6-21 Gizmo AMPS=376; +5=322;+8=326; PMPS=363; +2=360

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Very Active Member
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...11-3-372-6-277-8-5-272-pmps-349-2-319.179507/

PM Cycle:
PMPS = 349
+2 = 319
+5 = 394

AMPS = 376

I was very excited to see the +2 number last night and thought for sure it would be a good night. However, Gizmo had other plans - I feel like I'm on Big Brother (expect the unexpected). Lol

Increased to 4 units last night. Also got 0.3cc syringes. The pharmacy gave me 0.5cc when I got them the first time. No wonder I was having such a hard time measuring the small doses.

On a side note ... does anyone know why my emojis show when I type them, but are gone when I post? Strange!
 
Do you have ketone strips to test his urine? I found the easiest way was to use a plastic ladle to catch the flow and then dip the strip in the ladle. You are clicking on the emoji face drop down at the bottom & selecting one and then it disappears? That is strange.
 
Last edited:
Do you have ketone strips to test his urine? I found the easiest way was to use a plastic ladle to catch the flow and then dip the strip in the ladle. You are clicking on the emoji face drop down at the bottom & selecting one and then it disappears? That is strange.
I do not have ketone strips. Is this something I should be doing? How often?

I was using the emojis from my iPad keyboard. Didn't realize there was a drop down menu. That explains where everyone is getting colored smilies. I wondered about those. :)
 
Yes...you should get urine ketone strips at Walmart or the pharmacy and test daily when his numbers are high and flat like this.

That's funny about the emojis!
 
Yes...you should get urine ketone strips at Walmart or the pharmacy and test daily when his numbers are high and flat like this.

That's funny about the emojis!
Ok. I will get some ketone strips and start testing for that. I hope that isn't why we are seeing the flat pink cycles. Just another thing to worry about. :nailbiting:
 
The more water you can add to his wet food the better, to keep ketones away. Bronx got used to a lot of water, building up gradually and now his wet food looks like soup. I will even add more water when he is halfway through his meals since he licks all the water up first.
 
Ok. I will get some ketone strips and start testing for that. I hope that isn't why we are seeing the flat pink cycles. Just another thing to worry about. :nailbiting:
Ketones don't usually cause high numbers in and of themselves. It can be the other way around though so it's best to get the dose up to the fitting dose per the TR protocol and keep an eye on the ketones.

Food and water always help but you don't want to overfeed....just what he needs to maintain his weight or gain if he needs to.
 
+5 = 322
+8 = 326
PMPS = 363

Getting ketone strips tomorrow. Hopefully will be able to get a test tomorrow.
 
Some folks just hold the strip under the stream, I found using a ladle easier. Just follow the instructions on how many seconds to wait before comparing the color.
 
+2 = 360

Pretty steady so far. We are attempting the first night of +6 feeding with the automatic feeder. We shall see how the night goes. I'll probably grab a mid cycle test because I'm going to be up wondering how the feeders work with both cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top