? 6/21/20 blues greens and skipping dosesPMPS 373/AMPS 67...next steps?

Brandi Young

Member Since 2019
Hello,
My cat has been all over the place with numbers. We are SSGS on Lantus and been at 2 units. Diagnosed last Nov 2019. He is nearly 5y old male.
Food: friskies pate 3-4x/day with dry RC glycobalance avialable die to multicat household and unable to switch all.
I’ve been decreasing over last weeks due to drops but then he’s high as expected so we are up and down.
He is also having lower numbers late and unexpected like this morning. Was hangry an hour early at 4am and was 170. Gave him food early and set alarm to recheck, feed and shot at 6am which is an hour late but 2 hrs post food. He was 67. So another meal but no shot. Now at 76 almost 4hrs later.
I have a preshot limit of 200, maybe 175 if I’m home. I recently shot less than 200 and wa sup all night checking and he got to low of 78 which is good but only if I’m around. Should I go to 1.5units?
Incidentally he has a tumor on his neck rested to vaccination on May 26. It is walnut sized and appears to cause him NO problems at this time. It was needle aspirate biopsy on 6/17 but he also didn’t seemed bothered or out of sorts too much from that either.
thanks
Brandi Young

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1_UYRgTviAkEmGkjt5GMeA_07DhRPOBKCPkAFnaUA1AY/edit
 
Under SLGS, anything under (90) earns a reduction. So on 6/16 he should have gotten a decrease with that number in the 70s but it looks like you increased. Looks like he's been asking again for that decrease over the past few days.
I think the numbers are all over the place just because Lantus like consistency and there have been a few different doses and 3 skipped doses over the past week. Once you settle into a new dose, it should help. Kitty is also bouncing from those lower numbers- which is all just part of the process.

200 is a pretty high no shoot number for a cat that isn't a new diabetic. I would think about what number you think you could be comfortable shooting. Maybe 150, and you could stall- not feed and see if the numbers are on the way up...?

Is it possible to get overnight test? Most kitties go lower at night and it looks like that +5/+6 during the day is his low point but I'd be interested to see every now and then what he does at that point overnight.
 
I do get some nighttime ones, especially lately. When he was more stable I wasn’t getting them. That’s how I know he’s been dropping, especially at odd times like later than plus 6. I’m not sure why I didn’t decrease in 6/16 I think my though was to give him a decent dose because he was higher from skipping a dose then go back down on dose next day.
I know I need to shoot lower than 200. I tried that last week and he got down to 78. I guess when I shoot lower and am around to check I can start to see if a dose reduction is needed so I’m able to shoot lower?
Thanks for your reply!
 
Back
Top