6/20 Pumbaa AMPS/243 +3/254 +6/216 +10/313

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I don't see any way around this...Pumbaa is not liking his dose decrease to a fat 1.75U and I'm going to raise him back up to 2.0U tonight, since tonight's PMPS will be 72 hours after his bounce up to 515. I was really hoping he would settle in nicely at this lower dose and produce some great blue numbers consistently.

2.0U might not be enough, and I may have to go back to a fat 2.0U or even 2.25U, but I want to do this slowly and try and minimize the dives and bounces, if at all possible.

Suze
 
It will take a few days to fill the shed but it is the right move.

And which one of us will be the first to Lev? :-D

When you go talk to the vet what will you say about Lantus?

I've been thinking about what I will say, cause I'm really "on the hook" for it for talking it up armed with all the propaganda.

But at this point I do have to agree with Dr. Hodgkins:

Although one small study has shown that Lantus (glargine) can be used to create remission in new diabetics on low-carb (wet only) cat foods, this

study does not really prove that Lantus is superior to PZI as the method of use of the PZI in the study was not optimal and considering that brand

new diabetics will readily go into remission regardless of the insulin used as long as low-carbohydrate wet foods are fed to these cats. In my

experience with this human insulin, the effects of Lantus in the cat are far more unpredictable than that of PZI, making regulation and remission

more difficult to achieve.
 
BTW Dr. Hodgkins didn't say much about Levemir, I assume she hadn't used it. But the same flawed study had nearly the same remission rates for Levemir. My thought is that a larger proper scientific study would show both of them lower than that.

But almost everyone agrees Levemir is a better choice all other things the same, provided albumin is normal. We'll see and try to have realistic expectations this time. But if you look even the TR so called experts are using Levemir. So there must be some reason for that.

It's gentler, more durable, less risk of hypo, more even dispersion and it's ph neutral so it doesn't sting like Lantus. :smile:
 
Interesting stuff, Chippendale's!

My only problem with the Levemir is if the onset is really about an hour later, which, to me, would also make the nadir later? Which would mean more frequent 1 am & 2 am testing times? Ugh!

I am fortunate in that, if I asked my vet to switch Pumbaa to Levemir, she would just ask why, I could tell her without bringing in tomes of documentation, and I think she would go for it.

I just started my 3rd Lantus pen about a week ago, so I'm not jumping at the bit to spend another couple of hundred dollars on insulin right now. You'll probably be first, and I'll be really interested in hearing how Chip reacts, and if his dives and bounces smooth out!

Suze
 
The onset and nadir may be a bit later but with Lantus (as you can see) there is no set time. The Nadir can be anywhere, shifting around. Even at AMPS and/or PMPS. In looking at Levemir SS's I don't see it shifting around like that, so it might (should) be more predictable. Seems like Levemir might not have quite the same problem of "dumping the shed" so it should be safer for hypo.

I can't afford it either. nailbite_smile

But I have no choice I need to get something since my single pen of Lantus will be running out. I've applied for help from DCIN so we will see how that goes. Last month Venita sent a home test kit with a really fancy Bayer Contour usb glucometer, with lancets and test strips. And she told me to apply for possible continued help with insulin and testing supplies. Even if I could limit test strips to 125/month (5 per day -- fat chance) with all the FF I'm buying, even the 250 pack of relion strips for $70 is still pushing it. Can you believe we are spending this much ongoing on one cat? Not to mention all the chaos and poking and walking around like a zombie, getting little else done. But of course we will do whatever it takes.

Chip won't eat anything but FF right now which is nearly a crisis, but I have to keep him eating for now and figure something else out later.
 
I need to take time to look at some of the Levemir SS, especially those who have switched from Lantus. I would love for Pumbaa to have a more consistent nadir, that is for sure! We do waste a lot of test strips and lancets every day hunting for the shifting nadir.

Yes, it is a huge expense. I hope you get continued assistance. I'm lucky that my cats used to eat Friskies canned (but with gravy, and only a quarter of a can each once a day), but I prefer the more expensive FF Classics because they have (in general) lower carbs than the Friskies. But the Friskies is half the price of the FF, so they get more Friskies now than FF.

