6/20 Trey PMPS ~227+12~290+1.5~268+4.5 !!!!!!increase or

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17623 WOW don`t know why this is so high this morning We did 30 minutes early They were all starved cat(2)_steam :cry: so I gave in. Trey was 355 @ +11.50 We only gave him 2 units because it is one of those family days.If you say it is ok to increase then I will You are right it is my cat and well I don`t want to hurry up and go slow LOL Kath I want guidence and this is where I will fine it Thanks a bunch ~O) :YMSIGH: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50

Good morning Kath,
I am glad to hear that you agree about being the boss of Trey.

OK on your ss you have 355 and also the subject, but you reply says 255 - I take it you meant to type 355. Just checking!

So, you say you don't know why Trey is so high this morn ... well, for one thing, I don't see any before bed test for last nite. For all you know, Trey could have gone really low last nite or to a number that was uncomfortable for him and he's now bouncing. Or, he could have just stayed high in yellow numbers and now is higher and needs a dose increase.

And that's the thing about testing. If you don't test, you will never know. It's kinda like the lottery cards you can buy for scratch and wins. If you don't scratch, you don't know what is happening on that card. The same goes for testing.

If you look at ss for 6/17, you see that you tested and found Trey got some really nice greens! but look at the next morning and he is back in pink. On that day, you could maybe say that Trey had a little bounce ... he stuck his toe into the water and it was TOO COLD and he ran back up the beach.

But that's ok! The next time he puts his toe in the water, it won't be so bad and he may stick around longer, and he may not run back up the beach so far.

That test just before you go to bed is very important because it will help you understand why Trey has that amps. I think there are 3 tests that are pretty importand and should be done each day: amps, pmps, and before-bed test.

Go easy on changing the shot times too much - remember that too early means it's like an increase in dose and a shot too late is like a decrease in dose.

You can add a note on his ss what time he ate, the time you tested and when he got his shot so that people know if his 355 was due to foods or not.

If you can, see if you can get a mid cycle test done and you will know how Trey is doing on this shot.
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50

OK so should be testing 4 time a day AM,mid,PM,nbefore bed, cycle ok Noted...This morning ate after shot and this time we are sticking to out time no more mistakes 7:30 is our shot time... Gotch really like 7 :00 but we will see is 30 minutes to move back too much maybe 15 minutes each 12 hours??? Hopefully DH will have a job on Tuesday and company will be gone on Thursday back to normal what ever that is. Trey didn`t eat before he got his shot this morning DH in a hurry to go back to bed @-) confused_cat LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50

Sounds like a good plan, Kath.

The thing about testing is this. Certain ones are needed for a variety of reasons.

You already know that those ps tests are mighty important because you need to know where Trey is BEFORE shooting anything. You could test and find out that rascal Trey is at 60! Whoa! What now! Just imagine if you had given him his shot without first testing!

So if the number is low or lower than you like, do NOT feed and post on here to ask for help. Lots of times I have had to wait and then test again in 30min just to see if Oliver is coming up the numbers yet, and let me tell you, Oliver loves his foods so any delay makes Oliver a very pouty boy! I know it's hard but the foods have to wait till you know what you are going to shoot. I have had a few times when we decided OK no shot, and then the foods were given right away.

And that's why those 2 tests are the absolute most important: amps and pmps.

Now, if some people don't or can't test during the day, if you are around, you could see if something is changing with Trey - you have seen the sticky that tells you about the signs of hypo - and for sure you know if Trey is just not being the Trey you know. That's during the day; you are awake and see how he may change in the hours after his shot. If you see him not look too good after 3 or 4 hrs from his shot, you can test and check on him.

But at nite, you are sleeping and can't see a thing. That's why that 3rd test is very important. Just before you head to bed at nite, take one last test for the road. It would make you feel better and allow you to sleep better if you know that Trey's gone down just a bit, like usual, after his pm shot. You won't be wondering as much the next morn if there is high number. Instead of saying you don't know what happened, you will be able to say that you don't know what happened after his +4 test because he was fine then.

