6/20 PMPS 97 to shot or not to shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

aochoa

Member Since 2014
Hi, I was posting on the main forum and then on the relaxed lantus, since I'm trying to follow now the tight protocol decided to post here instead. Bruno has been quite unstable, and don't know how to handle him.

I realize that even his numbers where not so high in the morning, at night numbers always jumped high. I realize that happened when I left dry food (royal Canine diabetic) for him to eat during the day, since I am working during the day, or if I didn't leave food at all. Someone at the forum (Hilary) suggested to freeze some wet food to leave for him to eat during the day (when it unfroze) and he ate!!
Now, PSPM is 97 and don't know if give Lantus or not. His doses is quite small 0.75 (for the last 2 days, before it was 0.5) so giving a token dose seems too small?

Here is his chart>
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... ring#gid=0
 
Hi Ana and welcome to you and Bruno to this forum. Could you wait for 1/2 hour, without feeding Bruno, and test again? It would be good to see if his numbers are coming up or still going down.

Getting rid of dry food can make a huge difference. We had one member who had a kitty snacking on dry food with 5.5units of Levemir and went off insulin in a couple of days once the dry food was removed from the house. It's not usually so dramatic. If Bruno no longer has access to dry food, you might want to lower the dose to .5U again.
 
At 10 pm. that's 2 hours later, and after eating, not much but a little wet diabetic food, he is 121. If I am awake will measure again at midnight. But thinking I should skip Lantus?
 
Unless you can change your shot time to 10:00AM tomorrow morning, or 12 hours later, it's best to skip tonight. Plus you don't have much data about what happens when you shoot low. Good idea to check again before you go to bed. It's best to have a dose that you can shoot twice a day, so maybe try .5U tomorrow if Bruno only has access to wet food from now on.
 
Thanks Wendy, he went too low when he was at the vet's, first 10 days of our chart! But I do not have a lot of data about doses, just know they they also try giving him a pill instead of insulin. He's numbers were bouncing a lot. So I am trying to follow directions from what I read and advises from the Forum. But I am afraid he could go to low, he had insulin directly on his vein but we were at the vets and now we are home.

Will measure before sleeping but I think we will skip to try to follow the schedule as tight as possible.

Thanks!
 
11 pm in Ukraine. He got a 10.0 which means glucose is raising... but he's schedule for morning shot at 8am

Will skip and see his numbers tomorrow morning. Let's cross our fingers they will not be too high.
 
Ana

Welcome to you and Bruno. I'd be happy to help you link Bruno's spreadsheet to your signature block. If you'd like help, please send me a private message by clicking on the "PM" button to the right under Gracie's picture.

We hope you will post here regularly so we can help you and Bruno. Lots of people here willing to help!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top