I already need to re-order the test strips as I am down to about 75, and I just ordered the 250 on 5/25/12!

For Chip, have you tried mixing some of the FF Classics turkey & giblets with some of the Friskies turkey & giblets? Can you give Chip Friskies due to his other problems?

I don't know where you are located, but I believe you have mentioned that you are going to order your next insulin from Canada, correct? I worry about ordering items, even the test strips, this time of year in Arizona due to the heat. The mail trucks are not air conditioned, and my mail delivery is late in the afternoon, so anything I order is going to sit on the truck all fricking day unless I pay for expedited shipping. *sigh*

My wallet feels the impact that your wallet feels, that is for sure!

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
...For Chip, have you tried mixing some of the FF Classics turkey & giblets with some of the Friskies turkey & giblets? Can you give Chip Friskies due to his other problems?

I don't know where you are located, but I believe you have mentioned that you are going to order your next insulin from Canada, correct? I worry about ordering items, even the test strips, this time of year in Arizona due to the heat. The mail trucks are not air conditioned, and my mail delivery is late in the afternoon, so anything I order is going to sit on the truck all fricking day unless I pay for expedited shipping. *sigh*

My wallet feels the impact that your wallet feels, that is for sure!

Suze
He won't readily eat the FF Classics turkey & giblets, it must have beef or fish so it's mostly the chicken feast classic which still has whitefish, but I figure that's better than too much beef. He doesn't have other problems now, but I worry greatly about ibd, so want to stick as close as I can to meat only poultry. He won't touch Merricks, or any Friskies that I've offered, which was not much.

The delivery of anything sensitive in the heat is always a problem. Wish I could just go to Wal Mart with $250 for Levemir but it's just not in the budget this month or next. And I have to pay for another vet visit for the script. I do worry about insulin delivery from Canada, but it seems to be the only choice for now. I was wiped out last year with huge vet expenses and still haven't caught up. :-x
 
Are there any FF Classics close enough to the Friskies that you could mix some of them to introduce him to the Friskies? You could mix the FF Classic Chicken with Friskies Pate Poultry Platter just to introduce him to the Friskies.

I know people say stay away from fish, but my cats love it, and I give them Friskies Special Diet Ocean Whitefish, which is really low in carbs @3%. They also like the Friskies Pate Salmon.

Have you checked craigslist.org in your area for Levemir? You might be able to find a pen or two for sale, instead of paying for the 5-pack all at once.

Also, for the FF, ask people if they have coupons, and ask your family & friends to watch for coupons in the Sunday coupon supplements. The Walmart by me has the best price at $.50 per can, and if you have a $1.00 off on 20 cans, the price drops to $.45 per can. A penny here, a penny there, it all adds up.

I still haven't caught up from car repairs, vet bills, AC repairs and other repairs around the house. It's a never-ending money pit around here.

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
...Have you checked craigslist.org in your area for Levemir? You might be able to find a pen or two for sale, instead of paying for the 5-pack all at once.

I was hoping we could split a box. ;-)

But we both have a problem with the heat, can't leave the cats long enough to drive over, and with these gas prices anyway, we could have our own box at Wal Mart.

When my air conditioner goes out I'm going to be so screwed. And it's just that age. Even the cats couldn't take it. Chip has a birthday coming up here soon, but I believe it was over 100 almost every day he lived outside until he was weened. So theoretically he could take the heat. But in those temperatures he was a short haired cat.

I bought 120 cans of fancy feast for $.45/each with a coupon. Thought I was set for life. Barely lasted a month. :roll:

I'm worried enough about the quality of FF, but some of the Friskies I opened seemed iffy. May have just been the food coloring. I really need him to start eating Merricks. By the case It's as much as the highest price for FF but it seems to be higher quality.
 
While my cats liked Merrick's Cowboy Cookout, it didn't fill them up. It always seemed like half of the can was missing.

Where are you located, anyway?

