6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Platelet

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Link to post in Relaxed Lantus: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=73542
Link to post in Tight Regulation: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73544

This identical post is in Relaxed and TR. I would be most grateful for any help thinking this through.

Hi, Everyone now I have some questions if anyone would care to answer:

Here are his test results from today's vet visit -- blood, urine, renal and pancreatitis, and dental.

Max's CBC:
Increased Neutrophils %: Max had 86% while the range is 35-78%
Increased # of Neutrophils: Max had a normal number of neutrophils
Increased Lymphocytes %: Max had 8% while the range is 20-55%
Increased # of Lymphocytes: Max had 0.7 while the range is 1.5 to 7.0
Decreased Eosinophils %: Max had 1% while the range is 2-12%
Platelets: Max had 135 while the range is 150-800.
Blood Glucose was 426 (range is 64-170)

Urine Test:
His urine was Hazy. It should be clear.
His urine glucose was over 1000 while normally there should be NONE.
His Urine RBC was 3-5 while the normal range is 0-1.

His Renal Tests:
Max's BUN was 58. It was 38 in February. Normal is 14-36.
Max's Creatinine level was 2.64. It was 2.04 in February. Normal is 0.6 to 2.4.

Pancreatitis: abnormal

Dental: He was sedated, and his teeth were inspected and cleaned. No digital "x-rays" were taken because he was not under anesthesia. However, the tech saw nothing that the doctor considered serious enough to risk putting Max under to get digital x-rays. They saw nothing that indicates a particular tooth should be removed. We can't be sure without x-rays, and I plan to see how his BG reacts once the antibiotic course is finished. There was a lot of plaque and some infection, gingivitis, but now he is on Clavamox liquid for a couple of weeks.

These are my thoughts:

As for the neutrophils, the infection explains those. The monocytes are not very far below normal. The low platelet count worries me especially coupled with the low lymphocyte number and percentage. The doctor said nothing about these values at all. I'll have to ask him. *****Does anyone have any particular questions I should ask?*****

The renal values are worse, but the dr says that BUN is really just indicative of dehydration and the creatinine is the important number for CRF. It's higher, but not much higher since February's test. I kept Max very well hydrated until this week, and I was worried I was overdoing it - putting strain on his kidneys. I won't worry about that any longer with the creatinine staying in the low range for CRF and the dehydration being worse than I expected.

The pancreatitis test: The dr said I could spend $200 or $250 getting a better test or $400 to have an ultrasound done that would be more bang for my (more) buck. This is because the doctor could look at his entire abdomen and all his organs. He has NO symptoms of pancreatitis - he eats just fine except for when he seems to dislike a flavor of his food and want a different Wellness flavor, and he never throws up except for hairballs. He has thrown up about twice in the last 6 months. He never sits in a loaf acting like he's in pain. It doesn't seem likely that he has pancreatitis. So something else may have produced this abnormal result. IBD could, but I've seen no indications he has that.

His liver: Problems with the liver can cause an abnormal pancreatitis test according to the dr. No liver tests have been done in quite a while. In my lay person logic I was thinking -- the infection probably explains the difficulty regulating his BG. If it does not and there is something wrong with his liver it would explain the abnormal pancreatitis test and the fact that his blood glucose is all over the place.

I'll have to wait until his antibiotic course is through to see if I can regulate his BG. If not, I'll probably have to think hard about spending the money for the ultrasound. ******Does anyone have any comments? Any would be greatly appreciated.******

Thanks,
 
Re: 6/20 Max Tests??? Gingivitis/Low Lymphocytes/Low Platele

Dale, I'm glad Max didn't have to have any teeth pulled, but am glad that they spotted some infection and he's now on antibiotics. I can't comment on the rest of the results, but I'm praying that, after his round of antibiotics, you're going to see much better results in his BG numbers. From my keyboard to God's ear!

Suze
 
Re: 6/20 Max Tests??? Gingivitis/Low Lymphocytes/Low Platele

Thank you, Suze. Your kindness means more than you know. Poor little guy. I had to cut poo out of his fur when we got home, and he still needs to be tested, shot, and given subcues. What a day for him after fasting all night. Bless his heart.

Hope Pumbaa's BG is behaving!
 
Re: 6/20 Max Tests??? Gingivitis/Low Lymphocytes/Low Platele

Poor Max and his traumatic day.

Were you wearing pearls when you cut the poo out? *LMAO* I'm going to tease you about that forever, you know! ;)

You are so welcome for the "kindness". To me, it's just mutual support for each other and our kitties.

Pumbaa has been very flat and high the last few days so I did a slight dose increase tonight from a fat 1.75U to 2.0U. Easy does it. Read something interesting in another thread about giving a tiny drop of honey in the LC food to slow down a dive. I'm going to try that the next time I see Pumbaa heading south too quickly, to hopefully also prevent a huge bounce afterwards. Thought you might be interested in that as well.

Hope you get some time to relax with DH and Emma tonight!

Suze
 
Re: 6/20 Max Tests??? Gingivitis/Low Lymphocytes/Low Platele

What was the phosphorus?

