6/2 Tessa AMPS 296 +2 283 +3 280 +6 249 PMPS 266 +2 212 +3 166 +4 131 +5 121 +6 143

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-1-tessa-amps-300-3-236-6-183-9-251-pmps-300-2-316.290669/

Shot went well again today with no flinching so I think that her flinching yesterday and the day before was due to the location. I will stick with the center of the scruff from now on since that works out great.

Increased to 1.75u today.

Another update on her mouth - I definitely think that the bottom canine is hitting her top lip and that is what is causing the sore on her lip. I was recording her yesterday and happened to catch her yawning. I'll include that video below:


There's a normal speed and then immediately after a slowed down version. You can see how she closes and then opens her mouth again and reorients her mouth.

Apparently this issue is pretty common in cats with canine extractions but they usually learn how to not bite their lip. I'm worried that she isn't going to learn though. I know that bottom canine extractions are very difficult but I am seriously considering the possibility of her getting that tooth removed. She has an appointment with the vet that did the original extractions this Wednesday. I'm going to ask what she thinks we should do.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jess :)
How long since the extraction?
Fistuk had all his teeth extracted besides canine and he adjusted with time. I know that extracting canine is also leading to the collapse of the lips so that's not great either. I wonder if you could give it more time.
Tessa is so beautiful and sweet :kiss::bighug:
 
Work that new dose Tessa! I want blues.

That video does look like her mouth is bothering her. Good job with the video - you should show it to the vet.

I saw the instructions for the dental vet in the spreadsheet. Too bad they are using the really old protocol for diabetics. See the second post in this thread for the most up to date ones: Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures) There is a link to the 2020 Dental Care Guidelines for Cats and Dogs you could send the vet. When Neko had dentals in 2015 her dental vet followed the same guidelines as listed in the 2020 document. Which is why I called the guidelines you were given really old. Make sure you get fasting/shot guidelines from the vet, not the front desk. I always had to ask the front desk to confirm with the vet.
 
Hi Jess :)
How long since the extraction?
Fistuk had all his teeth extracted besides canine and he adjusted with time. I know that extracting canine is also leading to the collapse of the lips so that's not great either. I wonder if you could give it more time.
Tessa is so beautiful and sweet :kiss::bighug:

It's been a little over a month now. I hope that she gets used to it in time but I'm not sure if she will. She doesn't let it keep her from eating but I think she's not feeling her best although she did chase down and kill a small lizard that got in the house today so maybe I'm wrong about that haha.
 
Work that new dose Tessa! I want blues.

That video does look like her mouth is bothering her. Good job with the video - you should show it to the vet.

I saw the instructions for the dental vet in the spreadsheet. Too bad they are using the really old protocol for diabetics. See the second post in this thread for the most up to date ones: Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures) There is a link to the 2020 Dental Care Guidelines for Cats and Dogs you could send the vet. When Neko had dentals in 2015 her dental vet followed the same guidelines as listed in the 2020 document. Which is why I called the guidelines you were given really old. Make sure you get fasting/shot guidelines from the vet, not the front desk. I always had to ask the front desk to confirm with the vet.

I will definitely show it to the vet.

My husband is the one who talked to the vet clinic about the appointment and he said that the front desk person put him on hold to ask the vet about insulin and fasting requirements and that's what they came back with. I might have him pop in on Tuesday (his day off) and ask if there's any leeway since she ended up with a small amount of ketones in her urine the last time she was fasted that long. When she had her extractions at the other clinic they let us feed her up until 3am so 10pm definitely does seem too long.
 
Last edited:
Nice big drop at PM +2! I'm gonna try to stay up to get +3 before bed. Or I can go to bed a bit early and set an alarm to get up around +5 or +6. Any suggestions either way?
 
Good thing I decided to stay up, she's down to 166 already. I tested a second time just in case the test was wrong and the second test was 171. Should I stay up? She's dropping pretty fast. She ate her normal PM +3 meal (half a Fancy Feast pate can) right after I tested her. She was acting a little off beforehand, I was brushing her with her favorite brush and she wasn't purring like normal. I wonder if the fast drop is making her feel bad?
 
@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom

Just tested her at +3.5 and she's at 132. She ate 30 minutes ago. I assume I should stay up and keep testing? Or should I go to bed and get back up at +5 or +6 and test her? She's dropped a lot so far and I'm getting nervous. I know she's still in perfectly safe numbers and has plenty of leeway still but if she continues dropping like this then she could get pretty low.
 
Sorry, I'm only just seeing the tag and these messages. She is still above the normal range of numbers and seems to have slowed down in the last couple of hours :-) I don't think she will go much lower. Could nadir around +6.
 
Sorry, I'm only just seeing the tag and these messages. She is still above the normal range of numbers and seems to have slowed down in the last couple of hours :) I don't think she will go much lower. Could nadir around +6.

No worries! I already called in for tomorrow (took my floating holiday for Memorial Day) so I am going to stay up and get a +6 in about 35 minutes. She will also get fed then. She's definitely hungry, she almost bit my fingertips off when I gave her a treat with her last test haha.
 
No worries! I already called in for tomorrow (took my floating holiday for Memorial Day) so I am going to stay up and get a +6 in about 35 minutes. She will also get fed then. She's definitely hungry, she almost bit my fingertips off when I gave her a treat with her last test haha.
Did she get food after +3 or only low carb treats? In active cycles, you want to feed a tsp of food after every test.
 
Did she get food after +3 or only low carb treats? In active cycles, you want to feed a tsp of food after every test.

Regular meal at +3 and all the other tests have been low carb treats. I didn't realize you were supposed to give food after every test in active cycles that weren't in the greens. Whoops.
 
I didn't realize you were supposed to give food after every test in active cycles that weren't in the greens. Whoops.
Same logic applies. You feed to flatten the curve :-) Although she hasn't dropped after +3, probably due to food. Why not feed at +2 and +4 instead of +3 and +6? You can always feed a smaller snack at +6.
 
Same logic applies. You feed to flatten the curve :) Although she hasn't dropped after +3, probably due to food. Why not feed at +2 and +4 instead of +3 and +6? You can always feed a smaller snack at +6.

I was feeding her at +4 and +8 but decided to try +3 and +6. She gets a little hangry if she goes too long without food lol. I could try a little snack at +6. I'll have to think about it because I need to figure up how to split up her calories if I do that.

Anyway, she tested 143 at PM +6 and she ate her normal +6 meal so it seems unlikely for her to go any lower. I'm going to bed. I feel a little silly that I panicked and stayed up but better safe than sorry and now I know more about how to handle the active cycles. I don't really remember any active overnight cycles like this the first time around but I could be forgetting something.

Have a nice night/day (no idea what time it is where you are lol) Bhooma and thanks for the help! I'll be sure to feed her during the next active cycle. :)
 
You could try feeding a part of her PS meal at +2 and then snacks at +4 and +6. You want to feed more in the first part of the cycle and as little as possible (and lowest carbs) later. Feeding later in the cycle can reduce duration and cause higher preshots.

And it's only a matter of time before you will be comfortable in greens and shooting green! :-)
 
Back
Top