My AC died last summer, they couldn't get the part until the next day, and I had to move both cats, Border Collie, litter box, five food and water dishes, food, etc., over to my mom's. That was not pretty as Pumbaa went nuts and was even lashing out at Beck, his pseudo mom. And Beck would NOT go potty at my mom's, even walking her in a grassy area for 30 minutes when it was 110F outside. I had to drive her back to my house and take her out in the back yard, then drive back to my mom's. Sheesh!

Suze
 
just a few comments on some of the statements made in this thread...

Dale 'n' Chip said:
BTW Dr. Hodgkins didn't say much about Levemir, I assume she hadn't used it. But the same flawed study had nearly the same remission rates for Levemir. My thought is that a larger proper scientific study would show both of them lower than that.
there's a little history here that you appear to be unaware of. :-D

that first study had 8 cats on lantus in it. a copy was available on this site somewhere, but i just looked for it and couldn't find it. that doesn't mean it isn't hiding around here somewhere. the results were the basis of the first "Rand" Protocol (not to be confused with the more recent study in which our current TR protocol is based on). the Dr. Hodgkins quote you mentioned above was in reference to that very first study:

Treatment of newly diagnosed diabetic cats with glargine
insulin improves glycaemic control and results in higher
probability of remission than protamine zinc and lente
insulins

RD Marshall BVSc, MACVSc
1,2, JS Rand BSVc, DVSc, DACVIM
1*, JM Morton BVSc, PhD, MACVS 1

1Centre for Companion Animal
Health, School of Veterinary
Science, The University of
Queensland 4072, Australia
2The Cat Clinic, 189 Creek Rd, Mt
Gravatt 4122, Australia

Glycaemic control and remission probabilities were compared in 24 newly
diagnosed diabetic cats treated twice daily with either glargine, protamine zinc
(PZI) or lente insulin and fed a low carbohydrate diet. After day 17, the
probability of remission was substantially higher for cats with lower mean 12 h
blood glucose concentrations on day 17, irrespective of insulin type.
Glargine-treated cats had lower mean 12 h blood glucose concentrations on day
17 than PZI- or lente-treated cats, and all eight glargine-treated cats achieved
remission compared to three PZI- and two lente-treated cats. The probability of
remission was greater for cats treated with glargine than cats treated with PZI or
lente insulin. In newly diagnosed diabetic cats, twice daily treatment with
glargine provides better glycaemic control and higher probability of remission
compared to twice daily treatment with PZI or lente insulin. Good glycaemic
control soon after diagnosis is associated with increased probability of remission
and should be the goal of insulin therapy.
Date accepted: 12 May 2009  2009 ESFM and AAFP. Published by Elsevier Ltd. All rights reserved.


the study was finally accepted for publishing in may 2009 by Elsevier, but the study was done years earlier... typical of most studies. it often takes years before something is published.


i believe what you're calling the "same flawed study" refers to remission rates in a second study involving 55 lantus kitties and 18 levemir kitties. the details of this second study can be found here: STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL.


more on the subject...

J Feline Med Surg. 2009 Aug;11(8):668-82. Epub 2009 Jul 9.
Intensive blood glucose control is safe and effective in diabetic cats using home monitoring and treatment with glargine.
Roomp K, Rand J.
Department of Computational Biology and Applied Algorithmics, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Saarbrücken, Germany.

Abstract

Human diabetic patients routinely self-adjust their insulin dose using a protocol and home monitoring, and perform equally well or outperform physician directed adjustments. The objective of this study was to report the outcome of home monitoring of diabetic cats by owners using a protocol aimed at achieving euglycaemia, using ultra-low carbohydrate diets (< or =10% metabolisable energy) and the insulin analogue glargine for >10 weeks and/or until remission was achieved. Fifty-five cats diagnosed with diabetes mellitus, whose owners joined the online German Diabetes-Katzen Forum, were included. An overall remission rate of 64% was achieved in the cohort. Significantly higher remission rates were observed if good glycaemic control was achieved soon after diagnosis: 84% for cats started on the protocol within 6 months of diagnosis went into remission, and only 35% for cats that began more than 6 months after diagnosis (P<0.001). Only one mild clinical hypoglycaemic episode occurred observed despite tight blood glucose control. In conclusion, intensive blood glucose control is safe and effective in diabetic cats using home monitoring and treatment with glargine.

