6/21/14-Zack AMPS 76,+10 88,PMPS 87,+3 62,+4.5 61,+5 65

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/21/14-Zack AMPS 76,+2 68,

Holly

I am not sure why you are waiting to lower the dose?

From your condo last night, you asked if you lower it how long would you have to wait to take it back up? There's no set time. If you lower it and he starts to trend up into blue, you increase. Note "trend" :-D one blue number is just one blue number ;-)
 
Re: 6/21/14-Zack AMPS 76,+2 68,

he *should* be able to hold a dose reduction. If you look at his spreadsheet, on 5/22 he went from 1.5 to 1.25 after getting to a 46.
on 5/26 he went from 1.25 to 1.0 after getting a 49.
on 5/29 he went from 1.0 to 0.75 after getting a 39.
on 5/30 he went from 0.75 to 0.5 after getting a 36.

on the night of 6/6 he got to 38 and earned another 0.25u reduction, so could have gone to 0.25u at that point. Since then, on 6/17 he also got below 50 and that would've earned a 0.25u reduction as well.

what marje is concerned about, is that he is demonstrating that his pancreas is working. He's getting dose reductions and holding the numbers down without trending back up. If you don't take dose reductions as he earns them, the depot in his body will become too great for what he needs. So when he gets low, he may stay low for a really long time - like an entire day, and you may have a difficult time getting him up. We've seen that happen. Scooter's last day on insulin (Feb 19) was a very, very long day. He had 34 tests that day and even 14 hours after his last shot he was at 46 and he'd been carbed for hours prior to that. He'd been on 5.5u and when the dry food disappeared from the house, he no longer needed all that insulin. This is an example of the depot being bigger than the body needs. It's not that they didn't take dose reductions as needed, but does show what can happen when you've got a larger depot dose than what the body needs. The depot and the dose are in relation to each other - when you decrease the dose it takes a few cycles for the depot to reduce completely to match the new dose.

i'd go ahead and go to 0.25u with his next shot. He's looking great and i'm guessing you guys are reluctant to decrease because he is doing so well. you just don't want this to get ahead of you and have it cause a problem. there's no reason to think, based upon his responses so far, that he won't do just fine going to 0.25u and won't continue to hold green numbers.

you must be getting kinda excited! It looks like you've only got days left with this dance . . . :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/21/14-Zack AMPS 76,+2 68,+4 72,+6 79,+10 88,PMPS 87

Just must be thick headed. I read your link Marje and perhaps Julie's query is right. We got excited because he was not on the rollercoaster any more.

Thank you for helping explain, because we would probably stayed here without any prodding.

So if he shoots up into the blues, we increase again, right?

Paul dropped the dose to .25 tonight.

Holly
 
Re: 6/21/14-Zack AMPS 76,+2 68,+4 72,+6 79,+10 88,PMPS 87

it's all good - i can't wait to see what's next for mr zack. he's looking great!
 
Re: 6/21/14-Zack AMPS 76,+2 68,+4 72,+6 79,+10 88,PMPS 87

Keep it up! I see OTJ in zack's future!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top