6/21/20 +6 426; PMPS 383; +4 510 with ~2 week change diet

Donna Fishman

Member Since 2020
Hello All,

I am new to the group. Azreala is ~16 or 17 years old and she does have pre-existing medical conditions (hyperthyroidism and seizures for the past 3 years). Az was diagnosed on early May when she was fatigued and had issues with moving her back legs.

She was given Lantus since she eats small meals throughout the day. Her glucose curve using the AlphaTrak 2 after 1 week of 1u BID was ok and I was told to adjust her diet. I was able to increase her homecooked meals under vet supervision and decreased her dry food from 4 TBSP to 1.5 TBSP.

It has been 2 weeks since she has been on the new diet with <5% total carbs. I only spot checked her values and they are high. I will be doing another curve this week when I get the Nova Max Plus to compare the two meters. Didn't realize how expensive the alphatrak strips were since I need to do more frequent testing.

Anyway, has anyone noticed their BG values increase when decrease dry food intake? I wasn't sure if it was my meter or what I am doing wrong. The insulin is still clear and there are no particulates, so I am not worried about that.

Sorry it is long winded. This is my first furbaby who I had to give insulin to.


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/19C_qWZjv9hp0ZrBTbQwibaT_6ZmjpPKZQloTtjCERjI/edit?usp=sharing
 
I can’t see your spreadsheet. Did you press share? it’s a bit hard to give an opinion when I can’t see the SS but normally the BGs do go down with the withdrawal of dry food.
But there could be other factors. Let’s see if we can get your SS fixed first.
@Chris & China (GA)ay be able to help with the SS

Without seeing the SS this is only a guess... but it is possible that Azteala is bouncing from some lower numbers she is no longer used to and her body thinks those numbers are too low so she is bouncing.
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) - Thank you for letting me know that I didn't share the SS. It should be fixed now. I appreciate your help. It is hard since I have to find the resources and information online and just feel like I am guessing here.
 
Hi, I can see the SS now, thanks. :)
I see you are using Lantus and the alphatrak meter and doing the SLGS method.

What would help now is if you could set up your signature to tell us about Azreala and the signature will appear at the bottom of all you posts. I’ll put the link at the bottom.

I would make sure you test before every shot to make sure it is safe to give the dose of insulin. And try and get at least 1 test in during every cycle.
I would also do a curve either this cycle or when it’s convenient to see if the dose needs increasing which I think it will. To do the curve, take a BG test every 2 hours for 12 hours.

Here is the link. It has lots of useful information in it and towards the bottom is the link to the signature.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
Back
Top