PMID: 19592286 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]


edited to add lev abstract:

This abstract was presented at the 2009 ACVIM Forum:

ABSTRACT #41

EVALUATION OF DETEMIR IN DIABETIC CATS
MANAGED WITH A PROTOCOL FOR INTENSIVE
BLOOD GLUCOSE CONTROL.

K Roomp1, JS Rand2.
1. Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany. 2. Centre for
Companion Animal Health, Uni of Queensland, Australia.

There are no reported studies of long-term use of detemir in
diabetic cats. The aim of this study was to report outcomes
using detemir and a protocol aimed at intensive blood glucose
control with home monitoring in diabetic cats, and to compare
the results to a previous study using the same protocol with
glargine.

Eighteen cats diagnosed with diabetes mellitus were
included in the study. Cats diagnosed with acromegaly were
excluded. Data were provided by owners who joined the
online German Diabetes-Katzen Forum, and followed an
intensive blood glucose regulation protocol for a minimum of
5 months or until remission was achieved. Detemir was
administered twice daily and a low carbohydrate wet food diet
was fed. The insulin dose was adjusted aiming to achieve
euglycemia (50-100 mg/dL as measured using a portable
blood glucose monitor calibrated for human blood). Owners
performed an average of 5 + 2 blood glucose measurements
per day in the stabilization period, and supplied spreadsheets
recording daily insulin dosages, blood glucose concentration
and clinical information.

Seventeen cats in the cohort were initially treated with
another insulin type (16 with porcine lente insulin) for a
median of 9 weeks, but failed to achieve remission prior to
switching to detemir. Most (15/17) of these cats were fed a
low carbohydrate diet while on the other insulin.

The overall remission rate was 67% (12/18). For cats that
began the protocol within 6 months of diagnosis, the remission
rate was 81% (9/11) and for those that began 6 months after
diagnosis, the remission rate was 42% (3/7). The median time
to remission was 1.7 months after beginning the intensive
protocol (range = 10 days to 5.3 months). Nine cats of 12 cats
(75%) achieving remission remained off insulin, and the
median duration of remission was 12.3 months (range = 6.4
months to 2 years). Three cats (25% of remission cats)
relapsed and required insulin again. Only one of these relapsed
cats achieved a second remission.

Six of 18 cats (33%) in the cohort required insulin
throughout the study to control blood glucose concentrations
and did not achieve remission. The median length of time on
the protocol was 10.3 months (range = 5.4 months to 1.2
years). The majority (83%; 5/6) of long-term diabetics were
considered well regulated with a median blood glucose
concentration of ≤150 mg/dL and 17% (1/6) were moderately
well regulated (median blood glucose ≤200 mg/dL). Clinical
hypoglycemia was rare, with only a single event in one cat
which had mild signs. The median maximum insulin dose
administered to cats in the study was 1.75 IU twice daily.

These results are comparable to those of the glargine study.
No significant differences were identified between outcomes
for glargine and detemir, with the exception of a lower
maximal dose for detemir (p-value = 0.045). The median
maximum glargine dose was 2.5 IU (range = 1.0 to 9.0 IU)
compared with a median detemir dose of 1.75 IU (range = 0.5
to 4.0 IU).
http://www.acvim.org/websites/forum/File/docs/2009ACVIMForumAbstractsFinal.pdf


Dale 'n' Chip said:
But almost everyone agrees Levemir is a better choice all other things the same, provided albumin is normal. We'll see and try to have realistic expectations this time. But if you look even the TR so called experts are using Levemir. So there must be some reason for that.
no, not everyone agrees levemir is a better choice. the "best" insulin is the insulin that works for YOUR cat. over the years, we have seen cats do very, very well on each and every insulin available.

