6/20 Nikki AMPS 253; PMPS 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Last Condo

I can't decide whether to keep posting....But I lurk! :lol:

We're having a nice flat cycle although I'd like to see those numbers edge down a bit. Food change is still going well. She loves this food so much she gets it all over her whiskers from shoving her face in the bowl! :-D The transition should be complete by Saturday and then I'll start tweaking her dose. It's nice to see an almost normal curve finally!
 
Ah, I like these numbers MUCH better. :-D I'm tempted to take her up to 1.75 again because she doesn't seem to be getting low, but I don't want to mess around with a dosecrease until I find out when her actual nadir is without the carboholic food. Puttin' on those patience pants.... :? I just worry about how much damage she's had over the last month nailbite_smile
 
Let me tell you a story.

Wink was probably untreated for 6 months or more before his former owners surrendered him to a shelter. He was then unregulated for about 4 additional months at my local shelter. He had severe neuropathy and an awful matted coat with giant nickel sized dandruff flakes, losing huge patches of hair. UTI after UTI, round after round of diarrhea at the shelter, high BG numbers. He was a mess, lying in his own feces.

Brought him home, cleaned him up, brushed out his fur, got him settled and on a better diet, got his shots on a 12/12 schedule and never skipped a shot again and learned to shoot really, really low. I've never regretted an instant.

With all his recovered jumping abilities today, you'd never know how severe the neuropathy was. To look at his beautiful silky shiny long fur, you'd never know how ragged he looked back in January.

Yes, there is probably some hidden damage to his internal organs. But he is one happy, furry, purry, playful kitty now. Sure I still worry about him. Will kidney failure creep in? Has his heart been affected? I'm not going to worry about the damage that has occurred because there is nothing I can do to reverse it. It's not causing any problems currently so I'm just going to love him all I can. cat_pet_icon

Except at 5 AM when he jumps up on the bed, and walks up my thigh to ask when breakfast is. After all, he reasons that if the sun is up his personal cat slave should be up too. ;-)

I guess what I am saying is, you can't change the past so look forward to the future and what you can do to help Nikki. OK?
 
Thanks for sharing your story! :YMHUG: It's always good to hear what others have gone through. I just have to keep reminding myself that I'm doing the best that I can for her. We'll keep on keepin' on! :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top