And all the other tests are like a bunch of bonus numbers.
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50

You can test and do a "curve" if you want...testing every 2 hours during the day and then alternating hours the following day so you can see what Trey is doing with each hour during a cycle. It is good information so you can see how the food is affecting the numbers.
Have you checked any other kitties' SS? You can click on Shadow's and see how numerous tests can tell a more complete story as to what is happening with the BGs.
I set my alarm and get up during the PM cycle too....the more data you collect, the better the understanding....
It's always good to have data. But before bedtime test is a MUST really....and of course the tests before the two shots is a must also.
Any other tests just show that you are interested & involved :lol: (I am very interested as you can see.....and involved many times during the day! ) Knowledge is Power! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50

~O) :YMSIGH: Trey is back in the blue+5.5 he is 184BG so I am happy ...I should be right will see what happens at +12 later Kath
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50~184+5.5

yes Kath that blue at +5.5 is a good one!

When you look at Trey's ss now, you know that he must have had some yellow in the previous 4 hours, but you just don't know when. All you know is that he was pink at ps and he was at blue just under 6 hours later.
When you look at yesterday's am numbers, you think huh, what happened between the am yellow and the pm yellow? No idea! Trey could have had another nice blue or even maybe some green! But you don't know.

And that's why it's nice to see what is happening in the middle of the cycle.

I hope Trey has a good rest of cycle and has a nice pmps for you!
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50~184+5.5

So we will be on a watch more often see what is going on mmmmm trying to give him some free picks but maybe not good thing to do mmmmm DH thinks we are mean to him but still he does help LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.50~184+5.5

nice blue. :smile: Let's see what your bedtime test tonight is before deciding whether to increase Trey's dose. I think it will be ok, but I don't want to rush in case he is getting good numbers that we're not seeing. He had green a couple of days ago, and there's no reason to believe that he couldn't still be getting there sometimes.
 
Re: 6/20 Trey AMPS 355@+11.5~184+5.5~227+12

Trey is 227 @ +12 so we gave him 2 units see how things go but we may be able to get a +3 shot see what is going on LOL Kath :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12

Hey Kath,
You are doing great! A +3 will be a good time to see how Trey is doing on this shot
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12~290+1.5

confused_cat Tested Trey to see how he was doing PMPS +1.5 and he went from 227 ~ 290BG all he had was 1/4 can tuna should it go up this fast I don`t understand this ...I did give him something to eat 1/4 can FF should I be worried LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12~290+1.5

Question If something came up and needed help right away how do I get in touch with someone ASAP just wondering LOL :mrgreen: :idea:
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12~290+1.5

Hi Kath,
See the below to show you how you may get higher numbers on the first few hours after the shot because Lantus is not fast acting, so it's OK if you see Trey's numbers go up in the first few numbers.
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

As for someone to help, there is usually someone around since there are members from all over the world here.
What sorts of immediate problems were you thinkg?
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12~290+1.5

Just if he got too low and went hypo if I needed some one just wondering thats all I will test before I go to bed and post I thought because we always give FF before insulin shot but this time just gave his tuna treat 1/4 can and thought we made a mistake of doing this Thanks LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12~290+1.5

If Trey tests really low or you are concerned, just put the low number and your question in your subject line and ask for help. Someone will be around to give you a hand.
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12~290+1.5

Oh ok tks I always worry about what I would do how would I handle it LOL just like to be perpared
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS 355@+12~184+5.5~227+12~290+1.5~168+4.75

Ok Trey had his bed time test 268BG @ +4.75 going down. So we are off to bed If anyone thinks I should increase please let me know will check in morning to see. Other wise will wait till I see numbers in mornings may do a .25 unit increase if he is testing 19+ What do you guys think I don`t know ...LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/20 Trey PMPS ~227+12~290+1.5~268+4.5 Help!!!!!!increase or

First, don't yell "Help" in your subject line if the question is for the next day. Write something like, "Dose advice"

I'm not at all clear what your question is. What do you mean by 19+? Do you mean BG levels above 342 or are you talking about time? The convention here is to use the US version of BG numbers, not Canadian/international. Generally, we wait until closer to shot time to make a suggestion about dose since you won't know what your morning number is until you get there. If you can post at least 30 min. before your shot time, someone should be around to help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top