i've never considered myself an "expert" at anything much less insulin, but i can tell you why "i" currently use levemir after starting out with lantus. alex did very, very well on lantus when she was diagnosed in 2006. she went OTJ after 3 months on lantus. if i knew then what i know now, her time on insulin may have been shortened. she stayed OTJ for almost 3 years. a simple case of gingivitis knocked her out of remission in 2009. then and now, we helped/help many, many levemir kitties in what's now called the Lantus TR ISG. i saw a golden opportunity to get some hands-on experience with levemir... so i seized the moment and asked my vet for a script for levemir. had to spell it for him because he never heard of it. i just told him to trust me... and he did. alex spent 8 weeks on levemir before going OTJ a second time. she remained OTJ for approximately 5 months before an episode of severe liver and acute renal disease of unknown origin in 2010. when it was clear she had to go back on insulin, i reached for the levemir because it's what i had in the refrigerator. she remains on levemir to this day. it's easier to refill/renew a prescription than get a new one.

there are others who have switched insulins for a variety of reasons. when caregivers are not seeing the results they desire and are using their insulin of choice properly... no matter which insulin... we often suggest trying another insulin. after all, some kitties do better with one insulin than another.

over the last 6 years i've been a member of the FDMB, i have seen kitties switch from lantus to levemir, from levemir to lantus, from pzi/prozinc to lantus, from pzi/prozinc to levemir, from humulin N to lantus or levemir, and from lantus or levemir to pzi/prozinc. there's no "best" insulin. again, some kitties do better with one insulin than another. fortunately, we have several kinds of insulins to choose from!


Dale 'n' Chip said:
It's gentler, more durable, less risk of hypo, more even dispersion and it's ph neutral so it doesn't sting like Lantus. :smile:
not necessarily so. it depends who you ask. :lol:

when lantus and levemir are handled properly, we've seen caregivers get about the same mileage out of both. members of the german-katzen forum found about the same to be true. personally, i've had some levemir go bad (crystal formation) before my lantus went south and vice versa.

not sure where your "more even dispersion" claim is coming from. please share any documentation you may have. i love learning about the insulins we use... especially when it comes to lantus and levemir.

humans have reported feeling a "sting" after injecting lantus. you have to keep in mind humans inject much larger doses of insulin than what *most* of us inject into our cats... the exception of course being kitties with high dose conditions. when my husband was in the hospital last year, the doctor started out with injecting 10 units. from what i hear, human diabetics may inject upwards of 5 times that amount. while there may be a momentary sting at high doses, after you inject lantus into kitty's subcutaneous tissue, the acidic solution is neutralized by the body to a neutral pH. fwiw, my cat has flinched more times (causing fur shots) when injected with levemir than lantus... and i know she's not the only kitty who this has happened to. frankly, it hasn't seemed to be much of a problem so i've stuck with levemir.

as far as hypos go, i think it's important to note kitties can and some do experience hypoglycemic episodes after receiving any of the insulins available to us. we've seen/heard of symptomatic as well as asymptomatic hypos from every one of the insulins. just a few months ago i was made aware of a levemir kitty who had experienced a symptomatic hypo... "staggering, unable to walk, glassy eyed, and trembling"... on a dose of 0.1 unit! this is why we promote hometesting.

Dale 'n' Chip said:
The onset and nadir may be a bit later but with Lantus (as you can see) there is no set time. The Nadir can be anywhere, shifting around. Even at AMPS and/or PMPS. In looking at Levemir SS's I don't see it shifting around like that, so it might (should) be more predictable. Seems like Levemir might not have quite the same problem of "dumping the shed" so it should be safer for hypo.
there's no set time with levemir nadirs either. nadirs can and do change... whether you're using lantus or levemir. alex has had lev nadirs anywhere from +6 through +12. nadirs change. she's currently going through one such change.

Pumbaa said:
My only problem with the Levemir is if the onset is really about an hour later, which, to me, would also make the nadir later? Which would mean more frequent 1 am & 2 am testing times? Ugh!
ECID is not just a slogan. "when" onset occurs when using lantus or levemir can vary depending on the cat. same thing with nadirs. generally speaking, you'll see action from lev later in the cycle than when using lantus. actually, this seems to be a primary reason why some caregivers of long-term diabetic lantus kitties do not try levemir. their schedules don't allow it.



sorry. somehow this turned into a novel. :mrgreen:
fwiw, just my thoughts..
 
