Cindywith4cutecats
Member Since 2014
Norman has been in remission SInce January 2014 and his last good BG testing was May 26th and he read BG112. All his BG's tup to that point had always been between 60 to 115 with a few 130s after having had some company. I own 4 cats and all cats at this point had all been on Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblets to prevent any trouble .
My other cat Simon had to be put on liquid claivmox around June 2nd. Norman the diabetic cat HATES clavimox with a passion. SO I mixed the liquid clavimox in Simons food and gave it to him, Simon doesn't sniff his food he just eats . We never dreamed Norman would ever get within 5 foot of liquid Clavimox and boy was I wrong and I hate hate hate myself over this. I busted Norman on Friday June 12th eating some of Simons food with the liquid clavimox. Phone calls made to vet etc to find out and confirm my liquid clavimox is the pediatric based formula so its sweetened and will raise the BG of a diabetic cat through the roof which it has.
I watched and hoped his BG would turn around after a few days of getting the clavimox out of his system NOPE didn't happen, started mixing his food Special Diet Turkey and Giblets with FF CLASSIC ( he won't eat that all the time ) ! As of JUNE 16 Tuesday that evening Norman was switched to Wellness Turkey Formula with the yellow triangle grain free from Dr Lisa's Website. I placed a pic on the facebook page of FDMB and had it confirmed I bought the right cat food. The FDA gave warning to Purina in January over improper packaging and heating of the low acid canned cat /dog food so I had internal questions about his BG as a result of that. As you can tell from his SS he was all over the road with his BG and Sunday evening I freaked out and decided it would be best to him 1/4 unit of LANTUS SOLO STAR PEN ( I had 3 UNOPENED pens left with an expire date of March 2017 , kept in fridge in meat keeper with a thermometer next the the box reading a cool 40 degrees all this time Monday eve I really freaked out and increased to .50 unit. My biggest concern was giving to much insulin and having him go hypo if this clavimox cleared his system on its own and corrected itself on its own....
Not getting anywhere on .50 unit and had aleady schedule an vet appt for him. Took him to his Vet on Wednesday 6/17 who still confirmed he believes its the clavimox he got into cause we don't know how many days he may have gotten him. Norman is boss over Simon and its possible they switched up plates of food.
6/18 thursday I thought OMG GOOD his numbers are trending down that morning and my Lantus must good etc PHEW but that was short lived. That evening husband moved over a little and gave Norman his insulin shot a little different. I was convinced since he shot him in a different spot this was causing his numbers to rise again.
If you look at his SS (which by the way if you click on it and it does not take you to it if you highlight it and copy it and paste in your browser you can go to it....I am unsure how to fix this and beyond frustrated . I have the same numbers and the same trends with the exception of JUNE 18th ......I am confused beyond belief and wound up so tight I can't wrap my head around this. Norman in the past if you look at his SS really didn't give me any trouble at all, he managed to surf pretty fast and learned the dance......This time not so much
SO I sit this morning wondering wth. DO I increase his dose this evening to 1.25 , do I hold another day and see ? DO I get new Lantus Solo Star Pens , I know I stored the other ones correct, I am a lunatic over them. If I look at JUNE 18th in the morning run I look back to see WHY WHY did his numbers start to trend down and then flip back up, I had thought hubby shot wrong that evening and maybe I have lost headway..I know that when you see a change in the numbers you look to the past few days to see what changes made. I don't understand why on June 18th his numbers started trending down only to RISE again. I don't understand !!! Any help would be so apprciated
I need some eyes to look at his SS and see what I am missing, I am new to this although I went through it before it but at that time my Vet put him on to high a dose , we were using Alphatrack meter and then became converts lol and he just went down from there. We had one 3 day experience with new dose wonkiness and that was it..Norman did all the work and he did good then......
We use the Relion Micro Meter to which I went out and bought new batteries , and purchased another meter
My other cat Simon had to be put on liquid claivmox around June 2nd. Norman the diabetic cat HATES clavimox with a passion. SO I mixed the liquid clavimox in Simons food and gave it to him, Simon doesn't sniff his food he just eats . We never dreamed Norman would ever get within 5 foot of liquid Clavimox and boy was I wrong and I hate hate hate myself over this. I busted Norman on Friday June 12th eating some of Simons food with the liquid clavimox. Phone calls made to vet etc to find out and confirm my liquid clavimox is the pediatric based formula so its sweetened and will raise the BG of a diabetic cat through the roof which it has.
I watched and hoped his BG would turn around after a few days of getting the clavimox out of his system NOPE didn't happen, started mixing his food Special Diet Turkey and Giblets with FF CLASSIC ( he won't eat that all the time ) ! As of JUNE 16 Tuesday that evening Norman was switched to Wellness Turkey Formula with the yellow triangle grain free from Dr Lisa's Website. I placed a pic on the facebook page of FDMB and had it confirmed I bought the right cat food. The FDA gave warning to Purina in January over improper packaging and heating of the low acid canned cat /dog food so I had internal questions about his BG as a result of that. As you can tell from his SS he was all over the road with his BG and Sunday evening I freaked out and decided it would be best to him 1/4 unit of LANTUS SOLO STAR PEN ( I had 3 UNOPENED pens left with an expire date of March 2017 , kept in fridge in meat keeper with a thermometer next the the box reading a cool 40 degrees all this time Monday eve I really freaked out and increased to .50 unit. My biggest concern was giving to much insulin and having him go hypo if this clavimox cleared his system on its own and corrected itself on its own....
Not getting anywhere on .50 unit and had aleady schedule an vet appt for him. Took him to his Vet on Wednesday 6/17 who still confirmed he believes its the clavimox he got into cause we don't know how many days he may have gotten him. Norman is boss over Simon and its possible they switched up plates of food.
6/18 thursday I thought OMG GOOD his numbers are trending down that morning and my Lantus must good etc PHEW but that was short lived. That evening husband moved over a little and gave Norman his insulin shot a little different. I was convinced since he shot him in a different spot this was causing his numbers to rise again.
If you look at his SS (which by the way if you click on it and it does not take you to it if you highlight it and copy it and paste in your browser you can go to it....I am unsure how to fix this and beyond frustrated . I have the same numbers and the same trends with the exception of JUNE 18th ......I am confused beyond belief and wound up so tight I can't wrap my head around this. Norman in the past if you look at his SS really didn't give me any trouble at all, he managed to surf pretty fast and learned the dance......This time not so much
SO I sit this morning wondering wth. DO I increase his dose this evening to 1.25 , do I hold another day and see ? DO I get new Lantus Solo Star Pens , I know I stored the other ones correct, I am a lunatic over them. If I look at JUNE 18th in the morning run I look back to see WHY WHY did his numbers start to trend down and then flip back up, I had thought hubby shot wrong that evening and maybe I have lost headway..I know that when you see a change in the numbers you look to the past few days to see what changes made. I don't understand why on June 18th his numbers started trending down only to RISE again. I don't understand !!! Any help would be so apprciated
I need some eyes to look at his SS and see what I am missing, I am new to this although I went through it before it but at that time my Vet put him on to high a dose , we were using Alphatrack meter and then became converts lol and he just went down from there. We had one 3 day experience with new dose wonkiness and that was it..Norman did all the work and he did good then......
We use the Relion Micro Meter to which I went out and bought new batteries , and purchased another meter
