6/20 charlie pmps 350 +3 165

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

Hi Darin! I'd give Charlie one more shot at this dose, and if you don't see blue numbers by tomorrow morning, i'd increase by 0.25u to 2.25u. In general, you want to re-evaluate a dose every 6 cycles and decide if you should hold it longer or increase the dose. Let's get him out of the high/flat category! :-D

From the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky at the top of this page:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

I was about to ask if that was the next step. I am testing at 3hr time frames. And I will up dose to 2.25 @ tomorrows amps.
 
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

just to clarify, only increase it IF he continues to have numbers in the same range he's in now - the 200's and up. Cats can settle into doses, so if he dips down in the 100's tonight, that might change things. Doesn't look like he's going to do that, but i want to put that out there for you.

I'm just aware that he had a higher dose on Vetsunlin - it took him 4u to get to good numbers after he switched to canned food, so it's likely he may need more than he's getting now again.

Darin, does he have any dental issues that you're aware of? can you see tartar, or does the vet chip it off? does his breath smell bad - not just like cat food, but bad?
 
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

oh - and would you make a comment on his ss about the 6/16 141 that you didn't think was accurate, and also note when you got the new glucometer, please? those kinds of things can be really important when people are looking at his spreadsheet.

have you been testing him for ketones at all?
 
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

I have ketone strips but have not been able to catch him going to the bathroom. Charlie had blood work and urine test on wed, forgot to call for results today. I believe they are open on Saturday.
I will change info on ss.
Might have some good action tonight.
Pmps 350
+3 165, retest 219
 
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

fabulous! i'm glad to see that 165!

That changes things - once blue appears in the spreadsheet, the guidelines suggest giving the dose 10 cycles to see if the cat will settle into it. Sometimes they do. So nix the dose increase tomorrow morning, just stick with this dose.
 
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

Well lookie there!!

The famous Lantus Land threat of a dosecrease seems to be working it's usual magic!

That's also quite a drop in 3 hours, so he may be continuing to drop tonight...it's a good idea for you to plan on getting some other tests in until he's at least past nadir

Don't be surprised or discouraged if in the morning, he's high again...that quick of a drop can cause a bounce, just like going lower than they're used to can. It may not happen, but just don't worry if it does.

A little housekeeping hint....If you'll go back and "edit" that first subject line from today and remove the AMPS numbers and leave just the PMPS numbers, it'll help those people who are scanning the board and watching for problems and things like big drops like Charlies
 
Re: 6/20 charlie amps 446 +3 378

He's going to be pretty unused to blue numbers, so chances are pretty high that he'll bounce from it. If you aren't familiar with bounces, there is a posthere that describes what happens in a cat's body that makes the BGs go high.

by the way, as you get new tests in over the course of the day, you can put them in your subject line.

if you go to your FIRST post in this thread and click to edit, you can edit that subject line and it will show on the main page. That way people will see if your numbers are showing that you need help. Especially when a person is new, they don't necessarily even know they need help! There are many people who keep an eye on that front page.
 
Changed subject to pmps
When I got the 165 on new meter I was like not this again. Then the retest saying 219 I was surprised.
Will do +4 +5 + 6 and +7 if still awake.
 
+4 284 so with the +/- 20 that almost same as the + 3 retest of 219. Is that how I am suppose to look at the +4 compared to the +3?
+5 308
 
I read that link, very understandable. Would there be one on explaining the depot in a similar manor as the bounce was written.
 
Hi Darin!!

Welcome to you and Charlie. We are glad you found us. I'm also glad you found a great vet in CA.

You are doing a great job of testing but I think you can cut back a little for right now and save some strips. I'd always get the PS tests and also a +2. If the +2 is much higher than the PS, he's probably not going to do much in the cycle. If the +2 is the same or less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle. So I'd base my testing on that and hopefully Charlie will read the "book" :lol:

Here is a great sticky which explains the Insulin Depot. Please let us know if you have questions. We are always happy to help.

In general, I wouldn't worry about calculating the meter variance to see if one test is within meter variance of another. Sometimes we look at that...for example, if he's at 100 at +10 and 96 at PMPS and you are worried about whether that is a dropping number, it's not. It's flat. So there are some instances where we think about meter variance but not typically from test to test.

I think you should save some strips tonight and hit the sack. Important to get sleep when you can. Great job :-D
 
most of the time i didn't even consider meter variance. i also didn't compare meters except for one day when i was switching from one brand to another brand of meter. a person could make themselves crazy with that!

I'd just stick with your new meter and go with whatever it says. :-D

it's good to see Charlie moving.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top