Catching up on post now, but wanted to comment on something that I also asked about onset and nadir with both Lantus and Levemir when I switched Musette over. Both will have shifting nadirs in fact all insulin will because we aren't talking about a drug that has a specific reaction when given at a specific dose. We are talking about a hormone, something that with a fully functioning pancreas the body would be producing itself. But with a diabetic it isn't in most cases that the pancreas completely stops functioning it is that it isn't producing enough of the hormone insulin to keep up with the sugar being produced with the food eaten to sustain homostatis. That is why sometimes a low carb diet will throw a new cat into remission, not because the pancreas suddenly 'healed" but because it can now keep up with the sugar that those carbs are becoming.

So less carbs in, the less insulin it takes to unlock the body cells to absorb and use them. That is also why a diabetic is always a diabetic. Right now even though Maxwell has been in remission for almost 2 years, if I was to put him back on high carb dry food..he would go right back to needing insulin again, his pancreas didn't suddenly kick in or become healed making him a non-diabetic, he is simply now controlled by diet, his diet as been adjusted so that his pancreas can keep up and do it's job. Also anything that effects that balance in his body i.e. infection, steroid use, diet change etc has the possiblity of putting him back on insulin.

That is why some cats can go their entire lives eating high carb dry food and never develop diabetes, and others become diabetic, it is partly genetic as well. Some may have never has a fully functioning pancreas. That is why this is a balancing act, between activity, diet and insulin. I can even (and have) run curves on my civies and watched their BGs rise and lower depending on how active they are, how much and when they last ate, or how stressed they are. I have one here that is the most mellow laid-back guy you will ever meet, we joke about him being our purring throw rug...but let a thunderstorm hit or take him to the vet's office and he will throw nearly diabetic numbers, yet he can wolf down a cup of Purina Cat Chow and never raise more that 20 pts above 40.

It is much more complex than just this food, and this dose of insulin equals this blood glucose range. It doesn't even work that way in a human diabetic which is why they are contantly checking their blood sugars and most are using two types of insulin, one for long range coverage such as Lantus or Levemir, and one short acting one immediately before eating such as NPH or Humalog, and some like my mother also have a 'rescue" insulin like R for those times when for some reason or other her blood sugar spikes. Now my mother has been diabetic for 50 years, she is also 82 years old so if it was as easy as if I use this insulin at this dose at these times all will remain the same and my BGs will stay in this level, she wouldn't still be testing before every shot, before and after every meal, and would not still be running curves on herself to see if her dose needs to be adjusted, but she does because it can all change day to day, week to week and year to year depending on what the rest of her body is doing inside.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Jill, I appreciate your taking the time to type all of that and give us another Levemir user's input.

I wish there were a simple test to see which insulin our cats would do the best on. Just like Dale, and everyone else here, I want what is best for my cat. And I think some of us feel helpless not knowing what the best is, regarding the insulins. So the more we read about the experience of others, and data that you all have supplied, the better our decision making process, at least regarding is it worth the expense and work to switch insulins...especially when ECID and there are no guarantees.

Thank you.

Suze
 
Just a word of caution for anyone who thinks PZI might be some sort of magic bullet...
The pzi insulin that Dr. H used is most likely the old PZI VET that was taken off the market several years ago. It was porcine and bovine insulin. Compounded PZI, available - but not as readily as it has been, is just bovine based. No pig parts. Because it is compounded, you have the issue of the reliability of the lab that makes it. I got mine from VPA, and my understanding is that they no longer make or distribute it. BCP does, but last week my vet told me that she'd had to switch to prozinc because she could not find a good source for pzi that had any currently in stock. Prozinc is not PZI. It is recombinent human insulin. There is no published protocol that I am aware of for Prozinc. The only study I have seen is one that matched old PZI against prozinc to determine if prozinc was a suitable replacement. It was and it was found to have a 2-4 hour longer duration. I have it if you want to read it.
The study Dale mentioned, which I also have, and Jill referred to was lantus, PZI, and NPH, if I remember right. The protocol may have been flawed, but lantus proved better, and that was without following the lantus TR protocol used here. Eight cats took each of the three, and I think six of the L cats, three of the P cats, and zero of the H cats went otj.

