6/20 Latte AMPS-367, PMPS~573

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS-422
+2.5-464
+4- 400
+6.25-295
AMPS- 367
+1.5-220

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17633
*pm update discusses changes made with pred...gave reduction of dose*

It certainly was nice to swoop Latte in my arms and put her on my lap to test/shoot and give the pred today! :mrgreen: Much better than sitting her on her throne (which can take at least 2-3 minutes for her to physically lay down), stress her out, and pill her. She was able to look out the window from my lap. Even though she wanted down when we were done, I think even she agreed it was a much more gentle way of going through the a.m. process!

So I just tested her +1.5 because she finished 3/4 can food in the first hour after her shot and was drinking like crazy. I had in my head she was at 467 amps and did a 250pt drop in an hour and a half. :shock: Thank goodness I just realized she was 367. Still a huge drop..but not nearly as bad as I was just about to start crying over! ohmygod_smile

confused_cat Can anyone explain to me how MORE insulin is going to HELP this large drops and bounces? Im still trying to understand. I think until I understand Im going to continue hesitating to increase.

So Latte is well settled in on her rug in the bathroom for the day. :roll: Good thing there are books and magazines in there to occupy her time. Maybe I should try and fit a little tv in there as well...she could watch some birdies or something. :lol: Im going to have to go out and get another rug, so I can wash this one. I mean...what would she lay on when its in the washer?!?! :?

I was reading Venita and Ennis' condo yesterday. Venita termed Ennis as being in retirement. I liked that. Its kind of a nice perspective to view our elderly cats. Im going to keep that one in my head when I feel sad that all she wants to do is sleep. I have such a hard time adjusting and accepting that Latte is NOT the same cat she used to be -multiple health issues or not, a big part of it is that she IS O L D!

Certainly her bounce will begin soon, so I am starting to think about all the things I can do OUT of the house today! :mrgreen:

Have a good Sunday,everyone.
 
Re: 6/20 Latte AMPS-367, +1.5-220, +3-109, +3.5-69, +4-66

This is such a nice post. She seems happy, as do you. And what lovely numbers for her today. No doubt the bounce will be there - I go through the same thing with Mannie, to be followed by the inevitable sighs and worries. and we continue to plug along with his care. Enjoy your day today! and yay (!!) on the injectible pred getting there, what a relief that must be.
 
Re: 6/20 Latte AMPS-367, +3-109, +3.5-69, +4-66, +4.25-54

My civvie, George, was 20+ when he went to the Bridge. There were aspects of his behavior that remained kitten-like but he, too, had health issues and was an old guy. It is helpful to remember that just like our parents will look at us as always being their child, we regard our cats as always being a kitten -- even when they are elderly.

I don't have an answer to your question about dose but I'll see if there are some more experienced folks who do.
 
Re: 6/20 Latte AMPS-367, +3-109, +3.5-69, +4-66, +4.25-54

It sounds like Latte is quite content these days. It's amazing how well she's doing when you consider everything she has going on. You rock, Carolyn! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/20 Latte AMPS-367,+4.25-54, +5.25-89

Amps: 367
+1.5- 220 (had finished 3/4 can wellness she was grazing on from shot time)
+3- 109 (finished remaining breakfast and started on new can)
+3.5- 69 (few tbsp babyfood with karo)
+3.75- 69 (few more tbsp babyfood with karo)
+4 - 66 (no food, wait to see if she goes up/down/surfs)
+4.25- 54 (few tbsp babyfood with karo)
+4.5- 70 (no food)
+5- 67 (few tbsp babyfood W/O karo)
+5.25- 89

Its been a busy morning since about 30 min after her shot. Medicines were given in multiple installments rather than all at once. Still need to get fluids, b12, and possibly bupe in her. Not sure if her excessive wobbliness was due to her hurting or quick drop to such low numbers. Will wait that one out a bit.

She was a very good girl through all of this. She ate well...even following me around when she saw me with the baby food in hand a few times. As far as I know she did not once go to her kibble, which will hopefully help as she starts bouncing. She was very anxious during all of this...unable to sit still, drinking lots of water, wobbly, etc. She does not tolerate either the low numbers well, or possibly the big drop to the lower numbers. After the last test I laid with her in the bathroom to tell her what a good job she did, and she seemed more relaxed...purring and looking me in the eyes with almost a thankful look. I told her how glad I was to be home to help her stay safe.

54 is close enough for us. Too close actually. I will shoot the f1.5 through her bounce tonight and then go back down to 1.5 until I either see consistantly high, flat numbers OR someone can explain to me why keeping the dose and/or increasing would be good for her. Im totally open to hearing it, really. I just dont understand how more insulin will even her out in a 100-200 range. Im super confused. It might be best to just keep it at the 1.5 the next week and a half since I will only have one full day off to monitor, in addition to reducing her pred and possibly some of her infection clearing.
 
Re: 6/20 Latte AMPS-367, +4.25-54, +6~141, +8-298

What a day you two are having...well, Shadow did join Latte in the surf too...but still...WOW Latte!!
Hope she doesn't bounce too high from these low numbers....but they do look pretty! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/20 Latte AMPS-367, +4.25-54, +6~141, +8-298

first of all, with numbers in the 50's, I wouldn't want you to increase again yet. Either hold or reduce.

The idea behind keeping the dose higher is that Latte is not getting enough duration from this dose, so she does not have enough oomph left in the later part of the cycle to overcome the bounces. With more juice, she might be able to fight the bounces off a little better. It's "liver training school" causing the bounces, but then she just doesn't have enough juice left to have a shot at holding the numbers down.

Our solution for bouncing in Lantus Land is to hold the dose and just let them bounce, until the bouncing finally stops. It might not feel great, I don't know, but it's a means to an end. There isn't a shortcut through liver training school, unfortunately. Some cats, like Latte, really like to take their time with it. Lucy was a bouncy girl. Gabby is, and J.D.

The caveat is that in order to keep a higher dose, you have to be able to feed the cycle to prevent the lows. With Latte, eating isn't a guarantee, so that makes it harder. It's up to you how you want to balance that. Without enough insulin, though, I really think she'll keep bouncing.
 
Hi Carolyn,
PMPS 573. I guess that's the bounce you expected! Oh well. It came after a pretty nice day for Latte and you. We hope that you both will have a good evening. Are you going to let Latte go to Ney's OTJ party in the desert? Stu will take good care that she eats and will see to it that she gets home safely.
I know that you have a busy week coming up and just want to let you know that we'll be thinking of you and Latte. Try to get enough sleep!!

Hugs,

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top