6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
AMPS = 190
+3 = 116
+5 = 84
+6 = 84
+7 = 94
+9 = 100
PMPS = 113
+2.5 = 117 Gave sardines
+6 = 87 More sardines given
+7 = 99 Pumbaa was eating his regular canned food, and I am now going to bed for a couple of hours

WAY TO GO, PUMBAA!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, I read up today about dose reductions, as that hasn't been an issue in the past.

Tight regulation protocol only has information about dose reductions when the BGs drop to 40 or 50.

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

In the Start Low, Go Slow approach, it states:

After 1-2 weeks at a given dose, you or your vet should perform a serial blood glucose curve (blood glucose tests every 2 hours, starting at shot time and continuing until the next shot). Follow the cat's normal feeding schedule during the curve. The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):

If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.

If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.

So, if I were doing a combination of the two protocols, I would leave Pumbaa on the 2.25U dose for at least 14 cycles before doing a dose reduction, unless at some point he drops below 50. Is that correct?

Don't worry, I still have my patience pants on, and want Pumbaa to settle into this dose properly before doing anything dramatic. But I'd sure like to prevent having him drop below 50 and have to give him carbs and then see his numbers go up due to the carbs.

Suze
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

The only part of the SLGS protocol is the reduction by .5u if below 90, I still perfer to drop down by .25u when a reduction is earned. Frankly if Pumbaa can keep up with those numbers and not give you a 50 or lower I would stay tight where you are.

But otherwise, yep you got it if you are combining the two protocols.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette (GA), Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Thank you, Mel, for the confirmation.

I totally agree with not doing a .5U reduction. I've seen too many spreadsheets where even a .25U reduction was too much at lower doses. But, since Pumbaa is at 2.25U, I think his first earned reduction will be .25U.

Suze
 
I just shot a PMPS of 113! Questions...

Holy ****! I just shot a PMPS of 113!!!!! (Numbers were on the rise since +7 in the morning cycle.)

The honey and Friskies Whitefish & Sardines in Sauce are already on the counter. I have pure protein ready in the fridge, as in sardines packed in water (no salt), as well as ground, cooked chicken. I have over 200 test strips ready (hopefully I won't use them all tonight *LOL*) and spare batteries in the drawer for my Relion Confirm Micro. And Pumbaa is now sleeping off a big dinner (Friskies Pate - turkey and giblets).

Am I a Nervous Nellie or what? With Pumbaa's history of diving, I need to be nervous. Granted, his dives were from much higher BG numbers, but he's unpredictable, and I have to be prepared.

I am just praying that today he is settling beautifully into his perfect dose, but I'm waiting for that damn shoe to drop at any time.

Whew! Whoever said that this is a marathon and not a sprint didn't mention all of the steep hills that we would be traversing. nailbite_smile

Oh, one thing, Pumbaa was much less active today than he was yesterday and the day before. Today he was a total couch potato. I would have presumed that with these low numbers he would have been even more active than normal. No? It's a lot for his body to get used to, that is for sure! And how do I know when his pancreas starts kicking in as opposed to his just responding to the insulin dosage?

Suze
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Pumbaa did NOT want to be tested any more today, even though I wanted a +2 reading this pm. It took me half an hour to chase him down, where he first hid in the litter box, then bolted under the California King bed. It took me, with a flashlight to try to entice him to play, and a cane to try and pry him out of his hiding spot, plus the wonderful, herding Border Collie, Beck, who finally trapped Pumbaa next to my night stand. Kudo's to Beck! What a wonderful girl she is!

On the plus side, it's good to see Pumbaa so feisty and energetic tonight! On the negative side, it was so much easier to grab him for testing when he was in couch potato mode today. *LOL*

Never a dull a moment, eh?

Suze
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

This is great! You are really getting some results. Hope all goes well tonight.
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Thank you, Dale. Getting great results, but just not getting sleep. *LOL* I never thought I would pray for a bounce, but I am, for tomorrow night!

Suze
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Suze,

Remember Pumbaa is still a cat...lol Somedays all cats are highly active, and somedays they are all couch potatoes, that doesn't change just because they become extra sweet.

And sometimes you have to take care of yourself so you can take care of Pumbaa. That took me awhile to figure out how to test enough to keep them safe as well as keep myself sane. Rather than always trying for a nadir test at night I have learned that I can usually get a lights out test and still get the sleep I need to function. Most of the time my lights out test is about +4 that gives me plenty of data on if I'm going to need to be staying up or getting up to check at night or if I can go to bed and sleep soundly.

The same goes for going out during the evenings, I test before I leave, and when I walk in the door. Like this coming Saturday DH has a very big show that his band is putting on for the FACES charity. But it means that we have to leave the house at 3pm and won't be back until sometime around 3am the next morning. So this week I will be adjusting Autumn's shot time to allow me to shoot before I leave, I will leave frozen food down for everyone to munch on while I'm gone, and then the minute I hit the door again in the morning I will test and get ready to shoot again. I'm also planning on shaving Autumn's dose a little since I won't be here to test her often and woud rather she run a little high while I'm away.

Because not only are they still cats, we still have lives that aren't centered around our extra sweet kitties, it has to be a balancing act to keep them safe and allows us to function in our own world as well. Next week I'm going to be going back to work as well, so again the schedule of the cats has to change to fit with the routine of the household. Sure they may not love the new feeding schedules and I may miss a little sleep to make everything work at first but we will all adjust.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Mel, I'm new around here. Been lurking for a little while. Trying like crazy, but booboo #'s just stink. Going out of town next week and leaving hubby in charge. He won't be able to test often. Have to teach him how this week. I see that you are going to adjust the shoot time for your kitty. I'm going to need to do the same. I just need to back up his a couple of hours. Should I do it slowly, or can we just move the time quickly? :?:
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Beth & BooBoo said:
Mel, I'm new around here. Been lurking for a little while. Trying like crazy, but booboo #'s just stink. Going out of town next week and leaving hubby in charge. He won't be able to test often. Have to teach him how this week. I see that you are going to adjust the shoot time for your kitty. I'm going to need to do the same. I just need to back up his a couple of hours. Should I do it slowly, or can we just move the time quickly? :?:

Hi Beth,
You would be better to start a new post for your question as it's going to get lost here inside Pumbaa's post.

Just start a post and call it 'need help to change shot times'

That Subject will catch the eyes of many people and you will get several suggestions/ options and be able to pick the one which suits you the best.
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Hey Suze!

What a beautiful day yesterday eh? Loving it!!!! Looks like this is the dose for him :) and it looks great! I did a mixture of both protocols as well. I, personally, didn't lower the dose until Kit gave me a number under 50 and when that happened, I lowered it by 0.25 (not 0.5) at a time...felt it was better for us to decrease slowly. I, like you, held the dose until I felt that the numbers were stable and I was getting sufficient data to support the increase. Usually it was about 5 days - tried to do my increases on weekends when I was home - but nothing ever went on schedule...obviously! lol.
 
Re: 6/2 Pumbaa - beautiful blue and green day!!!! Plus quest

Lil: It was absolutely a beautiful Pumbaa day yesterday, thank you!

I just looked at Kitten's SS again. Now THAT is a sight of beauty! Here I was last night freaking about shooting a 113, and you shot a 50! I still want Kit to have a talk with Pumbaa and talk him out of bouncing and diving! :)

I agree about the slow decreases...to let the shed deplete and have the cat settle into the new lower dose just like letting them settle into a new higher dose.

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top