One last point. Dale, if you were to choose the pzi, and planned on following Dr. H's protocol (which you can read about on the yourdiabeticcat site), plan on burning up a lot more test strips than you are now, and plan on three or more shots per day. Lantus TR is relaxed compared to the Hodgkins protocol. And one former member of FDMB who was posting here last year was banned from their site for straying from the protocol and asking questions after he'd been doing some reading here.

I used pzi, worked with a 100% remission rate in my house. I'd use it again if I needed to. I know it works for Bob. But it's far from a magic bullet. And it may not work well at all on my next sugarcat...

Carl
 
Pumbaa said:
Jill, I appreciate your taking the time to type all of that and give us another Levemir user's input.

I wish there were a simple test to see which insulin our cats would do the best on. Just like Dale, and everyone else here, I want what is best for my cat. And I think some of us feel helpless not knowing what the best is, regarding the insulins. So the more we read about the experience of others, and data that you all have supplied, the better our decision making process, at least regarding is it worth the expense and work to switch insulins...especially when ECID and there are no guarantees.
((( suze ))), i feel your frustration in your posts. i think libby made some astute observations and offered some sage advice in your 06/09 thread. kitties bounce... until they don't. as much as we want to, we can't go any faster than their bodies allow. i've looked at pumbaa's spreadsheet more than once. i see improvement. imho, it's too soon to throw in the towel and declare lantus a failure.

and i hear ya on the expense, too! i recently told someone i was contemplating going back to lantus because i'd like to get to bed a little earlier at night. however, after i saw this thread... i gotta tell you, switching back to lantus is looking more & more attractive. can you believe it? some caregivers are buying a box of 5 lantus solostar pens off craigslist for $20 and $25 a box!!! that sure beats the $237 i just paid for a box of levemir flexpens. i've looked for levemir on craigslist here. so far i haven't found any levemir. :sad:
 
Mel: Thank you for explaining that both Lantus and Levemir will have shifting nadir's. And for sharing why your mom has gone through so many different types of insulin until she found what worked for her.

You said, "It is much more complex than just this food, and this dose of insulin equals this blood glucose range." But, damnit, I want it to be this simple! I guess my patience pants are defective...they must have been made in China. :lol:

Suze
 
Jill: I get frustrated because I am a fixer-of-problems and a woman of action. And I hate seeing Pumbaa giving high numbers when I can't immediately respond and fix it! My patience pants must be defective because they only work part of the time! *LOL*

When I face a problem, I tend to look at all of the options available, and figure out which is the best course of action for the most long-term fix. In Pumbaa's case, I know I need to be patient but that doesn't stop me from questioning whether Lantus or some other insulin would be the best insulin for him, and researching and gaining knowledge in advance of making a switch. It's not so much declaring Lantus a failure as it is wanting the best for my boy and his body, and knowing that he is totally dependent on me to make informed decisions for him.

Yes, Pumbaa has shown great improvement (until the last few days) on the Lantus, but I got excited about the Levemir when I read that the bounces are gentler, which can be true for some cats, but isn't a guarantee as I have discovered. So now my mindset is, if gentler bounces aren't a guarantee, would it be worth the energy, time and expense to switch Pumbaa from a known to an unknown, and the answer is not right now. Maybe I'll revisit this when I get down to the last Lantus pen, maybe not. But I'll still glom up information in the meantime.

Every time Pumbaa bounces, I remind myself, "They bounce until they don't!" And then I laugh! I'm going to have to tell Libby how much her comment about kitties bouncing makes me laugh, constantly, including when I just typed it. *LOL*

Before I purchased Pumbaa's Lantus Solostar pens at Costco, I first tried Craig's list. The prices weren't as low as what you stated some people found them for, but there were several people selling unused pens. I just tried searching for both Levemir & Detemir, and there were no results in the Phoenix area, either.

Thank you for watching over Pumbaa's SS...and for all of your input!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top