6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43, +6 69, +10 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

kateliz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

AMPS: 176
+2: 164

Good morning LL,

Little higher numbers than I would have preferred before going into a vet visit that will be sure to send his BG sky high. Speaking of which, James gets to stay at the vet for X-rays until this afternoon. He has a fleshy place in his "pouch" between his back legs that the vet suspects might be a hernia. :sad: See my post in Health here.

Not sure what my options are yet, but I'll go back in at +7 and see what they've found from the X-rays. They're gonna check his glands while he's sedated, which is good because he put up quite a fight when they were trying to check him this morning! What a difference the insulin makes in that respect. Our first visit, he was mad, but mostly hissed and spit and laid around. This time he was a terror yowling and screaming. I'll take improvements where I can get it. :roll:
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - possible hernia

Hi guys .. the blue isn't a bad start to the day, and hopefully the vet visit won't make him sky rocket .. I hope that the dr can figure out what that pouch is, and if it is a hernia, it is an easy fix .. hang in there, I know it probably seems like you are dealing with one thing after another, but it will get better!
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - possible hernia

Thinking of you today Kate and hope your vet visit at +7 gives you the answers you need. James is looking very nice in blue. Hopetully the vet visit didn't stress him out too much. Tarragon freaks at the vet and shoots up 100 - 150 points. Glad they are checking his glands while he is under as well. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - possible hernia

Thanks for the good thoughts, Devon and Melissa. It's definitely a hernia and he has a bowel loop hanging down in it. :sad:

The crazy part? His glands were completely empty. :roll: It just wouldn't be like James if he didn't throw me for a loop. Vet thinks persisting litterbox issues are neuropathy from the diabetes and maybe discomfort from the hernia.

James is happy to be home. Trying to wash the vet smell off as we speak.
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - possible hernia

Oh no, so sorry to hear James has a hernia. I was wondering the same as Devon as to the treatment! Sending James some vines and lots of hugs and scritches.
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - possible hernia

Sending healing vines to James. Are you treating the neuropathy w/ methyl B12?
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - possible hernia

Devon and Ann: Yes, unfortunately he will have to have surgery at some point. Because the bowel loop is down in there, they don't want it to get closed off if the gap that it's protruding through narrows. Also because he's still walking a little stilted, so it's affecting his mobility and it could be causing discomfort which contributes to his litterbox habits.
The vet said it's not an emergency, but I should get it done soon to prevent any of those complications. Unfortunately, money is tight for me right now, but she told me I could probably wait a month and he would be fine.

Ann: Yes, I am giving him 3 mg of Zobaline a day and have been for about a week or so. The vet thought his neuropathy seemed improved and I've noticed that too (especially right after he takes it!)
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - hernia DX

:sad: I'm sorry to hear that .. Are there any foundations out there that might be able to help with cost? It is definitely something worth looking into I guess ...
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - hernia DX

+9: 260

Ah yes, there's the yellow I haven't seen in a while.

Devon, that's a really good idea! I did manage to find a low-cost surgery center within a few hours driving distance, so that might be an option to save some money. I'm striking out on specific charities/foundations, but I'll keep looking, thanks!
 
Re: 6/20 James AMPS 176 Vet visit - hernia DX

Awww....poor James. I'm sorry he needs surgery. At least it's not an emergency! We'll be thinking of you....
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52

Thanks everyone for your kind words.

PMPS: 167
+3: 52

Since I interrupted James' normal sleep time with a vet visit, it looks like he's determined to interrupt my sleep tonight with lots of testing. He's usually pretty flat at night, so I hope he can surf green safely.
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52

At +3, James got a 1/8 can normal LC Friskies
+3.5: 51 (Gave another little bit of LC)
4: 43 (Gave some HC gravy and he went and finished off the LC)
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43

It looks like James got tired of this dose. You'll want to reduce in the morning unless James bounces to the moon. Unless James' numbers are over 300, you can reduce his dose to 1.0u. Otherwise, you can shoot his current dose to help him clear the bounce.
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43

Thanks, Sienne, I was just wondering about dosing.

Is it possible that the low numbers tonight are from James eating less during the day due to his vet visit? He missed his usual +3 and +6 meals (about a half can on Friskies or 1 can FF, 90-100 kcal) but didn't act particularly hungry after he got home (just grumpy, ha!). He's acting hungry now, but I'm trying to hold out on him in case his numbers keep falling tonight.
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43, +4.5 48, +5 55

+4.5: 48
+5: 55

Still giving a little LC normal food drizzled with some of the HC gravy. Maybe I will cut out the HC at +5.5 and see where he goes at +6 since he seems to be trending slightly upwards now.
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43, +4.5 48, +5 55

+5.5: 59

Decided to give a little chunk of LC (regular Friskies) only at +5.5
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43, +4.5 48, +5 55

Glad you are getting him up. We like you to give him LC until he's up in the 60s so you are there. But since you gave him HC, be aware it could wear off and numbers could wobble.
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43, +4.5 48, +5 55

Thanks for the advice, Marje. I'm still new to LL, so the thresholds/protocols are still not entirely natural to me.

He's up to 69 at +6, so I'll quit feeding and hope he starts rising on his own. I'll test him again in an hour or half hour.
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43, +5 55, +6 69, +7 67

+6.5: 70
+7: 67
+7.5: 61

He is really hanging on here in the 60s. Last food was some LC at +5.5 so I gave him a little more at +7.5 in case he was headed the wrong way and because he keeps licking the empty food bowl like he's starving. I usually have the auto feeder give him a small meal at +8, which I cut in half so he doesn't pig out.

Nice to see so many greens, but I'd rather see them during the day. (Are you listening, James?).
 
That was a nice night, James had last night. He seems to be coming up now. Hopefully, he'll be at a place that you will feel comfortable shooting his new dose by +12.
 
Re: 6/20 James PMPS 167, +3 52, +4 43, +5 55, +6 69, +9 72

Full report from the rest of the night:

+8: 66 (got 1/8 can Friskies LC something from auto feeder)
+9: 72
At +9.5, I gave 1/8 can Friskies LC something for last food before AM shot
+10: 82
+11: 98

Finally some progress (without food) on those last two numbers!

What a surf.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top