? 6/20/14-Zack PMPS 77,+4 57,+5 62 Marje? question at end

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyolles

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120506

AMPS 97,+2 100,+4 84,+5 71,+11 72,PMPS 77,+2 59,+4 57,+5 62

Much racing through the house last night. Cat fights abounded. Zack is the King of the house. He acts swiftly when enforcing peace. Sometimes it sounds horrible.

This morning he woke me up with a hairball. Then shifted right into begging.

Time for .49 Lantus. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/20/14-Zack AMPS 97,

Gabby yells at Gizmo -- mostly for him to leave her alone -- and it doesn't seem to make a bit of a difference!

I'm impressed that you can measure .01 of a unit.
 
Re: 6/20/14-Zack AMPS 97,+2 100,+4 84,+5 71,+11 72,PMPS 77

Julie,

I cannot measure like that, Paul does the measuring. I have a hard enough time seeing the lines! LOL!

Holly
 
Re: 6/20/14-Zack AMPS 97,+2 100,+4 84,+5 71,+11 72,PMPS 77

Zack is looking great but it does concern me that you reduce his dose by 0.01u. If you need to reduce the dose because he earned a reduction, I would strongly urge you to at least reduce by 0.1u. I really believe that by only reducing 0.01u, you aren't reducing at all.

I don't know if Paul is eyeballing it or using calipers but even with calipers (and I've been using them a very long time), 0.01u is indiscernible. In fact, with calipers, 0.01mm is basically indiscernible. And that's using a 3X LED magnifier and a light underneath. :-D

I think Zack would do fine with a 0.1u reduction.
 
Re: 6/20/14-Zack AMPS 97,+4 84,+5 71,+11 72,PMPS 77,+2 59,

Marje,

Looks like he is heading for a .1 reduction already. he is +59 at +2, thinking he is going below 50 by +4, but we will see.

Holly
 
Re: 6/20/14-Zack AMPS 97,+4 84,+5 71,+11 72,PMPS 77,+2 59,

Just as a refresher, the modified TR protocol states this about taking a reduction:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

I took the liberty of adding the bold :-D Zack is (1) newly dxd, (2) has held his reductions really well, and (3) has not had a reduction since 5/30. He's looking great.

The more I thought about this, the more I really think you should reduce by 0.25u. Here's some additional information on taking Reductions.

Please let me know if you have questions :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/20/14-Zack AMPS 97,+4 84,+5 71,+11 72,PMPS 77,+2 59,

At least he's doing it on a weekend... lol :)
 
_ Marge, should we reduce regardless?

Marje,

It is late and I will talk with Paul in the morning.

You are probably right.

But he only dropped to 75 @ +4. Pending +5.

Holly
 
Re: ? 6/20/14-Zack PMPS 77,+4 57,+5 62 Marje? question at en

I think it's worth a try to go down to .25 Holly

If his numbers start to trend higher, you can then try "fattening" the dose to something between .25 and .5
 
Re: ? 6/20/14-Zack PMPS 77,+4 57,+5 62 Marje? question at en

Holly

Sorry...I had to give Gracie her shot and grab dinner.

Obviously you all hold the syringe but the depot can sneak up on you quickly. A Lantus overdose can last over 16 hours...that's 16 hours of potentially fighting to keep him from a hypo. It isn't worth it. I know exactly how hard it is when you've turned that corner and numbers are looking great and you don't want to lose momentum. But if you reduce and he fails the reduction, you can take him right back up and he will get back on track.

Safety first :-D

eta: you said he was at 75 at +4 but the SS says 54?
 
Re: ? 6/20/14-Zack PMPS 77,+4 57,+5 62 Marje? question at en

Marje,
Good thing we log everything on paper before posting.
yesterday's ss is correct. at +4 he was 54, +5 62.

We did not lower the dose this morning but will this evening.

How long do I wait again to adjust back up if the dose fails?

Holly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top