6/20 Pat's Shadow AMPS=382

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
6/19
AMPS=343 ~.75u Lev
+4=215
+8=58
+9=33
+10=52
+11=102
PMPS=91 ~no shot, no eat
+2=136
+4=294
+8=338
AMPS=382 ~no shot again
+4=397

Yesterday
Shadow has 3 Ps so far today. He licked baby food turkey this morning at breffis. He was in the kitchen looking up at me so he got his Omega 3 and he licked it all up. I was encouraged with that. Two hours later, i offered smore baby food and again he licked a little up on his own. I gave him some Pepcid at about +3 and then syringed a tablespoonful of Royal Canin RE which he accepted and kept down. I have been repeating the tablespoons of the same during the past couple of hours and he is accpeting it and keeping it down.
So, some calls to the vet office and then waiting for them to call back. Bottom line is that she will write the two scripts for $6 each if I want them. She wants blood work so I am waiting to see when I can bring him in for that. Last senior panel was done 2/12/2013.

He seems a little stronger now after having some food in his system so I will bring him by later as soon as they give me a time. I wanted to try the cyproheptadine and the ondansetron that Dyana & Marje wrote about but this vet doesn't use them for some reason. I thought it was strange that she was charging $6 to write out each script. Has anyone ever heard of that before? Maybe she won't charge me for writing them if I go in there for the bloodwork.
Anyway, I am so tired ....my concern for him is wearing me down. I just don't know what to do....
They weighed him while giving him the cerenia shot yesterday...9.7 oz. He was 10.1 on 3/1/13 and on 2/2 he was 10.10 lbs. When he doesn't eat a full portion of food for a day or so he really looses weight...

He has been stretched out in the livingroom all day....never went into the basket in the closet once. (that is where Raja has been all day....) So he is acting okay except he did not help DH with the crossword this morning.....but I guess he was mentall spent like his Mama!
Sending hugs to you all.... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Sending healing vines for poor Shadow. I really wish your vet would have considered ondansetron. It worked wonders each time Tarragon had pancreatitis. I know you are mentally and emotionally exhausted. Thinking of you and sending you all lots of good vibes, hugs and love.
 
Hi Pat, I'm so sorry to hear all this regarding Shadow. Adding more healing vines and prayers. I hope they can see him soon and check his bloodwork, etc. No, I have never heard of a Vet charging $6.00 to write a prescription. Usually my Vet calls in the script to my Pharmacy and I pick it up. I wonder if this would be more convenient for you to have her do it this way. Lots of hugs to you, Pat from Mags and me.
 
The vet is charging $6 per script just to write it or to fill it? $6 to write a script is outrageous. We give ondansetron to Zener, 1 mg BID. We also use cypro for appetite stimulant as needed. The first vet said 1/2 to 1 pill which is 2 to 4 mg. he would be frantic, and not in a good way. Anne found that the dose can be lots less. We now give 1/16 of a pill, as needed, but that has gone up recently. We used to just give a tiny, tiny piece and he would be asking for food in about an hour. You'll have to see what Shadow needs. We give it in a tiny bit of pill pocket.

We also give him Cerenia, 1 mg, three times per week. We started out with the shots but the pills are much easier and cheaper.

Sending tons of vines for Shadow and for you, Pat.
Liz
 
Thanks guys! I went in and had them draw blood. I was not charged the usual for the visit since the vet only saw Shadow in the back as they were drawing blood. she looked in his mouth, etc....and will talk to be about the blood results tomorrow when they come back.
Turns out that if I only went in to pick up the script, they would have charged me the $6 but since I brought him in they didn't charge me that fee. Weird. Anyway, we got the scripts, I printed out coupons and went to Walmart after dropping off Shadow at home. I offered him some Young Again bites and he ate them!

I waited around for the meds to be ready....running in to Petsmart for some Wellness and getting different flavors of FF and Purina One in Walamart. I am exhausted. I got home just in time for their usual test and feeding. DH said that Raja was going out of her mind with worry for over an hour!!! :lol: She thinks he is not capable of feeding them....(since he has never been in charge of that in the past...) She gets so nervous that I have run away and will never be back....

Anyway, Shadow jumped onto the testing towel!!!!!!!! :o
I tested him and put the food down and he ate like a pig! I gave him his shot and he ate more!!!!!
And THIS is just having the meds in my possession.....I have not even given them to him yet!!!

I am ready to go to bed. this is all too much for an old Bean....
I was going to ask you all how much you give them and how often you dose them with the ondansetron and the Cyproheptad.....both say one half tablet (4MG tab) The first for nausea says twice daily as needed for vomiting and the cypro says once every 12 to 24 hours for appetite...
Thanks for the input for Zener and Tarragon....wonder what others have found...I know Dyana uses both too. IOt is odd that my vet doesn't use it. I think I will ask her when i speak with her tomorrow. I am glad that she wrote the prescriptions for me though.
Now I wonder if I need to give either one to him if he seems fine for the next 4 hours and for the +4 snack....guess not. But it is good to have them both on hand.
I had syringe-fed him during the day....I guess I gave him about a tablespoonful at a time over the hours from noon until I went to the vet at 4:30. Not all that much but it was something at least after not really eating too much over the past 24 hours. I was so pleased to see his very enthused eating tonight...it is so weird how he just wanted to eat finally......so happy.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thanks everyone!!! Hugs!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top