The renal isn't terrible but it's time to be more careful about the food. No FF. The Merricks BG Turkey would be good for him and it may be getting time for a phosphorus binder.

And continue keeping him hydrated. That actually helps the kidneys a lot. Bet he is glad to be home. :smile:
 
Re: 6/20 Max Tests??? Gingivitis/Low Lymphocytes/Low Platele

Suze wrote: "Were you wearing pearls . . ." No, this time it was diamonds! Ha ha. The more disgusting the task the more expensive the jewelry. I was also wearing baby food, breast milk and no make up! Oh, I do hope you get Pumbaa under control soon. I do not want to see you go through what I have.

PapaDale: Guess what? His phosphorus was normal -- 4.3 within the range of 2.4-8.2 and the Calcium/Phosphorus Ratio was 2:2. Protein was normal and so was Calcium, Albumin, Sodium and Potassium, and Globulin. Even his BUN/Creatinine ratio was normal at 22 within a range of 4 to 33.

Chloride was at the uppermost limit -- 127. Hmmm . . . I read that Sodium Chloride is not good for CRF cats, and that's what the Dr has me using for subcues. I mentioned to him that Lactated Ringers Solution was recommended, and that SC stings. He said he'd never heard that.
 
Re: 6/20 Max Tests??? Gingivitis/Low Lymphocytes/Low Platele

Go for the lactated ringers, better electrolytes. Still has salt (part of the electrolytes) but you reduce the sodium in the diet.

Great on the phosphorus don't need the binder now, but still feed the lowest phosphorus food he will eat.
 
Re: 6/20 Max Tests??? Gingivitis/Low Lymphocytes/Low Platele

max&emmasmommie said:
Suze wrote: "Were you wearing pearls . . ." No, this time it was diamonds! Ha ha. The more disgusting the task the more expensive the jewelry. I was also wearing baby food, breast milk and no make up!

*LMAO* I never take out my diamond stud earrings, so I'm always "overdressed" for odious tasks. I like your addition of baby food and breast milk. At least you weren't wearing baby vomit, too! ;)

Oh, you might not want to do that drop of honey trick to slow a dive. The discussion is in this thread.

Suze
 
Re: 6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Plat

Regarding:
Platelets: Max had 135 while the range is 150-800.
Was sample of the blood looked at under a microscope? It is not unusual the platelets in feline blood to clump and thus the cont to be low.
 
Re: 6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Plat

Hi, Larry -- I think the tech did use a microscope to look at the blood, although it's just a guess. This is because there is a note that says "S1 clumping- appears adequate", and now I notice that Giant Platelets are at +2. The +2 is in bold which means that is a higher number than normal, but there is no "normal range" noted for the Giant Platelets category. My research indicates that giant platelets are rare, and it's not normal to have more than a few. It's a mistake made by the body in the manufacture of the platelets, but if there are too many, it can be serious. I'm not going to worry about it right now. His BG was at 137 this morning. So, I am very happy! Hoping we don't bounce to the stars.
 
Re: 6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Plat

max&emmasmommie said:
His BG was at 137 this morning. So, I am very happy! Hoping we don't bounce to the stars.

That is a wonderful number to start the day with, considering all the reds and blacks on his SS lately! Here's hoping that the antibiotics are already kicking in and Max is going to stay low! You go Max! No bouncing, tell your liver you like it down here!

Suze
 
Re: 6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Plat

He didn't bounce to the stars, but he's up to 397 at PMPS. Could be worse.
 
Re: 6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Plat

397 isn't bad at all, considering it could have been in the 400's or 500's!

I'm looking forward to seeing how he did last night, and this morning!

Suze
 
Re: 6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Plat

Hi. I talked to the vet today. He gave me a prescription for Lactated Ringers Solution - LRS.

White Blood Cells: He said he wasn't worried as the infection in his gums explains all the WBC counts.

Urine: I forgot to ask him about the Red Blood Cells in the urine.

Platelets: He said that a machine counts the platelets. If there are too few, a person looks at the blood under the microscope (good call Larry), and if they have clumped together the machine was unable to count them. He said the word "adequate" referred to the number of platelets. (I had assumed it referred to "clumping.") He also said the giant platelets were not a problem; that just happens, and he's not concerned.

Chloride: He said the high Chloride number was due to dehydration. I asked how dehydrated Max was (with a BUN of 58), and he said moderately -- I thought it was probably worse than that. So, that's a relief.

Dosage: Another thing the vet said was that maybe the Lantus is lasting longer than 12 hours, and maybe we could try giving him only one shot per day of 3U. I know from reading other posts that that's not a good idea with Lantus.

Switching Insulin: I agreed with him that switching insulins is not something we want to do if there is any way to make this work. He said he has only one cat on Levemir, and the other vets in the office don't use Lev much either. It's new. They are concerned about the lack of data and research available for its use in cats. I'm not, but I do not want to switch unless I absolutely have to.
 
Re: 6/20 MaxTests:Pancreatitis:abnormal;Low Lymphocytes/Plat

Good job on the script for the ringers. You can shop around and get it much cheaper by the case.

The case goes a lot faster than you might think. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top