Sarah & Charlie-cat
Member Since 2022
Dosing question:
After his ketosis episode, the vet told me to keep increasing Charlie's insulin if his nadir is below 200. I've been trying that but...All I see is bouncing, even when his nadir is only in the low 200s. He has done this before, even when he isn't really dropping into the blues and greens, he will bounce. Twitchy liver.
He had been relatively flat but high. Now he looks like a rubber ball.
What is the best approach keep pushing the higher dose and those 400's will eventually come down? With his ketone history, I am not a huge fan of numbers like that. Or back off?
I still find TR overwhelming, I just can't test that much. We could get a Libre back on him, though I just find them so inaccurate at the high and low ends.
Some other updates
1) Oncologist did not find a mass on ultrasound to do a fine needle aspiration on... so the LCL diagnosis remains ??? But said yep, pancreatitis, which seems to be the only thing everyone is in agreement about.
2) Have called twice to get a referral to the VCA in Omaha to see an internist vet and... crickets. Oncologist wrote in her letter to please get him a referral to an internist.
3) I've demanded Zofran and sub-Q fluids from the vet and got those. She refused to give him pain meds.
4) I am testing ketones (have not tested today), he's been anywhere from 0-0.6 in the morning, and have given him fluids and he comes back down... Saturday he threw up his breakfast but I managed to stay calm and get little bits of his raw food mixed with water in him 1 TBSP at a time in a syringe until I could give his second dose of Zofran, and fluids. His ketones came down and he went back to eating on his own. He's been a little lethargic this afternoon, but eating well and grooming himself.
Previous posts
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-16-charlie-amps-353-dosing-tr-switch.278627/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3078679/
After his ketosis episode, the vet told me to keep increasing Charlie's insulin if his nadir is below 200. I've been trying that but...All I see is bouncing, even when his nadir is only in the low 200s. He has done this before, even when he isn't really dropping into the blues and greens, he will bounce. Twitchy liver.
He had been relatively flat but high. Now he looks like a rubber ball.
What is the best approach keep pushing the higher dose and those 400's will eventually come down? With his ketone history, I am not a huge fan of numbers like that. Or back off?
I still find TR overwhelming, I just can't test that much. We could get a Libre back on him, though I just find them so inaccurate at the high and low ends.
Some other updates
1) Oncologist did not find a mass on ultrasound to do a fine needle aspiration on... so the LCL diagnosis remains ??? But said yep, pancreatitis, which seems to be the only thing everyone is in agreement about.
2) Have called twice to get a referral to the VCA in Omaha to see an internist vet and... crickets. Oncologist wrote in her letter to please get him a referral to an internist.
3) I've demanded Zofran and sub-Q fluids from the vet and got those. She refused to give him pain meds.
4) I am testing ketones (have not tested today), he's been anywhere from 0-0.6 in the morning, and have given him fluids and he comes back down... Saturday he threw up his breakfast but I managed to stay calm and get little bits of his raw food mixed with water in him 1 TBSP at a time in a syringe until I could give his second dose of Zofran, and fluids. His ketones came down and he went back to eating on his own. He's been a little lethargic this afternoon, but eating well and grooming himself.
Previous posts
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-16-charlie-amps-353-dosing-tr-switch.278627/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3078679/