6/20 Max PMPS 222+1.75=233+3.5=148+5=81+6.25=62+7=57+7.75=65

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S RECAP:
AMPS 265
1=320
2.75=253
3.25=233
6=177
PMPS 214
1=207
2=159
4=58
4.75=55
5.5=53
6.0=75
7.75=92
Good Morning,
Another late night. I wonder if the mc/hc food I gave him from +4-+5.5 caused him to be high this morning or it is just a normal bounce? If he didn't get the carbs, I think he would have dropped under 50. I don't know how to achieve both goals if that is the problem.

Yesterday"s Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120524

Now I really need some ~O) and hopefully Max will let me go to spin class and I won't talk myself out of it. I am pretty tired.
Have a great end of the work week and a fabulous weekend. I hope Sasha come home today and makes a quick and easy transition to home life. Sending prayers that no further treatment is needed. Vines to all in need.

Update: Bigger bounce again, :roll: I expected one but not so big!!
 
Re: 5/20 Max AMPS 267+1=364

That's one thing that has confused me the most. If you had not caught it he possibly could have gone below 50. I've been confused as to whether we keep testing to see of they come up on their own when they are so close or feed them to get it back up so they don't go below. The latter would not earn a reduction. Can someone explain this?

Enjoy spin class! That's where I need to be going after all this late night snacking :)
 
Re: 5/20 Max AMPS 267+1=364

My question exactly. For now it seems to help the bounce last shorter this way. I think though in your case with things going so well and quickly, once the depo has time to totally drain, I would think you would not want to have to work so hard for deductions. That's just a guess so let's see what the dose experts have to say about it.
 
Re: 5/20 Max AMPS 267+1=364+3.5=225+5=154+6=141

Many cats don't hold reductions well so one way to help the ones who don't hold reductions stay green and in healing numbers (in the hopes that soon Mr. L will get used to them), is to not let them earn a reduction. I would feed the lowest carb food that would get the job done (i.e. bring them up into a surf). Although 40s and 50s are safe, I'm not a fan of surfs in those numbers, especially 40s, because, as Elise said, there is no safety net. So I like to feed the 40s/50s to get Gracie up to a better number to surf at. I don't feed HC food/gravy. I use a 10-12% food and once she comes up, I get back to the LC food.

Once I know she's on the way up, I give her break on the testing.

Max is doing a superb job of clearing his bounces. And you are doing great, Elise, at helping him in his FD dance. I hope you get some rest.

Thanks for the info on Dr. Peterson's blog. I wonder if we should tell him about using calipers? ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 5/20 Max AMPS 267+1=364+3.5=225+5=154+6=141

Hi Marje. Yes, I think Peterson needs to learn about calipers. Finally there is documentation that we are not crazy when we say the syringes aren't accurate. I can't believe it took this long and wonder what he will propose to do about it with lantus which can't be diluted. Maybe if he is informed about calipers that is what he will do. He said that he is going to change how he does things but didn't go into detail. Did you ever bring this up with your vet? I know you have tried to get results from the manufacturers without success.

Max gave me the afternoon off so I went out with a friend to a mall and to see about repairing my favorite watch. I had to pass on dinner though because they are going too early and I wouldn't be back in time for insulin.
 
Re: 5/20 Max PMPS 222+1.75=233+3.5=148+5=81+6.25=62

I was starting to think Max was not spending enough time in green and might not hit it tonight and then he surprised me. He ate a little at +5, food left over from his previous snack so I expected him to possibly go up or stay the same but he went down. Since it dropped later than usual and I'm not feeding him, maybe he will surf a little in the 75-100 range and not come up as high by morning. That's my hope anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top