6/21 Boris AMPS 197, +2.5 123, +3.5 73, +4 71, +4.5 59 +5 63 +5.5 53

Why would you want to wait? Not only is it better to feed earlier in the cycle (when the insulin action is stronger) than later in the cycle, you also want to flatten the curve with food.
I had split his breakfast and he had two small snacks of epigen 90 5%c. I was more asking if I should feed a MC but at first he didn't drop fast. (didn't add the MC part sorry.)
In 30 min he went from 73 to 71 so I didn't want to mess it up if he was holding. Typically the pattern is he drops fast at +2-3, which was not the case this am. Now he's at 59 @ +4.5 so I'm hoping he's about to come back up. Fed him more LC wet and will see what happens.

So essentially he has eaten every hour since shot time.
 
I had split his breakfast and he had two small snacks of epigen 90 5%c. I was more asking if I should feed a MC but at first he didn't drop fast. (didn't add the MC part sorry.)
In 30 min he went from 73 to 71 so I didn't want to mess it up if he was holding. Typically the pattern is he drops fast at +2-3, which was not the case this am. Now he's at 59 @ +4.5 so I'm hoping he's about to come back up. Fed him more LC wet and will see what happens.

So essentially he has eaten every hour since shot time.
Very good. LC wet will be good for now (we hope.) We will find out. Good job.
 
Very good. LC wet will be good for now (we hope.) We will find out. Good job.
I'm trying. I want him to hold in a range and not force a jump but keep from having the dip. Thankfully, one of my clients and to reschedule for this am so I've been able to be here and monitor. Will check BG again in a few minutes and update.
 
Nice. How many hours after the shot is this? Almost +5? I think you can wait till +5.5, if not +6 to test.
The last test was @ +5. He will appreciate it if I wait a little longer.
At first he was jumping in my lap like he was telling me mom, you need to test me again. After the first few he was like, ok not again.

Now he's on the porch watching the birds and squirrels. I'll wait til 5.5 or 6.
So ecstatic to have a good curve. Hoping he is getting used to the numbers and doesn't bounce from the first big drop from 197 to 123. The greens seemed to stay within good ranges I think.?
 
Would it be possible to cut out the kibble? How much is he getting? It really isn’t supposed to be fed when doing TR. Can you get a higher carb wet food instead and freeze dried treats?
 
Would it be possible to cut out the kibble? How much is he getting? It really isn’t supposed to be fed when doing TR. Can you get a higher carb wet food instead and freeze dried treats?
He gets less than a 1/4 cup a day. Usually it’s like little treats. If I had to count out the pieces it’s probably 4-8 little tiny pieces each snack. I have freeze dried raw but I think that is more MC than LC. Let me look up carbs again on that.

The epigen 90 carbs don’t come from starches or additives. It’s natural from the protein and plant based ingredients. I researched it heavily before using it. A woman who lost her diabetic kitty to other issues donated 2 bags to me.
 
He gets less than a 1/4 cup a day. Usually it’s like little treats. If I had to count out the pieces it’s probably 4-8 little tiny pieces each snack. I have freeze dried raw but I think that is more MC than LC. Let me look up carbs again on that.

The epigen 90 carbs don’t come from starches or additives. It’s natural from the protein and plant based ingredients. I researched it heavily before using it. A woman who lost her diabetic kitty to other issues donated 2 bags to me.

freeze dried comes in at 16%.
 
Which freeze dried do you have? That seems high fir 100% protein.
I have primal. I did have the Turkey, almost out, and had my local family store order another bag, but since I used to get the frozen beef and salmon that’s what they brought in. It’s my free bag, so I hate to ask them to reorder and change out but may have to do it.

as for the epigen 90 dry food there have been a couple of posts on the forum regarding it. Here is a snippet from a post in Aug of 2021 where food was recommended to a new member. Both you and Wendy were on the post. I’ll have to go back and see who recommended it. But this is what they said…
“The only dry foods in Canada low enough in carbs are Dr Elsey's Clean Protein and Wysong Epigen 90.”

The Wysong Epigen 90 is only 5.5%. So no to using it as little snacks?

on another note, with the bounces and extra feedings, kcals are getting over on a regular basis. Do I need to split up his breakfast into 3 feedings every 30 min for now or just play it by the day? I’ve currently been splitting up the first meal into 90% at short time and 10% an hour later, but keep having to give more. Suggestions welcome.

edit… link from post I’m referencing
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-and-learning.252113/
 
As for wet food, just got a case of 48 cans of Weruva chicken frick a zee. It is 2.7%.

in the past trying foods, I didn’t see any improvement until I got carbs under 3%. I can look for another wet food maybe around 5% or maybe higher? It’s been trial and error at this point, but with what I have been feeding the last month or so, it seems to have gotten the best results thus far.
 
I feed my current two Primal as well. One also gets another one not available in Canada. I am fine with Epigen. It’s just that everyone is told to not feed any dry if following TR. See what Wendy suggests. Perhaps we call it custom dosing or just for treats after a poke? I know I’ve been told not to customize TR. If you can find a 5% carb wet food that would be great. I wonder what makes Primal so high. It’s supposed to be mostly animal protein.

I wonder if there’s another freeze dried that is lower in carbs available.
 
I forgot to answer your food question. I would just not give quite as much at preshot and use that part for the mini meals. Max did gain weight and once on its so hard to take off.
 
I feed my current two Primal as well. One also gets another one not available in Canada. I am fine with Epigen. It’s just that everyone is told to not feed any dry if following TR. See what Wendy suggests. Perhaps we call it custom dosing or just for treats after a poke? I know I’ve been told not to customize TR. If you can find a 5% carb wet food that would be great. I wonder what makes Primal so high. It’s supposed to be mostly animal protein.

I wonder if there’s another freeze dried that is lower in carbs available.
I went back to the pet store and they are taking the beef and salmon back and ordering me the turkey freeze dried which is only 6%.
I also bought some different Dave's Healthy wet food with the carb counts: 3.28%, 3.73%, 4.33%, and 5.7%. I've been feeding him 0%-2.7% thus far. Recently stopped the 0%.

The Epigen has mainly been for after shot snacks (2-3 tiny pcs) or to bring him up or when he's been dropping fast I mix it with Karo and he eats it that way. I have had it for a +2 snack of about 6-8 little pieces both cycles to kind of supplement, but I can drop that. I was kind of using it to clean his teeth. lol

With that said, do you think I should start with one of the higher carbs and feed snacks of the 2.7%, or vice versa?
I'm open to changing things, and Boris doesn't ever to seem to have a hard time changing foods and eating new things. I've been blessed there. Let me know your thoughts on what you think I should try first. Or if I should split 1-2 of the percentages among 3 meals. He will hate me at first because he expects a certain amt of food at feeding time, but he'll live.

@Wendy&Neko Tiffmaxee suggested I ask you.
 
Is Stella and Chewy's lower in carb?
I'll check it out. Also depends on how easy it is to get around here. I have a small local pet store that is ordering cases of food for me now. They are actually cheaper than chewy, and will take returns if you animal doesn't like the food or if you accidentally order the wrong thing like I did today. I like supporting local biz as much as possible.
 
I'll check it out. Also depends on how easy it is to get around here. I have a small local pet store that is ordering cases of food for me now. They are actually cheaper than chewy, and will take returns if you animal doesn't like the food or if you accidentally order the wrong thing like I did today. I like supporting local biz as much as possible.
Well it sounds like you already have them getting you the lower Carb Primal.
 
Back
Top