LL, Have a great day and Sugar Babies.....Stay in safe #'s :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191, +2/151, +3/71 Staying at this dose

Looked at the SS. Looked at the Profile.

A couple of questions for you.

Is the profile up to date on what foods you are feeding?

Are the foods different carb percentages?

Maybe track the specific food on the SS in the remarks column?

I ask because my cat Wink is carb sensitive. Even a couple of ounces of the Friskies 8 or 9% foods will spike him 30 points.
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191, +2/151, +3/71 Staying at this dose

Deb & Wink said:
Looked at the SS. Looked at the Profile.

A couple of questions for you.

Is the profile up to date on what foods you are feeding?

Are the foods different carb percentages?

Maybe track the specific food on the SS in the remarks column?

I ask because my cat Wink is carb sensitive. Even a couple of ounces of the Friskies 8 or 9% foods will spike him 30 points.

Hi Deb, No, the Profile is not updated, sorry! I will go in and do it today. But he gets Merrick-Grammys Chx Pot Pie-5.7% in the am and with his shots. Then thru the day he free feeds on EVO-2%. I will start to write down what and when he eats as I can, since he free feeds it's hard to know exactly when and how much he has eaten. Also I have 2 other Civies that eat out of the same bowl, but I'll do what I can. Thanks!!
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191, +2/151, +3/71 Staying at this dose

morning. ~O)
you said you changed syringes....

when I changed, hadn't realized how much a difference the two syringes were and wound up giving an accidental dose decrease which really hindered our progress.
If you have the syringe around, (or can dig it out of the trash) I'd go make a comparison.
You may have just given a slight increase without knowing it.
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191, +2/151, +3/71 Staying at this dose

rhiannon and shadow said:
morning. ~O)
you said you changed syringes....

when I changed, hadn't realized how much a difference the two syringes were and wound up giving an accidental dose decrease which really hindered our progress.
If you have the syringe around, (or can dig it out of the trash) I'd go make a comparison.
You may have just given a slight increase without knowing it.

I know, thats what I'm thinking. I will compare the two. But I think I will stay with the new syringe since it's got him down to better #'s, and just consider it a slight dose increase. But I will still call it .75 since thats how I'm still measuring it on the syringe. Is my thinking ok??
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191+2/151+3/71+5/57+6/65 Staying at this

I think so. The new syringes are what you will be using. You might find out it was a slight increase and it was a good thing. Just footnote in your ss that you changed syringes.


There was about a 1/3 of a unit difference in my two syringes so you can see that was quite the decrease ( and I lost a few weeks of progress trying to get back to the right spot)
That was when I got the calipers.
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191+2/151+3/71+5/57+6/65 Staying at this

Probably the syringes.

But, the food chart from Dr. Lisa Pierson lists the carb content of the Grammy's Pot Pie as 8%.
food chart
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191+2/151+3/71+5/57+6/65 Staying at this

rhiannon and shadow said:
I think so. The new syringes are what you will be using. You might find out it was a slight increase and it was a good thing. Just footnote in your ss that you changed syringes.


There was about a 1/3 of a unit difference in my two syringes so you can see that was quite the decrease ( and I lost a few weeks of progress trying to get back to the right spot)
That was when I got the calipers.

Wow! Thats alot! It sure seems that they should all be the same, that could be very dangerous nailbite_smile I will note about the change of syringe and thanks so much :-D
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191+2/151+3/71+5/57+6/65 Staying at this

What syringes did you change from and to? If you changed to Monojects, the hub holds insulin and I found, in my checking with a micropipettor (which is the most accurate way to check these volumes) that the MJs were consistently about .46u more because of what was in the hub. And the cat can get a varying amount of insulin from the hub from shot to shot. It's impossible to measure, using the calipers, how much insulin is in that hub.

Based on all the research I've done on syringes, I'd agree with Rhiannon and Deb that it's the syringe. but hey.....great numbers!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191+2/151+3/71+5/57+6/65 Staying at this

Deb & Wink said:
Probably the syringes.

But, the food chart from Dr. Lisa Pierson lists the carb content of the Grammy's Pot Pie as 8%.
food chart

Deb, it does say 8%, but I went here Calculating Food Carb %and did the calculation, I got 5.7%. I don't know which one to really go by so I will meet in the middle @ 7%. I don't know if his food has been a factor but I will pay closer attention to it.
 
Re: 6/21 Hoot AMPS 191+2/151+3/71+5/57+6/65 Staying at this

Marje and Gracie said:
What syringes did you change from and to? If you changed to Monojects, the hub holds insulin and I found, in my checking with a micropipettor (which is the most accurate way to check these volumes) that the MJs were consistently about .46u more because of what was in the hub. And the cat can get a varying amount of insulin from the hub from shot to shot. It's impossible to measure, using the calipers, how much insulin is in that hub.

Based on all the research I've done on syringes, I'd agree with Rhiannon and Deb that it's the syringe. but hey.....great numbers!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Marje, I switched from Reli On to BD. I gave him a little bit of a short shot tonight because I knew I wouldn't be home to monitor him. But he's still looking good, and thanks for the info!!
 
Thanks everyone for all your insight! :smile: I learn so much from you all and it is greatly appreciated :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top