Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
AMPS = 190
+3 = 116
+5 = 84
+6 = 84
+7 = 94
+9 = 100
PMPS = 113
+2.5 = 117 Gave sardines
+6 = 87 More sardines given
+7 = 99 Pumbaa was eating his regular canned food, and I am now going to bed for a couple of hours
WAY TO GO, PUMBAA!!!!!!!!!!!
Okay, I read up today about dose reductions, as that hasn't been an issue in the past.
Tight regulation protocol only has information about dose reductions when the BGs drop to 40 or 50.
In the Start Low, Go Slow approach, it states:
So, if I were doing a combination of the two protocols, I would leave Pumbaa on the 2.25U dose for at least 14 cycles before doing a dose reduction, unless at some point he drops below 50. Is that correct?
Don't worry, I still have my patience pants on, and want Pumbaa to settle into this dose properly before doing anything dramatic. But I'd sure like to prevent having him drop below 50 and have to give him carbs and then see his numbers go up due to the carbs.
Suze
+3 = 116
+5 = 84
+6 = 84
+7 = 94
+9 = 100
PMPS = 113
+2.5 = 117 Gave sardines
+6 = 87 More sardines given
+7 = 99 Pumbaa was eating his regular canned food, and I am now going to bed for a couple of hours
WAY TO GO, PUMBAA!!!!!!!!!!!
Okay, I read up today about dose reductions, as that hasn't been an issue in the past.
Tight regulation protocol only has information about dose reductions when the BGs drop to 40 or 50.
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
In the Start Low, Go Slow approach, it states:
After 1-2 weeks at a given dose, you or your vet should perform a serial blood glucose curve (blood glucose tests every 2 hours, starting at shot time and continuing until the next shot). Follow the cat's normal feeding schedule during the curve. The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):
If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.
So, if I were doing a combination of the two protocols, I would leave Pumbaa on the 2.25U dose for at least 14 cycles before doing a dose reduction, unless at some point he drops below 50. Is that correct?
Don't worry, I still have my patience pants on, and want Pumbaa to settle into this dose properly before doing anything dramatic. But I'd sure like to prevent having him drop below 50 and have to give him carbs and then see his numbers go up due to the carbs.
Suze