6/21 - Frodo - Lower dose or leave as is - SS Updated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member Since 2012
For the most part Frodo has been getting .5 units, however I have given him less based on his numbers. But was wondering should I put him on a low dose like .2 regardless and see if I can get him into remission? Not sure how that is suppose to work. Or will he get there on his own by me just doing what I am doing?

He scared me last night, his PMPS was 145 so I gave .5 and had to go to work. He had food in a bowl and timer bowls set to come on while I was gone. When I got home 6.5 hours later, he had only eaten the food out of the bowl, which was only about 1/4 of a 5.5oz can, his BG was 55 and he was making all kinds of noise. I put some freeze dried salmon dust on his food to get him to eat, which he scarfed down, then threw everything up. What a mess that was. He was eating fine this morning, so not sure if he just ate to much to fast or what.. just know that was not a good thing. Its just that the 55 made me really nervous and left me wondering if that was as low as he had been all evening.

Any input on what to do now is greatly apprecaited.

Nancey
 
I do have some U100 needles from when he was on Lantus. So You are thinking just shot .2 and see how he manages from there? I typically don't shot if he is less than 110 or below, does that sound about right?
 
Generally we say 150 -180 is the cut off. 110 might be okay if you are going to be around to monitor. I would be cautious to start; you can always add a "drop" if you need to, but you don't want to start with too much.
 
The reason I have been shooting down to that level is he crys like he is soooo hungry if he is in the higher ranges even though I know he really isn't. He has managed to gain back the weight he lost before he was DX for the second time.

I also have one more question.. I saw on one post where it was said no food 2 -3 hours before testing.. is this true? The reason for asking is I use one of the timer bowls and put in 2 small meals. I have no clue when he eats it all it he eats it. So if he eates some of it an hour before I test is that an issue? Is it going to cause his BG to raise and then I am reacting to blood results that are screwuy
 
In most cats, food will influence readings in the two hours after eating. Not a hard and fast rule, but one we generally consider true. If his pancreas is starting to work again, food could make his numbers go down. If his pancreas is not working, the numbers could be inflated by food. (a good way to test if his pancreas is working). So yes, your number could be influenced by food. Any way to set the feeder so it shuts 2 hours before testing? (I could do that with mine by setting it to turn to an empty spot.)

Have you tried adding water to the food to make it soupy? Sometimes they like the texture, and they think they are getting more to eat....
 
Ha, I think my mom used to do that....all these years I just figured she didnt know how to cook oatmeal:-)
 
The 55 was an awesome number. Sounds like the classic "scarf and barf" to me. He's kept food down since?
Carl
 
Sue.. I bought one of the timers that only does 2 feedings since I am only gone for 8 hours at a time. It just has the pop up lids on it. However I could test it out the theory, I will get my neighbor to come over and take up food 2 hours before I come home and see how he reads. I have come home and he hasn't eaten anything.... at those times his readings are normally in the 130's - 140's. When he eats normal then his numbers are staying below 100 and sometimes in the low 100's. I haven given him any insulin since Wednesday evening. He has been eating his meals and his numbers have been very low 100's. This morning he was at 120 so I did give him a .2 dose using a U100. Will be testing again soon and will see where he is at as his morning test is at 4:30 and he has had breakfast and a small meal since then.

The night he barfed his number was 55 first time I think I have seen that, he did eat his supper but had not eaten the food in his timer bowls.

Carl.... I love seeing the lower numbers also.. but I don't think he has ever been that low before so it kind of startled me. And then after he barfed really did me in for a bit. But he has been keeping everything down since.

Carl sounds like your mom did what the rest of our moms did.. trying to stretch the dollar..
 
It sounds like the pancreas is helping out if he goes down after eating. Then it is not as important that he not eat before testing. If the pancreas gives you a lower umber, that's the number you want to base your shot on (if conversely, he was rising after eating, you'd want to be more carefully because the number would be influenced upwards by the food and you wouldn't be shooting a "true" number.). That sounds confusing as I write it - hope it makes some sense.

Regardless, he is doing well. You probably should practice .1 and then a "drop".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top