6/20 KARAMELLE AMPS +11.5 21/38 +12 47 +12.5 77 +1 95 +4 75 +6 211 +10 321 PMPS 332 +2 307

JoM

Very Active Member
Just tested 30 minutes after first tests and its 47. Do I wait to shoot?
 
6/19 KARAMELLE AMPS 200 +4 280 +7 340 +9 333 PMPS 262 +2 244 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Tested twice at AMPS. Fed regular low carb as I know this will bring up the BG. Will test again at shot time, haven't shot yet. Just wondering what dose I should shoot at and how high it needs to be to shoot. She hasnt held reductions well so we were holding the dose unless she drops below 40. Shes only dropped once to 47. That was 3 days ago.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee or anyone else.
I didn’t want to jump on with comments earlier when you needed help. Just want to wish you both a safe day and again tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
She hasnt held reductions well so we were holding the dose unless she drops below 40.
For cats who don't hold reductions well, the rule is 3 drops between 40 and 49 on separate days OR one drop below 40.

Please take the extra off the 1.5 unit dose tonight, and watch her very closely today. The 1.75 unit depot is going to be in play for the next few cycles and it is clearly too much insulin.

How much after your normal shot time was that 77? Normally we'd put things in the spreadsheet as +12 21, + 12.x 38, +12.y 47 and those could all go in the +11 column from last night. In the AMPS you'd write 77@+12.? (whatever it was), so we know there was a delay.
 
For cats who don't hold reductions well, the rule is 3 drops between 40 and 49 on separate days OR one drop below 40.

Please take the extra off the 1.5 unit dose tonight, and watch her very closely today. The 1.75 unit depot is going to be in play for the next few cycles and it is clearly too much insulin.

How much after your normal shot time was that 77? Normally we'd put things in the spreadsheet as +12 21, + 12.x 38, +12.y 47 and those could all go in the +11 column from last night. In the AMPS you'd write 77@+12.? (whatever it was), so we know there was a delay.
Thanks Wendy. Ok, I will lower it to a proper .5 tonight. As far as writing the +'s with the numbers, I'll need to work that out. The 77 was 54 min after the 21 and 51 min after the 38. The 47 was taken 30 mins after the 38. The 95 was about an hour after the 77.
 
@Wendy&Neko I just tried to put it in on +11, because the actual first test that i do every morning is at 11.5. So I tried to put in +11.5 -38 21 and it thinks im putting in a math problem and adds them all together, or I get an error message. I will put it in the comments. Sorry, Im stupid when it comes to spreadsheets.
 
What you have in the Remarks works. For the +11 cell, use a semi colon :;: between the numbers.
 
Wow Jo how scary! I glad you were able to keep her safe through that. Wishing you a safe night tonight! Good luck with the reduction!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Wow Jo how scary! I glad you were able to keep her safe through that. Wishing you a safe night tonight! Good luck with the reduction!
Thanks Deb. I just feel like we are back to square one. So discouraging. 1.5 is too low and 1.75 is too high and in between apparently doesnt work either altho I havent tried that for a long period of time. She was on 1.75 for 23 cycles before it dropped. It seems like shes just filling up some large depot, squirting out a little now and then to bring down the numbers a bit and all of a sudden it just bursts at the seams and blasts out into her system. I lower the dose and the numbers never quite go back down. wash, rinse, repeat. Sorry, venting.
 
Thanks Deb. I just feel like we are back to square one. So discouraging. 1.5 is too low and 1.75 is too high and in between apparently doesnt work either altho I havent tried that for a long period of time. She was on 1.75 for 23 cycles before it dropped. It seems like shes just filling up some large depot, squirting out a little now and then to bring down the numbers a bit and all of a sudden it just bursts at the seams and blasts out into her system. I lower the dose and the numbers never quite go back down. wash, rinse, repeat. Sorry, venting.
Interesting we are doing the same thing between 2.5 and 2.75. We stayed at 2.75 30 days and then he dropped for a reduction. Now 2.5 is too low.. I understand the venting!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top