? 6/2 smokey - numbers keep bouncing around

Julie mueller

Member Since 2019
I know he is new on insulin and I see a little improvement just curious on others opinions. Also- I started zoboline today and cut him down to half pate and half gravy bits . Hoping to eventually get him only on pate.
 
I know it seems crazy right now, but it’s really normal for a cat to have some numbers that are all over the place like this at first. I feel like I can already see a trend of Smokey having some more normal curves during the day. (Higher morning - lower middle - higher evening)

The spikes you were seeing during the day earlier in the week could be from the gravy bits that you’re feeding him with his pate. Once you’re all switched over to pate hopefully you’ll see an improvement :)

How has the rest of your week been since you started with Smokey on insulin?
 
I know it seems crazy right now, but it’s really normal for a cat to have some numbers that are all over the place like this at first. I feel like I can already see a trend of Smokey having some more normal curves during the day. (Higher morning - lower middle - higher evening)

The spikes you were seeing during the day earlier in the week could be from the gravy bits that you’re feeding him with his pate. Once you’re all switched over to pate hopefully you’ll see an improvement :)

How has the rest of your week been since you started with Smokey on insulin?


I have all his numbers posted as of now . We are on day 5 of insulin . I'm thinking an increase may be necessary.. I was wondering if I should hold off one more week until I have him on pate only to do the increase ?
 
For SLGS you would hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve and then decide if you should do a dose increase based on the lowest point of the curve.

I’m not at all a dosing expert but I suspect that Smokey will be needing an increase in a couple of days. Since he is new to insulin I would continue with the 0.5u for the next couple days then if his BG stays above 150mg/dL (8.3mmol/L) when you do your next curve then he should get an increase of 0.25u for a total of 0.75u
 
You are doing great, Julie! Keep it up. Like @AmandaE explained, you'll be doing a curve soon which (and correct me if I'm wrong) is testing every 2 hours over a 12 hour period. Or alternatively, every hour over a 12 hour period. If you're really into it, you can even do it over a 24 hour period. (I once did a test every hour for 24 hours haha!)

Post every day but when it's curve day, put it in the title and more eyes and experts will come and help you :)
 
Hi Julie,

You are doing great!

When first starting the Lantus “depot” takes a week before the full dose is active in kitty’s system.

You may have looked at the sticky at top of board, there is a lot of info there about Lantus among other helpful info. Link below.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

Curve info:

Even though you are on SLGS, you are testing very frequently, and if there is enough data, sometimes you may not even need to do a curve before a dose change. When I was looking at an increase I had several very experienced members say I had enough data that basically acted as a mini curve and did not need an actual “curve” done to show the data because it was already there if that makes sense. By testing frequently, you are in essence doing small curves during the week. Experienced members can help you decide if anything more is needed when the time comes for increase.

The purpose of a curve is if there are not enough tests at appropriate times to show what the lowest point (nadir) is in that dose. An example would be if someone is only testing before am and pm shots and one time during day, so 3 tests a day, that would not be enough data. You are testing more often.

A true “curve” is done every few hours over a 12 or 18 hour period, I pulled below info from instructions under SLGS. See below quote, it is checking either every 2 hours or every 3 hours.

“After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.”

Insulin dose in regard to low carb food transition:

As far as the food issue, good you are transitioning and the sugar will go down more on its own once you are fully on low carb only. Not sure about waiting another week on raising starting dose until fully on low carb. Not a bad thought since the reduction in carbs normally goes hand in hand with insulin adjustment. I am tagging a couple of more experienced people to get their thoughts on that if they care to chime in. @Bobbie And Bubba @Bellasmom
 
I actually would increase if it were my cat, since ur transitioning to low carb only, I'm pretty sure the starting dose is 1u if cat is not on LC diet and since ur changing it slowly I would increase to .75 if it were my cat, I'm sure @Bobbie And Bubba will weigh in
I agree the gravy is spiking the BS and that's what I'm buying the increase on, u can ways go back down if it's to much
 
I actually would increase if it were my cat, since ur transitioning to low carb only, I'm pretty sure the starting dose is 1u if cat is not on LC diet and since ur changing it slowly I would increase to .75 if it were my cat, I'm sure @Bobbie And Bubba will weigh in
I agree the gravy is spiking the BS and that's what I'm buying the increase on, u can ways go back down if it's to much
I think that makes sense too and he is a 14 lb kitty, so that helps.
 
Back
Top